Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

LÉHAR FILMTHEATER

Miscellaneous: 2004

Rescue campaign for the Lehartheater

OÖN 20th April 2004 | Text: Edmund Brandner | Photo: Josef H. Handlechner
HvG, Heide and Mounir

Hubert von Goisern, Hannes Heide and Mohamed Mounir in front of the Lehartheater in 2003

Bad Ischl. Representatives of the Bad Ischl cultural scene and a well-known artist are raising the alarm: if something isn't done soon, the Lehártheater will deteriorate completely. The 177 year old building is already in a dismal state. The rotten flies are a graveyard for doves, seeping water makes the plaster on the ceiling flake off, the heating barely works, and the equipment is strongly in need of renovation.

But the money is missing for the renovation work. The four proprietors - the two chemists Georg and Heimo Hrovat, town cultural councillor Hannes Heide and the tax adviser Franz Krippel - acquired the building from the credit institute (CA) in 2002. "Out of love," Georg Hrovat explained to the OÖN. "We did not want the house to fall into the hands of bargain hunters, but instead retain its function."

The credit interests can be paid with the current income, says Hrovat. The renovation of the historically protected house is inconceivable, however, without public support.

5.5 million Euros needed

According to the owners' data, the investment needs about 5.5 million Euros. With that, among other things, the originally existing third tier under the roof could be repaired and the space available could be extended from 270 seats to 450.

The province has already promised fifty per cent support, and the monument office and the township of Bad Ischl would also contribute a part. Nevertheless, around 1.2 million Euros are still missing. "We are trying to get at EU promotions," Georg Hrovat explains. "But we don't have great hopes for that."

Meanwhile, famous artists like Hubert von Goisern, Josef Hader or admired actress Susi Nicoletti have joined the call from the four theatre owners. "There are no comparable theatres in the German-speaking area any more," cautioned local kingpin Hubert von Goisern.

Traditional theatre in Bad Ischl falls into disrepair

Ö1 Inforadio 20th April 2004

To call the house "in need of restoration" would be a serious understatement. Now new glory and new life should be returning to the Kaiser's former summer theatre: a celebrity committee around Hubert von Goisern, Susi Nicoletti and the actor Robert Meyer are standing up for the rescue of the Lehartheater.

A theatre jewel

The Lehartheater in Bad Ischl is a real theatre jewel, it reminds you a little of the theatre in Josefstadt when you walk into the auditorium. An intimate, auditorium, decorated with mouldings, three levels, plus the Kaiser's former box. You can imagine that first class theatre was once offered here. Today, the house is mainly used as a cinema, but also as a performance site for cabaret and concert events.

Hannes Heide, independent town cultural councillor of Bad Ischl, cannot really enjoy the beauty of the building. Some time ago, together with three other Ischl residents, he bought the Lehartheater in a kind of emergency rescue - now he is fighting with water stains and other adversities.

Glorious history

The Lehartheater can look back upon a long, glorious history: in its time of glory, the one-time summer theatre of the Kaiser did not attract acting and singing prominent figures from Vienna: Johann Nestroy stood on the stage here, just as did Isadora Duncan, Karl Kraus appeared in the Ischl theatre, as did Alexander Girardi, Richard Tauber and other greats from theatre history. Hubert von Goisern also often used the theatre for his concert gigs.

Hubert von Goisern is just one of many artists, who are supporting the preservation of the Lehartheater. Town cultural councillor Hannes Heide has drummed together a whole team of famous artists for his initiative for the rescue of the Lehartheater: Josef Hader and Georg Ringsgwandl are in the party, Susi Nicoletti, Michael Heltau, Robert Meyer and many more. If you go by Hannes Heide, the restored Lehartheater brings a new cultural glory to Ischl as a multifunctional cultural centre.

5.5 million Euros for restoration

Of course it costs money: the Viennese architect Manfred Wehdorn has compiled a study on the restoration of the Lehartheater. His estimation: the re-establishment of the Ischl theatre would cost 5.5 million Euros. A great lump of money.

Even if it will be expensive, the Ischl people seem to have firmly decided in any case, to fight for their Lehartheater. And the people in the Salzkammergut, you know they're a stubborn breed.

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

LÉHAR FILMTHEATER

Vermischtes: 2004

Rettungsaktion für das Lehartheater

OÖN 20. April 2004 | Text: Edmund Brandner | Foto: Josef H. Handlechner
HvG, Heide und Mounir

Hubert von Goisern, Hannes Heide und Mohamed Mounir vor dem Lehartheater, 2003

BAD ISCHL. Vertreter der Bad Ischler Kulturszene und renommierte Künstler schlagen Alarm: Wenn nicht bald etwas geschieht, verfällt das Lehártheater ganz. Schon jetzt ist das 177 Jahre alte Gebäude, das als Kino und Kulturveranstaltungsort genutzt wird, in einem tristen Zustand. Der morsche Schnürboden ist ein Taubenfriedhof, einsickerndes Wasser lässt den Verputz von der Decke rieseln, die Heizung funktioniert kaum noch, und die Einrichtung ist stark renovierungsbedürftig.

Doch für Erneuerungsarbeiten fehlt das Geld. Die vier Besitzer - die beiden Apotheker Georg und Heimo Hrovat, Kulturstadtrat Hannes Heide und der Steuerberater Franz Krippel - erwarben das Gebäude 2002 von der CA. "Aus Liebhaberei", erklärt Georg Hrovat im OÖN-Interview. "Wir wollten nicht, dass das Haus in die Hände von Spekulanten gerät, sondern seine Funktion behält."

Die Kreditzinsen können mit den laufenden Einnahmen gerade bezahlt werden, so Hrovat. Die Renovierung des denkmalgeschützten Hauses sei jedoch ohne öffentliche Unterstützung undenkbar.

5,5 Millionen Euro Bedarf

Der Investitionsbedarf liegt laut Angaben der Besitzer bei rund 5,5 Millionen Euro. Dafür könnte unter anderem auch der ursprünglich vorhandene dritte Rang unter dem Dach wieder hergestellt und das Platzangebot von 270 Sitzen auf 450 erweitert werden.

Das Land hat bereits eine fünfzigprozentige Unterstützung zugesagt, und auch das Denkmalamt und die Stadtgemeinde Bad Ischl würden einen Teil beitragen. Trotzdem fehlen noch rund 1,2 Millionen Euro. "Wir versuchen, an EU-Förderungen heranzukommen", erklärt Georg Hrovat. "Aber große Hoffnungen haben wir da nicht."

Inzwischen haben sich bekannte Künstler wie Hubert von Goisern, Josef Hader oder Kammerschauspielerin Susi Nicoletti dem Hilferuf der vier Theaterbesitzer angeschlossen. "Es gibt im deutschsprachigen Raum kein vergleichbares Theater mehr", mahnt Lokalmatador Hubert von Goisern.

Traditionstheater in Bad Ischl verfällt

Ö1 Inforadio 20. April 2004

Das Haus als "restaurierungsbedürftig" zu bezeichnen, wäre weit untertrieben. Jetzt soll neuer Glanz und neues Leben in das einstige Sommertheater des Kaisers einkehren: Ein Prominentenkomitee rund um Hubert von Goisern, Susi Nicoletti und den Burgschauspieler Robert Meyer macht sich für die Rettung des Lehartheaters stark.

Ein Theaterjuwel

Das Lehartheater in Bad Ischl ist ein echtes Theaterjuwel, ein bisschen erinnert es, wenn man den Zuschauerraum betritt, an das Theater in der Josefstadt. Ein intimer, mit Stuckarbeiten verzierter Zuschauerraum, drei Ränge, dazu die einstige Loge des Kaisers. Man kann sich vorstellen, dass hier einst erstklassiges Theater geboten wurde. Heute wird das Haus vorwiegend als Kino, aber auch als Gastspielstätte für Kabarett- und Konzert-Events genutzt.

Hannes Heide, parteifreier Kulturstadtrat von Bad Ischl, kann sich an den Schönheiten des Hauses nicht recht erfreuen. Vor einiger Zeit hat er gemeinsam mit drei anderen Ischler Bürgern in einer Art Notrettungs-Aktion das Lehartheater gekauft - jetzt kämpft er mit Wasserflecken und anderen Widrigkeiten.

Ruhmreiche Geschichte

Das Lehartheater kann auf eine große, eine ruhmreiche Geschichte zurückblicken: In seiner Glanzzeit lockte das einstige Sommertheaters des Kaisers Schauspiel- und Gesangsprominenz nicht nur aus Wien an: Johann Nestroy stand hier ebenso auf der Bühne wie Isadora Duncan, Karl Kraus trat im Ischler Theater genauso auf wie Alexander Girardi, Richard Tauber und andere Größen der Theatergeschichte. Auch Hubert von Goisern hat den Theaterraum schon öfter für seine Konzert-Gigs genutzt.

5,5 Millionen Euro für Restaurierung

Hubert von Goisern ist nur einer von vielen Künstlern, die sich für den Erhalt des Lehartheaters einsetzen. Kulturstadtrat Hannes Heide hat eine ganze Riege prominenter Kunstschaffender für seine Initiative zur Rettung des Lehartheaters zusammengetrommelt: Josef Hader und Georg Ringsgwandl sind mit von der Partie, Susi Nicoletti, Michael Heltau, Robert Meyer und viele andere. Wenn es nach Hannes Heide geht, soll das neue, das restaurierte Lehartheater als multifunktionales Kulturzentrum neuen kulturellen Glanz nach Ischl bringen.

Auch wenn's teuer wird, die Ischler scheinen jedenfalls fest entschlossen, um ihr Lehartheater zu kämpfen. Und die Menschen im Salzkammergut, das weiß man, sind ein sturer Menschenschlag.