Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

HvG & BIL AKA KORA

Miscellaneous: 2003

Austria meets Africa

Bad Ischler Rundschau June 2003 | Text: Silvia Panzl | Photos: Josef H. Handlechner
Hubert von Goisern and Bil Aka Kora

Bad Ischl / Bil Aka Kora & Djongo System formed the start for this year's summer concerts from the cultural institute "Der Keller". Bil Aka Kora, who comes from Burkina Faso (West Africa) is among the most successful musicians of his country. Inspired by the rhythm of the Kassena, a people who live in Ghana and Burkina Faso, with melodic and powerful pieces and partly a very melancholic touch Bil Aka Kora gives a view into the music of these people. But the Kassena do not only have a very special music, a dance called "Djongo" is also famous.

As well as in the south of Burkina Faso, the Kassena are also indigenous to the north of Ghana and famous for their architecture, and the elaborate masks. The group around Bil Aka Kora combines traditional instruments like the bendrés, lunga, gulu and siwa with keyboard, guitar and drums. One of the high points of the evening in the Lehàrtheater: the unexpected guest appearance from Hubert von Goisern, who had already been able to make the acquaintance of Bil Aka Kora in Ouagadougou, the capital of Burkina Faso, since there it came to a spontaneous ensemble playing.

Before the concert in Bad Ischl, the two men appeared together in the Böhmischer Prater in Vienna at the Weltkulturfest, which was organised by "Kulturen in Bewegung" and took place against the background of connecting people. Incidentally, Burkina Faso is the main country of the Austrian development cooperation, the beginning of the cooperation reaches back to the 60s.

Hubert von Goisern and Bil Aka Kora

Africa via Bad Ischl

123partynet June 2003

On Wednesday, the singer and musician from Burkina Faso, Bil Aka Kora, gave a thrilling concert in Bad Ischl

This show was a special musical experience, not least through the collaboration with Hubert von Goisern. Hubert had after all already played with Bil Aka Kora and his band in Ouagadougou last year and a joint programme for the World Culture Festival, which took place at Whitsun in the Böhmischer Prater in Vienna.

But for Bil Aka Kora and his musicians, things went high above during the day. Up Katrin with the cable car, whereby the African was not only impressed by the snow on the Dachstein glacier, but also by the technical masterstroke of the cable car construction! There was then a tasty snack for the guests on the Katrinalm, and they didn't turn down beer and schnapps either!

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

HVG & BIL AKA KORA

Vermischtes: 2003

Austria meets Africa

Bad Ischler Rundschau Juni 2003 | Text: Silvia Panzl | Fotos: Josef H. Handlechner
Hubert von Goisern Und Bil Aka Kora

Bad Ischl / Den Auftakt für die diesjährigen Sommerkonzerte des Kulturvereins "Der Keller" bildeten Bil Aka Kora & Djongo System. Der aus Burkina Faso (Westafrika) stammende Bil Aka Kora gehört zu den erfolgreichsten Musikern seines Landes. Inspiriert durch den Rythmus der Kassena, einem Volk das in Ghana und Burkina Faso lebt, gibt Bil Aka Kora mit melodischen und kraftvollen Stücken und teilweise sehr melancholischem Touch einen Einblick in die Musik dieses Volkes. Die Kassena haben aber nicht nur eine sehr spezielle Musik, berühmt ist auch ein Tanz namens "Djongo".

Die Kassena sind sowohl im Süden von Burkina Faso als auch im Norden Ghanas beheimatet und berühmt für ihre Architektur, Baukunst und die kunstvollen Masken. Die Gruppe um Bil Aka Kora verbindet traditionelle Instrumente wie Bendrés, Lunga, Gulu und Siwa mit Keyboard, Gitarre und Schlagzeug. Einer der Höhepunkte des Abends im Lehártheater: Der unerwartete Gastauftritt von Hubert von Goisern, der bereits in Ougadougou, der Hauptstadt Burkina Fasos, Bekanntschaft mit Bil Aka Kora schließen konnte, da es dort zu einem spontanen Zusammenspiel kam.

Vor dem Konzert in Bad Ischl traten die beiden gemeinsam beim Weltkulturfest, das von "Kulturen in Bewegung" organisiert wurde und im Zeichen der Völkerverbindung stand, im Böhmischen Prater in Wien auf. Burkina Faso ist übrigens Schwerpunktland der österreichischen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, die Anfänge der Kooperation reichen bis in die 60er Jahre zurück.Hubert von Goisern Und Bil Aka Kora

Africa über Bad Ischl

123partynet Juni 2003

Ein begeisterndes Konzert gab am Mittwoch der aus Burkina Faso
stammende Sänger und Musiker Bil Aka Kora in Bad Ischl

Dieser Auftritt wurde nicht zuletzt durch die Mitwirkung von Hubert von Goisern zu einem besonderen musikalischen Erlebnis. Immerhin hat Hubert bereits im Vorjahr in Ouagadougou mit Bil Aka Kora und seiner Band zusammengespielt und für das Weltkulturfest, das zu Pfingsten im Böhmischen Prater in Wien stattfand, ein gemeinsames Programm einstudiert.

Für Bil Aka Kora und seine Musiker ging es aber auch schon tagsüber hochhinaus. Mit der Seilbahn ging auf die Katrin, wobei die Afrikaner nicht nur vom Schnee auf dem Dachsteingletscher beeindruckt waren, sonder auch von der technischen Meisterleistung des Seilbahnbaues! In der Katrinalm gab es dann für die Gäste eine zünftige Jause, und auch Bier und Schnaps versagten sie nicht!