Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

FLOW - a rock opera

Miscellaneous: 2016

FLOW - a rock opera by Severin Trogbacher and Dominik Barta

27th April 2016
FLOW - a rock opera

We know that good music is made in Upper Austria. And that's been the case for a long time. There's something special waiting in the wings in St. Florian though.

To mark the tenth anniversary of Saint Florian's patronage of Upper Austria, a tailor-made rock opera was composed for him - and not by just anybody: St. Florian musician Severin Trogbacher (familiar as guitarist for Hubert von Goisern and Konstantin Wecker) wrote FLOW together with the Upper Austrian writer Dominik Barta.

"For us it was all about telling the Passion of St. Florian - which as we all know did not pan out well – as a story about friendship and civil courage", says Trogbacher.

In June 2014 FLOW was presented to a thrilled audience in two sold out performances at the Florianhalle. The youth choir Pappalatur, a collaborative project between Landesmusikschule St. Florian and St. Florian Monastery, brought the spectacle to the stage together with a top class band and orchestra. In November 2014 the innovative project was awarded the AVISO prize from the University of Music and Performing Arts, Vienna.

FLOW is finally being released on 4th May, having been recorded in Studio Weinberg and in St. Florian with A-Team of the local music scene: the 70 children from Pappalatur being supported by the legendary Spring String Quartett and music maestros such as Hans-Jürgen Bart (Parov Stelar) and Stephan Kondert (S.K. Invitational).

Rich symphonic strings, sharply accentuated with brass fanfares, contribute to a jazz-rock harmonic structure, in which Trogbacher's homeland can be clearly heard. The singing - inspired by the madrigal comedy tradition of the Renaissance - doesn't come from soloists, but from the choir. That the children take on this task really allows the intensive lyrics from the pen of Dominik Barta come into their own.
"I believe we have succeeded in recording music that effortlessly defies the boundaries of age and styles. Only those expecting a CD of "children's songs" will be disappointed", the composer jokes.

FLOW ist available from 4th May, St. Florian's Day, at selected retailers and at Amazon, iTunes and www.severintrogbacher.com.

Flow - a rock opera on CD

CD 9006238005122 | 04.05.16

FLOW - Severin Trogbacher and Dominik Barta

  • 1. Introduktion: Besorgnis
  • 2. Lauriacum
  • 3. Der Palast
  • 4. Zwei Freunde
  • 5. Finsternis
  • 6. Der Zwiespalt
  • 7. Zwei Herzen
  • 8. Interludium: Hoffnung
  • 9. Der Held
  • 10. Am Fluss
  • 11. Der Tumult
  • 12. Das Gebet
  • 13. Finale: Trost

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

FLOW - eine Rockoper

Vermischtes: 2016

FLOW - eine Rockopera von Severin Trogbacher und Dominik Barta

27. April 2016
FLOW - eine Rockoper

Dass in Oberösterreich gute Musik gemacht wird, wissen wir. Und nicht erst seit gestern. Was da allerdings in St. Florian in den Startlöchern steht, ist etwas Besonderes.

Zum zehnjährigen Jubiläum seiner oberösterreichischen Landespatronanz bekam der Heilige Florian seine eigene Rock-Oper auf den Leib komponiert, und nicht von irgendwem: der St. Florianer Musiker Severin Trogbacher (bekannt als Gitarrist u.a. von Hubert von Goisern und Konstantin Wecker) schrieb FLOW gemeinsam mit dem oberösterreichischen Literaten Dominik Barta.

"Uns ist es darum gegangen, die Passion des heiligen Florian – die bekanntermaßen unerfreulich ausgeht – als eine Geschichte über Freundschaft und Zivilcourage zu erzählen", so Trogbacher.

FLOW wurde im Juni 2014 in der zweimal nahezu ausverkauften Florianhalle einem begeisterten Publikum präsentiert. Der Kinder- und Jugendchor Pappalatur, ein Kooperationsprojekt der Landesmusikschule St. Florian mit dem Stift St. Florian, brachte das Spektakel gemeinsam mit einer hochkarätigen Band- und Orchesterbesetzung auf die Bühne.
Das innovative Projekt wurde im November 2014 mit dem AVISO-Preis der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien ausgezeichnet.

Ab 4. Mai ist FLOW nun endlich auf CD erhältlich, aufgenommen im Studio Weinberg und in St. Florian mit der A-Riege der heimischen Musikszene: die über 70 Kinder von Pappalatur bekamen Unterstützung vom legendären Spring String Quartett und musikalischen Kapazundern wie Hans-Jürgen Bart (Parov Stelar) und Stephan Kondert (S.K. Invitational).

Satte symphonische Streicherklänge, scharf akzentuiert mit Blechbläser-Fanfaren, unterfüttern ein jazzig-rockiges harmonisches Gerüst, dem die musikalische Heimat Trogbachers deutlich anzumerken ist. Der Gesang kommt – angelehnt an die Madrigalkomödientradition der Renaissance – nicht von Solisten, sondern vom Chor. Dass diese Aufgabe Kinder übernehmen, lässt den intensiven Text von Dominik Barta besonders eindringlich zur Geltung kommen.
"Ich denke, es ist uns gelungen, ein Stück Musik aufzunehmen, das sich mühelos über Alters- und Stilgrenzen hinwegsetzt. Nur wer sich eine "Kinderlieder"-CD erwartet, wird enttäuscht", schmunzelt der Komponist.

Erhältlich ist FLOW ab 4. Mai, dem Florianitag, in ausgewählten Verkaufsstellen sowie auf Amazon, iTunes und www.severintrogbacher.com.

Flow - eine Rockoper auf CD

CD 04.05.16 | 9006238005122

FLOW - Severin Trogbacher und Dominik Barta

  • 1. Introduktion: Besorgnis
  • 2. Lauriacum
  • 3. Der Palast
  • 4. Zwei Freunde
  • 5. Finsternis
  • 6. Der Zwiespalt
  • 7. Zwei Herzen
  • 8. Interludium: Hoffnung
  • 9. Der Held
  • 10. Am Fluss
  • 11. Der Tumult
  • 12. Das Gebet
  • 13. Finale: Trost