Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

FUTURE LECTURE

Miscellaneous: 2014

Future Lecture: Why does nothing change? Communicate sustainability effectively

20th November 2014

Lecture in Salzburg with Hubert von Goisern and Astrid Rössler

Climate change and its negative consequences can not be denied any longer. However, it seems as if the horror stories about environmental damage and drastic climate changes leave many people largely untouched. But why is that? What is needed to accelerate the process of change?

The Future Lecture in Salzburg on 25th November tackled these very questions. Under the title of "Why does nothing change? Communicate sustainability effectively", the Austrian lecture series, part of Dennis Meadows FUTURE LECTURE, interactively examined the communication of sustainability from different points of view. What contribution can the worlds of science, music and politics make to the more effective communication of sustainability, that each of us is encouraged to act with the environment in mind and work against climate change?

Speaking on the subject:

  • Musician Hubert von Goisern: The role of music on the way to a sustainable society.
  • Deputy Governor Dr.in Astrid Rössler: Communication of sustainability through politics - an effective instrument for a change in attitude?
  • Psychologist Mag.a Isabella Uhl: Communication of sustainability, with the example of climate change.
  • Director of the School for Sustainability at Vienna University of Economics Dr. Fred Luks: The role of science in communicating sustainability.

Salzburg University student Florian Spitzer also be interacted with the audience and presented surprising and personal reactions to the messages of sustainability.

FUTURE LECTURE II in Salzburg

Future Lectures 2nd December 2014 | Photo: © Marc Stickler

HvGOn 25th November an enthusiastic audience and top-class lecturers came together at the Salzburg University for the second FUTURE LECTURE with the title "Why does nothing change? Communicate sustainability effectively". The focus of the discussion was the question of how people can be sensitised to sustainability and what is necessary to bring about a process of change.

"What the world needs is a group hug!"

With the question "Why does nothing change?" in mind, psychologist Isabella Uhl and student Florian Spitzer highlighted the communication of sustainability from a psychological point of view. Both came to the conclusion that a connection between people and social closeness strengthen the feeling of responsibility people feel for one another and their own surroundings, leading ultimately to a realistic assessment of risk.

"Sustainability can and should be a pleasure"

Then it was the turn of musician Hubert von Goisern: he believes that sustainability can and should be a pleasure. Music plays an important role in connection with sustainability and can change not just thinking, but the world too. Music brings people together and makes them more sensitive and attentive to what is going on around them, says Hubert von Goisern.

Fred Luks from the School for Sustainability at Vienna University of Economics made the point that the problem areas of the world would not correspond with the scientific disciplines and therefore is looking for more inter and transdisciplines. Science plays an important role in the communication of sustainability and has the duty of not just creating models, but also telling motivating "stories of change", which should be accessible to many people. Finally Astrid Rössler from the Green Party used impressive photos and images to show the vulnerability of the ecosystem and highlighted how important it is to take responsibility and an active role in preserving our natural environment.

Audience voting as interactive element

The 200 members of the audience used voting handsets - similar to those on Who Wants To Be A Millionaire? - to take part in the fascinating discussions with the lecturers. The results of the questions posed were shown for all to see via a projector. Thus right from the start of the event, it could be seen what had motivated people to attend the FUTURE LECTURE and where they had come from and via what means. The voting system was very popular with the audience and was an entertaining element of the interaction between lecturers and attendees.

The interplay between the varied and thought-provoking presentations and the involvement from the engaged audience made the FUTURE LECTURE a great success, which drew to a cheerful close with a vegan buffet.

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

FUTURE LECTURE

Vermischtes: 2014

Future Lecture: Warum ändert sich nichts? Nachhaltigkeit effektiv kommunizieren

20. November 2014

Vortrag mit Hubert von Goisern und Astrid Rössler in Salzburg

Der Klimawandel und seine negativen Folgen können nicht mehr länger geleugnet werden. Es scheint jedoch, als würden die Schreckensmeldungen über Umweltschäden und drastische Klimaänderungen viele Menschen weitgehend unberührt lassen. Doch woran liegt das? Was ist notwendig, um den Veränderungsprozess zu beschleunigen?

Mit diesen Fragestellungen beschäftigte sich die Salzburger FUTURE LECTURE am 25. November 2014. Unter dem Titel "Warum ändert sich nichts? Nachhaltigkeit effektiv kommunizieren" wurde im Rahmen der österreichweiten Vortragsreihe der Dennis Meadows FUTURE LECTURE die Kommunikation von Nachhaltigkeit aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkel interaktiv beleuchtet. Welchen Beitrag können Wissenschaft, Musik und Politik leisten um Nachhaltigkeit wirkungsvoller zu kommunizieren, sodass sich jede/r Einzelne von uns ermutigt fühlt im Sinne der Umwelt zu handeln und dem Klimawandel entgegenzuwirken.

Dazu sprachen und diskutierten:

  • der Musiker Hubert von Goisern: Die Rolle der Musik auf dem Weg zu einer nachhaltigen Gesellschaft.
  • die Landeshauptmann Stellvertreterin Dr.in Astrid Rössler: Kommunikation von Nachhaltigkeit durch die Politik, wirksames Instrument zum Bewusstseinswandel?
  • die Psychologin Mag.a Isabella Uhl: Kommunikation von Nachhaltigkeit am Beispiel von Klimawandel.
  • der Leiter des Kompetenzzentrum für Nachhaltigkeit an der WU Dr. Fred Luks: Die Rolle der Wissenschaft in der Kommunikation von Nachhaltigkeit.

Darüber hinaus zeigte der Salzburger Student Florian Spitzer in Interaktion mit dem Publikum überraschende, menschliche Reaktionen auf Nachhaltigkeitsbotschaften auf.

FUTURE LECTURE II in Salzburg

Future Lectures 2. Dezember 2014 | Foto: © Marc Stickler

HvGUnter dem Titel "Warum ändert sich nichts? Nachhaltigkeiten effektiv kommunizieren" fanden sich am 25. November hochkarätige Vortragende, sowie ein interessiertes Publikum im prall gefüllten Hörsaal der Universität Salzburg zur zweiten FUTURE LECTURE zusammen. Im Mittelpunkt der Diskussion stand die Frage, wie man Menschen für Nachhaltigkeit sensibilisieren kann, und was nötig ist, um einen Veränderungsprozess hervorzurufen.

"What the world needs is a group hug!"

Ausgehend von der Fragestellung "Warum ändert sich nichts?" beleuchteten die Psychologin Isabella Uhl und der Student Florian Spitzer die Kommunikation von Nachhaltigkeit aus psychologischer Sicht. Beide kamen zum Schluss, dass eine Verbindung zwischen Menschen und soziale Nähe das Verantwortungsgefühl für einander und für die eigene Umgebung stärken und letztlich zu einer realistischen Risikoeinschätzung führen.

"Nachhaltigkeit kann und soll lustvoll sein"

Dann hatte der Musiker Hubert von Goisern seinen Auftritt: Er meinte, dass Nachhaltigkeit lustvoll sein soll und auch sein kann. Die Musik spiele im Zusammenhang mit Nachhaltigkeit eine wichtige Rolle und könne sowohl die Welt als auch das Denken verändern. Musik bringe Menschen zusammen und mache sie sensibler und achtsamer für das, was um sie herum geschehe, so Hubert von Goisern.

Fred Luks vom Kompetenzzentrum für Nachhaltigkeit der WU verdeutlichte, dass sich die Problembereiche der Welt nicht mit den wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen decken würden und forderte deshalb zu mehr Inter- und Transzdisziplinarität auf. Die Wissenschaft spiele eine bedeutende Rolle bei der Kommunikation von Nachhaltigkeit und habe die Aufgabe nicht nur Modelle zu basteln, sondern auch mitreißende "Geschichten des Wandels" zu erzählen, die für einen Großteil der Menschen begreifbar sein sollten. Abschließend verdeutlichte die grüne Landesrätin Astrid Rössler mit eindrucksvollen Fotos und Bildern, die Verletzlichkeit des Ökosystems, und betonte wie wichtig es sei, Verantwortung zu übernehmen und sich aktiv an der Erhaltung unserer natürlichen Umwelt zu beteiligen.

Publikumsvoting als interaktives Element

Die rund 200 BesucherInnen hatten mittels Abstimmgerät - ähnlich wie bei der Millionenshow - die Möglichkeit, sich an den spannenden Inputs der Vortragenden bzw. der Diskussion zu beteiligen. Die Ergebnisse der Fragen wurden direkt mittels eines Beamers visuell wiedergegeben. So konnte bereits zu Beginn der Veranstaltung veröffentlicht werden, welche Motive die BesucherInnen zur FUTURE LECTURE geführt hatten, und woher und wie sie angereist waren. Das Voting System fand beim Publikum großen Anklang und unterstütze auf unterhaltsame Weise die Interaktion zwischen ZuhörerInnen und Vortragenden.

Das Zusammenspiel aus vielfältigen, anregenden Inputs und der Mitwirkung des engagierten Publikums machten die FUTURE LECTURE zu einer gelungenen Veranstaltung, die zu guter Letzt bei einem veganen Buffet einen gemütlichen Ausklang fand.