Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

INTERVIEW

Miscellaneous: 2007

"Mountains are walls"

Brigitte Woman 05/07 | Text: Stephan Handel | Photo: Walter Oczlon / Lawine

Hubert von Goisern, the revolutionary of folk music, on life in and with mountains

Hubert von GoisernBRIGITTE WOMAN: What is it like for a child to grow up in the mountains?

Hubert von Goisern: I have always it good fortune to be at home in the mountains. They were my first avenue to nature, to life as a whole with all its superhuman characteristics, as well as its cruelty. I don't know what would have been if I had grown up somewhere else.

However you have also lived many years in cities.

Yes, about a dozen years. And I have always felt happy in an urban environment. You can find biotopes there as well as wild animals - but it is not comparable.

Do mountains soothe? Or can they also oppress?

Mountains certainly don't unsettle me. On the contrary: despite all the danger and incalculability, they signify comfort to me, which has to do with protection. Mountains are walls - why are fortresses built with walls up on hills? Because they offer protection.

Is there a perfect time for the mountains?

Of course it is the break of day more than anywhere else - you automatically become an early riser in the mountains. The world lies at your feet, life is open for you - that's the special thing about early morning, in the mountains and elsewhere.

Does the mountain change your own perception?

The great natural world - mountains, desert, the sea, a large forest - they are all generally wonderfully suited for reflection. It also means that the way you call into the forest is the way it comes back. All the more so in the mountains.

When are you happiest in the mountains?

There is no "wrong" time for the mountains. I have been richly rewarded each time I have spent time on and with them. With coming upon a cold spring after a long, sweat-inducing mountain hike; with letting my thoughts drift off into the distance with the moving clouds.

What do mountains mean for your music?

They don't have a direct significance for the music, only for my attitude towards life. I never have a longing to play or compose in nature. Everything is perfect as it is. I would rather listen to the birds, the insects, the wind, the water...

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

INTERVIEW

Vermischtes: 2007

"Berge sind Mauern"

Brigitte Woman 05/07 | Text: Stephan Handel | Foto: Walter Oczlon / Lawine

Hubert von Goisern, der Revolutionär der Volksmusik, über das Leben in und mit den Bergen

Hubert von Goisern

BRIGITTE WOMAN: Was macht es mit einem Kind, in den Bergen groß zu werden?

Hubert von Goisern: Ich habe es immer als Glück betrachtet, in den Bergen zu Hause zu sein. Sie waren mein erster Zugang zur Natur, zum Leben als Gesamtheit mit all seiner Über- und auch Unmenschlichkeit. Ich weiß nicht, was gewesen wäre wenn ich wo anders aufgewachsen wäre.

Sie haben aber auch lange in Großstädten gelebt.

Ja, etwa ein dutzend Jahre. Und ich habe mich immer wohl gefühlt in urbaner Umgebung. Man findet auch dort Biotope samt Wildtieren - aber das ist nicht vergleichbar.

Beruhigen Berge? Oder können sie einen auch erdrücken?

Mich beunruhigen Berge jedenfalls nicht. Im Gegenteil: Trotz all der Gefahren und Unberechenbarkeiten bedeuten sie mir Geborgenheit, und die hat mit Schutz zu tun. Berge sind Mauern - warum haben Burgen Mauern und sind auf Anhöhen gebaut? Weil sie Schutz bieten.

Gibt es eine perfekte Zeit für die Berge?

Natürlich ist es mehr als sonst wo der anbrechende Tag - in den Bergen wirst du automatisch zum Frühaufsteher. Die Welt liegt dir zu Füssen, das Leben steht dir offen - das ist das Besondere am frühen Morgen, in den Bergen und sonst wo.

Verändert der Berg die eigene Wahrnehmung?

Die große Natur - Berge, Wüste, das Meer, ein großer Wald - eignet sich im Allgemeinen wunderbar zum reflektieren. Es heißt ja auch: Wie man in den Wald hineinruft, so hallt es zurück. Umso mehr tut es das in den Bergen.

Wann ist das Glück in den Bergen am Größten?

Es gibt keine "falsche" Zeit für die Berge. Ich bin jedes Mal reichlich beschenkt worden, wenn ich Zeit auf und mit ihnen verbracht habe. Damit, nach einer langen, schweißtreibenden Bergwanderung auf eine kalte Quelle zu stoßen; damit, die Gedanken mit den dahin ziehenden Wolken in die Ferne ziehen zu lassen.

Was bedeuten die Berge für Ihre Musik?

Sie haben nur eine Bedeutung für mein Lebensgefühl, für die Musik direkt nicht. Ich habe in der Natur nie das Verlangen zu musizieren oder zu komponieren. Alles ist perfekt so wie es ist. Ich höre lieber zu: den Vögeln, den Insekten, dem Wind, dem Wasser...