Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

INTERVIEW

Miscellaneous: 2002

"New folk music" is dead, alpine world music lives

Folker! Nr. 2 2002 March/ April | Photos: Ingo

Interview with Hage Hein, the economic strategist of the alpine scene

Hage Hein

Hage Hein

Scarcely has Hubert von Goisern reappeared, than music with alpine roots becomes relevant again. As the head of Munich record company Lawine (Goisern, BavaRio, Hundsbuam and many more), Hage Hein has interpreted and marketed the scene from the beginning.

Christian Rath talked to him about music, marketing and politics.

About every ten years, you invent a new term for unusual music from Bavaria and Austria. What was described at the beginning of the 90s as "new folk music" should now be called "alpine world music". Why is a new term needed?

Such a term should show the media, here is something new and it does not concern only one or two artists who are already in the limelight, but it concerns a relatively wide scene.

And what should the term "alpine world music" concretely signal?

It should make it clear to the audience that world music does not just come from foreign continents, but also from their own culture area. I am simply surprised that someone like Hubert von Goisern is still rather seen as a fun musician and less as an independent contribution to global pop culture. And for the international audience, a term like "alpine world music" is more understandable because "new folk music" is orientated too strongly towards the German speaking debated about the folksy schlager.

The artists themselves are on the whole not enthusiastic if you invent such pigeonholes for them ...

Artists would just rather intone their own creative performances ...

Also opposite other artists?

Naturally, just in the "new folk music" scene, the mood was initially quite bad because many believed that they had invented something new and the others were only copying them. In 1993, I felt this mistrust myself behind the scenes of the first Schräg Dahoam festival. There a couple of creative people had similar ideas at the same time, which led to many a well-known Landler just being arranged by different artists.

You have also even arranged the - in the meantime three - Schräg Dahoam festivals. What does the title Schräg Dahoam mean?

It is really just a play on words, without a completely concrete message. It has something to do with homeland and with it that one does not want to let oneself smoothly fit into tradition. Most people intuitively understand what I want to say with it.

In 1993 one still believed that "new folk music" could be a really big thing. Tell us about the atmosphere at the first Schräg Dahoam festival.

The mood was really bad with the musicians, really good with the rest of the people involved. At that time, many thought for three days that, here something really important for the European musical landscape is happening. In any case, three dozen journalists and six or seven TV teams came. With the second festival, 18 months later, the trend spotters then did not come any more, the euphoria has passed again.

Why did it not work with the really big breakthrough? Why did the German language hip hop become so important and not the German language yodel rock and alpine jazz?

At that time we were not a part of the youth movement, but a part of the adult movement. Therefore we were missing a specific subcultural scene in which the whole thing would have been able to gain breadth. And for a rather mainstream orientated general public, you naturally have to be more than a more virtuoso and creative artist. Here it also depends on the attractiveness of the person and their stage presence. Ernst Huber from Broadlahn is simply not sexy, as much as I value him as a musician. There Hubert was an exception. And when he disbanded the Alpinkatzen in 1994, the scene was stone-dead.

So Goisern's temporary departure was the end of "new folk music"?

It was already crazy: first he became criticised from many sides because he would not concentrate on the interest of the media with his style of music. But then when Hubert was away, the others did not flourish, rather it became quite quiet because the media were not interested in it at all. Then I also did not do a new Schräg Dahoam festival for years.

First of all there was the third festival with Hubert's return with two new CDs ...

Yes, and if I am honest, then our concept as a festival concept did not work once. Firstly we above all promoted the festival itself in Munich and Hubert - aside from Broadlahn, BavaRio and Hohtraxlecker Sprungschanznmusi - was just one of four acts. But the advance sales were so slow that in the last two weeks before the concert, we put up posters saying 'Hubert von Goisern "and friends" so we got 1,800 people to the Circus Krone. In comparison: Broadlahn and BavaRio alone draw perhaps 150 people at a time. On the second day of the Schräg Dahoam festival, which took place in Landshut, also only about 200 people came, although with Zabine, Hundsbuam and Edelschwarz more people on whom our hopes were pinned were there at the start.

It is nice of Hubert von Goisern that he lets himself be drawn in as a crowdpuller. But why does he do it?

Naturally Hubert is also worth more if he is seen as the most important representative of a broad movement. But he would probably not want to carry a whole tour, he above all participated in this Schräg Dahoam festival because he knows how important this project has become to me.

... and because as label manager you can also do him a favour, for example you are meanwhile bringing out a really traditional CD with the Hohtraxlecker Sprungschanznmusi, who are Hubert von Goisern's friends.

Hubert even produced the CD himself and wrote a foreword for the booklet.

Why have Biermösl Blosn or Attwenger never appeared at your festivals?

I can assure you that I have invited them imploringly and many times. But for some reason it has never worked. I think there are reservations.

Why?

With Attwenger I suspect that they are worried about their underground aura if they appear in a relatively commercial area like a Schräg Dahoam festival.

Does that annoy you?

Yes, it annoys me when musicians waste their talent. What they both did at the beginning of the 90s with drums, accordion and singing was absolutely sensational. It was not just alpine punk, but at the same time German language hip hop - long before something like that became trendy. They could have been European superstars, but they preferred to remain untouchable.

Hubert von Goisern has also not become a European superstar?

Not yet. All the same, he has sold 2 million CDs and Attwenger only 150,000.

And you can also find Goisern's audience with the Musikantenstadl ...

Well and? I cannot understand this arrogance at all. Even if an audience is somewhat older and more sedate, the people are not stupid. They clapped along to the jazzy pieces from Broadlahn just like they later did with Hubert. The people also perhaps listen to something folksy, but in the end are much more open than the intellectuals and music critics.

Hubert von GoisernWhy does Hubert von Goisern not appear in Musikantenstadl?

On TV it does not matter, all these folksy programmes are after him and would like to book him straight away. The editors there would also be very happy to once have something interesting. But Hubert is afraid that he would have demands made on him there.

And what do you think?

We have argued over this question for years. I say to him: if you are really so distinctive as you think you are, then nothing can happen to you. I am somewhat more ready to take risks than him, although I also do not have to put myself forward. And, admittedly, it is not easy to profile yourself in 3 minutes with something absolutely original.

Did it not work really well with his appearance on Marianne and Michael's show?

Naturally they wanted to hear Hiatamadl from him, but then he brought a number from his Tibet programme into the broadcast. A Tibetan singer stood in the foreground and Hubert with his Styrian accordion in the second row. Apart from that they painted a banner "Freedom for Tibet" which they held up to the camera at the joint finale of all the performers.

And how did TV react?

Naturally they realised that something was in the offing and wanted to talk him out of it. But when he did it nevertheless, everyone was somehow also proud that one person is so courageous. And although the programme was recorded, the banner was also not missing from the final broadcast.

So actually really good experiences with TV?

Well, another example: in 1994, he was invited to the programme Oh, Du mein Österreich, again to play Hiatamadl. He then insisted on beginning the programme and appearing live. But he then took advantage of this to stay on the stage for 20 minutes and play wild music - without Hiatamadl. He has also then never been invited there again.

A TV appearance in the hostile environment must also always be somehow subversive?

Yes. The environment is dreadful and an artist like Hubert has to position themselves there. The audience would certainly have nothing against it if the programmes were better.

If one wants to make progress with a musical direction, one really has to win the youth ...

Is something like the Buena Vista Social Club a youth phenomenon?

... and not so much the Musikantenstadl audience ...

There are also naturally artists in the alpine world music scene who are young and work with very modern music styles. Take something like the project with Zabine, the former Alpine Sabine from the Alpinkatzen time. There it is about a connection of German lyrics and yodel elements with house, trip hop and funk.

Then why did only the usual Goisern audience come to the concerts?

Because the youth today are much more narrowminded than the adults. Everything which lies aside from their preferences does not interest them. You know, we sent a track from Zabine and a photo to 100 youth radio stations and let them guess what it really is. The interest was great, many conjectured that it could be a matter of an Icelandic artist until they heard that Zabine comes from Tyrol, then suddenly everything was over.

You still seem angry today.

Extremely. When I was 20, the older people were small-minded. But today it is the 20 year olds themselves. If the origin of an artist is a reason for exclusion, then that makes me unbelievably angry.

Do you now think about the international market because it is not going so well in Germany?

Indeed in Germany it is not going perfectly, but also not bad. And I think about the sales abroad because it should be possible with high quality music with a specific identity and original sounds to lead onto similar interest as is also the case the other way round in Germany and Austria.

Is there not a problem with the German language abroad?

Since when has linguistic comprehension played a role in world music? One can also explain what the lyrics mean with announcements. Hubert speaks fluent English anyway because he lived in South Africa and Canada for a long time.

And how open is the world music scene for new alpine offspring?

Until now acceptance is still somewhat hesitant. Even Hubert is perhaps too popular again for the world music scene and not insider-like enough.

What do you link that to?

For example he wanted to play at the Womex world music fair in Rotterdam but was not chosen as a showcase. Last year he would also have liked to have played in Rudolstadt, where there are also many international journalists, but they were also not interested there at first. He would be able to play there in 2002, but only with the band with whom he was on tour in the autumn. Funny regulations.

What does alpine world music have to offer to world music?

What a question! It is important that there is also progressive strength which the native culture takes. Someone like Haider in Austria could therefore finally only become so big because the Left despise the native culture.

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

INTERVIEW

Vermischtes: 2002

Die "Neue Volksmusik" ist tot, es lebe die ... Alpine Weltmusik

Folker! Nr. 2 2002 März/April | Fotos: Ingo

Gespräch mit Hage Hein, dem ökonomischen Strategen der Alpen-Szene

Hage Hein

Hage Hein

Kaum ist Hubert von Goisern wieder aus der Versenkung aufgetaucht, wird auch Musik mit alpenländischen Wurzeln wieder relevant. Hage Hein hat die Szene als Chef der Münchener Plattenfirma Lawine (Goisern, BavaRio, Hundsbuam u.a.) von Beginn an interpretiert und vermarktet.

Christian Rath unterhielt sich mit ihm über Musik, Marketing und Politik.

Etwa alle zehn Jahre erfindest du einen neuen Begriff für ungewöhnliche Musik aus Bayern und Österreich. Was du Anfang der 90er-Jahre als "neue Volksmusik" bezeichnet hast, soll nun "alpine Weltmusik" heißen. Warum braucht man einen neuen Terminus?

So ein Begriff soll den Medien zeigen, hier entsteht etwas Neues und es handelt sich nicht nur um ein, zwei Künstler, die schon im Rampenlicht stehen, sondern um eine relativ breite Szene.

Und was konkret soll der Begriff "alpine Weltmusik" signalisieren?

Er soll dem deutschen Publikum deutlich machen, dass Weltmusik eben nicht nur von fremden Kontinenten kommt, sondern auch aus dem eigenen Kulturraum. Es wundert mich einfach, dass jemand wie Hubert von Goisern immer noch eher als Gaudi-Musiker angesehen wird und weniger als eigenständiger Beitrag zur globalen Popkultur. Und für das internationale Publikum ist ein Begriff wie "alpine Weltmusik" verständlicher, weil sich "neue Volksmusik" zu stark an der deutschsprachigen Debatte um den volkstümlichen Schlager orientierte.

Die KünstlerInnen selbst sind ja meist nicht begeistert, wenn du für sie solche Schubladen erfindest ...

Künstler wollen eben lieber ihre eigene schöpferische Leistung betonen ...

Auch gegenüber anderen KünstlerInnen?

Natürlich. Gerade in der "neuen Volksmusik"-Szene war die Stimmung anfangs ziemlich schlecht, weil viele glaubten, sie hätten etwas Neues erfunden und die anderen würden sie nur kopieren. Ich habe dieses Misstrauen 1993 hinter den Kulissen des ersten Schräg-Dahoam-Festivals in München selbst gespürt. Dabei haben ein paar Kreative zur gleichen Zeit ähnliche Ideen gehabt, was dazu führte, dass mancher bekannte Ländler eben von verschiedenen Künstlern bearbeitet wurde.

Die - inzwischen drei - Schräg-Dahoam-Festivals hast ja auch du organisiert. Was bedeutet denn der Titel "schräg dahoam"?

Das ist eigentlich nur so ein Wortspiel ohne ganz konkrete Aussage. Es hat etwas mit Heimat zu tun und damit, dass man sich nicht so reibungslos in die Tradition einordnen lassen will. Die meisten Leute verstehen eigentlich intuitiv, was ich damit sagen will.

1993 dachte man noch, "neue Volksmusik" könnte das ganz große Ding werden. Beschreib bitte mal die Atmosphäre auf dem ersten Schräg-Dahoam-Festival.

So schlecht die Stimmung bei den Musikern war, so euphorisch war sie bei den übrigen Beteiligten. Viele dachten damals drei Tage lang, hier passiert etwas ganz wichtiges für die europäische Musiklandschaft. Es waren jedenfalls drei Dutzend Journalisten und sechs bis sieben Fernsehteams angereist. Beim zweiten Festival, eineinhalb Jahre später, kamen dann keine Trendscouts mehr, da war die Euphorie schon wieder verflogen.

Warum hat es denn nicht geklappt mit dem ganz großen Durchbruch? Warum wurde der deutschsprachige HipHop so wichtig und nicht deutschsprachiger Jodel-Rock und Alpen-Jazz?

Wir waren ja schon damals nicht Teil einer Jugendbewegung, sondern Teil der Erwachsenenkultur. Deshalb fehlte uns eine spezifisch subkulturelle Szene, in der das Ganze hätte an Breite gewinnen können. Und für ein eher Mainstream-orientiertes Massenpublikum muss man natürlich mehr sein als ein virtuoser und kreativer Künstler. Hier kommt es auch auf die Attraktivität der Person und der Bühnenpräsenz an. Ernst Huber von Broadlahn zum Beispiel ist einfach nicht sexy - so sehr ich ihn als Musiker schätze. Da war Hubert eben doch eine Ausnahmeerscheinung. Und als er dann 1994 die Alpinkatzen auflöste, war die Szene gleich mausetot.

Goiserns vorläufiger Abgang war also das Ende der "neuen Volksmusik"?

Es war schon verrückt: Zuerst wurde er von vielen Seiten kritisiert, weil er mit seiner Art das Interesse der Medien auf sich konzentrieren würde. Als Hubert dann aber weg war, blühten die anderen nicht etwa auf, vielmehr wurde es ziemlich ruhig, weil sich die Medien gar nicht mehr dafür interessierten. Ich hab dann ja auch jahrelang kein neues Schräg-Dahoam-Festival gemacht.

Das dritte Festival gab es erst jetzt bei der Rückkehr von Hubert von Goisern mit seinen zwei neuen CDs...

Ja, und wenn ich ehrlich bin, dann ist unser Konzept als Festival-Konzept nicht einmal aufgegangen. Zuerst bewarben wir in München nämlich vor allem das Festival selbst und dabei war Hubert - neben Broadlahn, BavaRio und der Hohtraxlecker Sprungschanznmusi - nur einer von vier Acts. Doch der Verkauf lief so schleppend, dass wir in den letzten zwei Wochen vor dem Konzert nur noch Hubert von Goisern "und Freunde" plakatiert haben. So bekamen wir doch noch 1800 Besucher in den Circus Krone. Zum Vergleich: Broadlahn und BavaRio ziehen allein vielleicht jeweils 150 Zuschauer an. Und zum zweiten Tag des Schräg-Dahoam-Festivals, der in Landshut stattfand, kamen auch nur rund 200 Leute, obwohl hier mit Zabine, den Hundsbuam und Edelschwarz mehrere Hoffnungsträger am Start waren.

Das ist ja nett von Hubert von Goisern , dass er sich so als Zugpferd einspannen lässt. Aber warum macht er das?

Natürlich gilt auch Hubert mehr, wenn er als wichtigster Vertreter einer breiten Bewegung gesehen wird. Aber eine ganze Tour würde er so wohl nicht bestreiten wollen, dieses Schräg-Dahoam-Festival hat er vor allem mitgemacht, weil er weiß, wie wichtig mir das Projekt gewesen ist.

... und weil du ihm als Label-Chef auch mal einen Gefallen tun kannst, zum Beispiel indem du eine recht traditionelle CD mit der Hohtraxlecker Sprungschanznmusi, die Hubert von Goiserns Freunde sind.

Hubert hat die CD sogar selbst produziert und ein Vorwort fürs Booklet geschrieben.

Warum sind eigentlich die Biermösl Blosn oder Attwenger noch nie bei deinen Festivals aufgetreten?

Ich kann dir versichern, dass ich beide schon mehrmals und inständig eingeladen habe. Aus irgendwelchen Gründen klappt es aber nie. Ich glaube, da gibt es Berührungsängste.

Weshalb?

Bei Attwenger vermute ich, dass sie Angst um ihren Underground-Nimbus haben, wenn sie in einem relativ kommerziellen Rahmen wie bei einem Schräg-Dahoam-Festival auftreten.

Ärgert dich das?

Ja, es ärgert mich, wenn Musiker ihr Talent so verschwenden. Was die beiden Anfang der 90er-Jahre mit Schlagzeug, Akkordeon und Gesang gemacht haben, war absolut sensationell. Das war nicht nur Alpenpunk, sondern zugleich auch deutschsprachiger HipHop - lange bevor so etwas trendy wurde. Die hätten europäische Superstars werden können, aber sie wollten ja lieber unberührbar bleiben.

Ein europäischer Superstar ist auch Hubert von Goisern nicht geworden?

Noch nicht. Aber immerhin hat er zwei Millionen CDs verkauft und Attwenger nur 150 000.

Und Goiserns Publikum könnte man auch beim Musikantenstadl finden ...

Na und? Ich kann diese Arroganz überhaupt nicht verstehen. Auch wenn ein Publikum etwas älter und gesetzter ist, sind die Leute doch nicht doof. Die haben im Cirkus Krone zu den jazzigen Sachen von Broadlahn und BavaRio genauso geklatscht wie später bei Hubert. Die Leute hören vielleicht auch mal was Volkstümliches, sind aber am Ende viel offener als die Intellektuellen und Musikkritiker.

Hubert von GoisernWarum tritt dann Hubert von Goisern nicht im Musikantenstadl auf?

Am Fernsehen liegt es nicht, alle diese volkstümlichen Sendungen sind hinter ihm her und würden ihn sofort buchen. Die Redakteure dort wären ja auch froh, mal was Interessantes zu haben. Aber Hubert fürchtet, dass er dort vereinnahmt wird.

Und was meinst du?

Über diese Frage streiten wir uns schon seit Jahren. Ich sage ihm: Wenn du wirklich so unverwechelsbar bist, wie du glaubst, dann kann dir doch nichts passieren. Ich bin da schon etwas risikobereiter als er, allerdings muss ich mich auch nicht selber vorne hinstellen. Und, zugegeben, es ist nicht einfach, sich in drei Minuten mit etwas absolut Eigenständigem zu profilieren.

Hat es bei seinem Auftritt in der Show von Marianne und Michael nicht ganz gut geklappt?

Die wollten von ihm natürlich das Hiatamadl hören, aber er hat dann in der Sendung eine Nummer aus seinem Tibet-Programm gebracht. Da stand eine tibetische Sängerin im Vordergrund und Hubert mit seiner steirischen Harmonika in der zweiten Reihe. Außerdem haben sie noch ein Transparent gemalt "Freiheit für Tibet", das sie beim gemeinsamen Finale alle Mitwirkenden in die Kamera gehalten haben.

Und wie hat dabei das Fernsehen reagiert?

Die haben natürlich mitgekriegt, dass da etwas vorbereitet wird und wollten ihm das ausreden. Aber als er es dann trotzdem gemacht hat, waren irgendwie auch alle stolz, dass da einer so mutig ist. Und obwohl die Sendung aufgezeichnet worden war, fehlte das Transparent auch nicht in der endgültigen Ausstrahlung.

Als eigentlich ganz gute Erfahrungen mit dem Fernsehen?

Naja, anderes Beispiel: 1994 wurde er zur Sendung Oh, Du mein Österreich eingeladen, wieder um das Hiatamadl zu spielen. Er hat sich dann ausbedungen, zu Beginn der Sendung und live aufzutreten. Das hat er aber ausgenutzt, um zwanzig Minuten auf der Bühne zu bleiben und wilde Musik zu machen - ohne Hiatamadl. Dort ist er dann auch nie wieder eingeladen worden.

Ein Fernseh-Auftritt im feindlichen Umfeld muss also immer irgendwie subversiv sein?

Ja. Das Umfeld ist grausam und ein Künstler wie Hubert muss sich da positionieren. Das Publikum hätte sicher nichts dagegen, wenn die Sendungen besser wären.

Wenn man eine Musikrichtung voranbringen will, muss man eigentlich eher die Jugend gewinnen...

ist etwa der Buena Vista Social Club ein Jugendphänomen?

... und nicht so sehr das Musikantenstadl-Publikum ...

Auch in der alpinen Weltmusik-Szene gibt es natürlich Künstler, die jung sind und mit sehr modernen Musikstilen arbeiten. Nimm etwa das Projekt mit Zabine, der ehemaligen Alpinen Sabine aus der Alpinkatzen-Zeit. Dort ging es um eine Verbindung von deutschen Texten und Jodeln-Elementen mit House, TripHop und Funk.

Warum kam zu den Konzerten dann doch nur wieder das übliche Goisern-Publikum?

Weil die Jugend heute viel engstirniger ist als die Erwachsenen. Alles, was etwas neben ihren Präferenzen liegt, interessiert sie nicht. Weißt du, wir haben einen Track von Zabine plus Foto an 100 Jugendradio-Stationen geschickt und sie raten lassen, was das wohl ist. Das Interessed was groß, viele mutmaßten, dass es sich um eine isländische Künstlerin handeln könnte, bis sie erfahren haben, dass Zabine aus Tirol kommt, dann war alles schlagartig aus.

Du wirkst heute noch wütend.

Maßlos. Als ich 20 war, waren die Älteren vernagelt. Aber heute sind es die 20-Jährigen selbst. Wenn die Herkunft einer Musikerin ein Ausschlussgrund ist, dann macht mich das unglaublich wütend.

Denkst du jetzt über internationale Märkte nach, weil es in Deutschland nicht so gut läuft?

In Deutschland läuft es zwar nicht optimal, aber auch nicht chlecht. Und über den Vertrieb im Ausland denke ich nach, weil es bei qualitativ hochwertiger Musik doch möglich sein sollte, mit einer spezifischen Identität und originären Tönen auf ähnliches Interesse zu stoßen, wie das umgekehrt in Deutschland und Österreich ja auch der Fall ist.

Gibt es im Ausland nicht Probleme mit der deutschen Sprache?

Seit wann spielt das Sprachverständnis bei Weltmusik eine Rolle? Was die Texte bedeuten, kann man ja auch bei den Ansagen erklären. Hubert spricht ohnehin fließend englisch, weil er längere Zeit in Südafrika und Kanada gelebt hat.

Und wie offen ist die Weltmusikszene für den neuen alpinen Ableger?

Bisher ist die Akzeptanz noch etwas zögerlich. Gerade Hubert ist der Weltmusik-Szene vielleicht schon wieder zu populär und nicht insidermäßig genug.

Woran machst du das fest?

Zum Beispiel wollte er bei der Weltmusikmesse Womex in Rotterdam spielen, wurde aber nicht als Show-Case ausgewählt. Gern hätte er letztes Jahr auch in Rudolstadt gespielt, wo auch viele internationale Journalists sind, aber auch dort war man zuerst nicht interessiert. 2002 würde er dort spielen können, aber nur mit dem Band, mit der er im Herbst auf Tournee war. Komische Vorschriften.

Was hat alpine Musik denn der Weltmusik-Szene zu bieten?

Was soll die Frage? Es ist doch wichtig, dass es auch fortschriftliche Kräfte gibt, die sich der heimischen Kultur annehmen. So jemand wie Haider in Österreich konnte schließlich nur deshalb so groß werden, weil die Linke die einheimische Kultur verachtet.