Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

ALPENROCK

Miscellaneous: 2003

Alpenrock

BR Online 15th July 2003 | Photos: BR

Bayerischer Rundfunk presents a four part series, Alpenrock, about the development of the alpine rock genre, from the 70s to present day, or, to put it another way, from Ambros to Zabine.

Dialect "on the rocks" - the alpine rock story

Pop culture is youth culture - as a rule. Alpine rock is not a part of some youth movement, no provocative flirt with traditional folk music. Alpine rock is much more the fairly adult answer to punk, funk, rock and soul. Adult sometimes also means: business-minded.

Hubert von GoisernMunich in the 70s: The Swabian in-crowd dance to the same rhythms as the London club-goers and the New York night owls. The pop heroes are at home beyond the Channel or overseas. But the native Munich musicians do not stand and watch. Willy Michl, the Biermösl Blosn and Georg Ringsgwandl appear in the clubs, the Spider Murphy Gang in front of American GIs - like many other bands in English too. But it is soon clear: dialect is the gap in the market.

Konstantin Wecker, Wolfgang Ambros, Haindling - almost everybody can sing along to their lyrics. But the star of the scene first made a big impact in the 90s - and with him, what is known as the suitable for marketing "New Folk Music" pigeonhole: Hubert von Goisern. Koa Hiatamadl is an enormous hit, not just at Wiesn times in Wiesn tents. It seems to be the breakthrough for alpine rock. But when the hype around his song about the "girl from the city" became too big for Hubert von Goisern and he retired, the scene was missing its advertisement. But alpine rock lives - even though small and fine. A time travel through the alpine rock story.

The 80s

[...] The dialect duo Alpinkatzen from the Salzburg province tour untiringly through small clubs. A true slog. The singer calls himself Hubert von Goisern - after his hometown.

Alpinkatzen 1988: Hubert von Goisern lets the Alpine Lawine (Alpine Avalanche) loose. Without great success: the attempt to pair pop and folk music barely finds attention.

Traditional melodies in disco style from the synthesizer. Hubert von Goisern and Wolfgang Staribacher do something new. They never run out of steam. They potter about for years. The dialect duo from the Salzburg province appear in small clubs.

Hage Hein, their manager, offers them like sharp beer. They desperately try to leave their recording with a record company. In 1988 the album Alpine Lawine is released. In 1991, the duo separate due to differences of opinion. A year later, Hubert von Goisern is the star of alpine rock.

The 90s

In the 90s, it could scarcely go any better. Hubert von Goisern delivered a Wiesn hit with Koa Hiatamadl, which was then yodelled up and down in the Fasching carnival [...] "Schräg dahoam" is hip, which is not least proved by the Munich festival of the same name.

Hubert von Goisern swims right at the top of the alpine rock wave. The others reckon to sink in the media. But without the great Goisern, the general public would possibly have taken no notice of them at all. When the hurly-burly of in the pop business became too much for Hubert von Goisern and he retired, it became quiet around all alpine rock [...] Alpine rock in the 90s - it is above all the story of Hubert von Goisern. Many others only dreamt of being a star.

Alpine rock star 1992

Hubert von GoisernA star overnight - Hubert von Goisern experienced what many dream of. He soon noticed that being a star is quite beautifully tiring.

"It is quite unique: Many people would bet the roof over their head that they have seen me in lederhosen," says Hubert von Goisern. Most people see him for the first time at his concert in the BR broadcast Live aus dem Alabama - as usual in linen trousers. The morning after he is a pop star: "It went crazily fast at that time. Zap, zap, zap. It's like the domino effect." Sabine Kapfinger, who is currently performing a solo career as Zabine, chucks in her hairdressing training at 15. She yodels and sings at Goisern's side and becomes the only sex symbol of the New Folk Music scene.

Hubert von Goisern is constantly present in the media. He is the star, not the Alpinkatzen band. That provides for conflicts. The colleagues demand that he should hold back more. In 1994 von Goisern announces the end of the band, because he "has no time for anything else".

Alpine rock now

ZabineIn the 90s it was too much for them, now they return: Hubert von Goisern as an alpine world musicians, his one-time singing partner, Zabine, as a pop musician.

[...] The "New Folk Music" achieved a lot in the German-speaking area. The "Alpine World Music" has the global demand to be world music from the alpine area. Also international somehow: Florian Ast, the young man from the Swiss mountains and his alpine rap. Alpine rock now - lots of comebacks, lots of new ideas. But for a long time not as successful as in the 80s and 90s.

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

ALPENROCK

Vermischtes: 2003

Alpenrock

BR Online 15. July 2003 | Fotos: BR

Der Bayerische Rundfunk präsentiert eine vierteilige-Reihe, Alpenrock, über die Entwicklung des Alpenrock-Genre von den Siebzigern bis zur Gegenwart, oder, um es anders zu sagen, von Ambros bis Zabine.

Dialekt "on the rocks" - die Alpenrock-Geschichte

Popkultur ist Jugendkultur - in der Regel. Der Alpenrock ist kein Teil irgendeiner Jugendbewegung, kein provokativer Flirt mit der traditionellen Volksmusik. Alpenrock ist vielmehr die ziemlich erwachsene Antwort auf Punk, Funk, Rock und Soul. Erwachsen heißt manchmal auch: geschäftstüchtig.

Hubert von GoisernMünchen in den 70ern: Die Schwabinger Schickeria tanzt zu den gleichen Rhythmen wie die Londoner Clubgänger und die New Yorker Nachtschwärmer. Die Pophelden sind jenseits des Kanals oder in übersee zu Hause. Doch die heimischen Münchner Musiker schauen nicht tatenlos zu. Willy Michl, die Biermösl Blosn und Georg Ringsgwandl treten in den Clubs auf, die Spider Murphy Gang vor amerikanischen GI's - wie viele andere Bands auch auf Englisch. Doch schnell ist klar: Der Dialekt ist die Marktlücke.

Konstantin Wecker, Wolfgang Ambros, Haindling - ihre Texte kann fast jeder mitsingen. Doch der Star der Szene kommt erst in den 90ern groß raus - und mit ihm das, was als marketinggerechte Schublade "Neue Volksmusik" heißt: Hubert von Goisern. Koa Hiatamadl ist ein riesiger Hit, nicht nur zu Wiesn-Zeiten in Wiesn-Zelten. Das scheint der Durchbruch für den Alpenrock zu sein. Doch als Hubert von Goisern der Hype um sein Lied vom "Diandl aus der Stadt" zu groß wird und er sich zurückzieht, fehlt der Szene ihr Aushängeschild. Doch der Alpenrock lebt - wenn auch klein und fein. Eine Zeitreise durch die Alpenrock-Geschichte.

Die 80er

[...] Das Mundart-Duo Alpinkatzen aus dem Salzburger Land tourt unermüdlich durch kleine Clubs. Eine echte Ochsentour. Der Sänger nennt sich Hubert von Goisern -nach seinem Heimatort.

Alpinkatzen 1988: Hubert von Goisern tritt die Alpine Lawine (Albumtitel) los. Ohne großen Erfolg: Der Versuch, Pop und Volksmusik zu paaren, findet kaum Gehör.

Traditionelle Melodien im Disco-Style aus dem Synthesizer. Hubert von Goisern und Wolfgang Staribacher machen etwas Neues. Die Puste geht ihnen nie aus. Sie werkeln jahrelang vor sich hin. Das Mundart-Duo aus dem Salzburger Land tingelt durch die kleinen Clubs.

Hage Hein, ihr Manager, bietet sie an wie Sauerbier. Sie versuchen verzweifelt, ihre Aufnahmen bei einer Plattenfirma unterzubringen. 1988 erscheint das Album Alpine Lawine. 1991 trennt sich das Duo wegen Meinungsverschiedenheiten. Ein Jahr später ist Hubert von Goisern der Star des Alpinrock.

Die 90er

In den 90ern könnte es kaum besser laufen: Hubert von Goisern liefert mit Koa Hiatamadl einen Wiesnhit, der auch noch im Fasching danach rauf und runter gejodelt wird [...] "Schräg dahoam" ist hip, was nicht zuletzt das gleichnamige Münchner Festival beweist.

Hubert von Goisern schwimmt ganz oben auf der Alpinrockwelle. Die anderen meinen, in den Medien unterzugehen. Doch ohne den großen Goisern hätte das breite Publikum womöglich gar keine Notiz von ihnen genommen. Als Hubert von Goisern der Trubel im Popgeschäft zu groß wird und er sich zurückzieht, wird es still um den ganzen Alpinrock [...] Alpenrock in den 90ern - das ist vor allem die Geschichte des Hubert von Goisern. Viele andere träumen nur davon, ein Star zu sein.

Alpinrock-Star - 1992

Hubert von Goisern1992: über Nacht zum Star - Hubert von Goisern erlebt, wovon viele träumen. Schnell merkt er, dass Star-Sein ganz schön anstrengend ist.

"Es ist echt eigenartig: Sehr viele Menschen würden Haus und Hof darauf verwetten, dass sie mich in der Lederhos'n gesehn haben", sagt Hubert von Goisern. Die meisten sehen ihn zum ersten Mal bei seinem Konzert in der BR-Sendung Live aus dem Alabama - wie üblich in der Leinenhose. Am Morgen danach ist er Popstar: "Es ist damals irrsinnig schnell gegangen. Zack, zack, zack. Das ist wie ein Domino-Effekt." Sabine Kapfinger, die momentan als Zabine eine Solo-Karriere hinlegt, schmeißt mit 15 ihre Friseurlehre. Sie jodelt und singt an Goiserns Seite und wird zum einzigen Sex-Symbol der Neuen-Volksmusik-Szene.

Hubert von Goisern ist ständig in den Medien präsent. Er ist der Star, nicht die Band Alpinkatzen. Das sorgt für Konflikte. Die Kollegen verlangen, er solle sich mehr zurückhalten. 1994 verkündet von Goisern das Ende der Band, weil er "keine Zeit für nichts mehr" hat.

ZabineIn den 90ern war's ihnen zu viel, jetzt melden sie sich zurück: Hubert von Goisern als alpiner Weltmusiker, seine einstige Gesangspartnerin Zabine als Pop-Musikerin.

[...] Die "Neue Volksmusik" hat es im deutschsprachigen Raum weit gebracht. Die "Alpine Weltmusik" hat den globalen Anspruch, Weltmusik aus dem Alpenraum zu sein. Auch irgendwie international: Florian Ast, der Junge aus den Schweizer Bergen, und sein Alpen-Rap. Alpenrock jetzt - viele Comebacks, viele neue Ideen. Aber längst nicht so erfolgreich wie in den 80ern und 90ern.