Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

OPEN MINDS

Miscellaneous: 2012

Hubert von Goisern at Open Minds

9th October 2012 | Photo: Andreas Kowacsik

Hubert von Goisern in conversation about world music and management

Hubert von Goisern at Open Minds

More photos at www.flickr.com

Hubert von Goisern sang his way to the top of the charts with a song about the financial crisis. In the middle of his successful tour he took the time to spend an evening at Open Minds at the Vienna University of Economics and Business.

His conversation partners were Edeltraud Hanappi-Egger, Head of the Department for "Gender and Diversity in Organizations" at the Vienna University of Economics and Business and Markus Hinterhäuser, pianist, Culture Manager and future manager of the Wiener Festwochen. The evening was moderated by honorary university professor Wilfried Stadler.

The lyrics of Hubert von Goisern's songs seethe. Those who listen carefully become aware that the banking and Euro crisis doesn't just have its roots in the weak construction of the financial and monetary systems - but the unfortunate excesses of a restless zeitgeist geared towards maximisation too. And nevertheless the successful singer-songwriter, alpine rocker and composer of film music does without answers that are all too simple.

Hubert von Goisern often paid a high price for his consequential individuality, before it finally became an unmistakeable "trademark", under which he is currently performing his hitherto most successful tour. In the Open Minds discussion on 8th October his experiences as a world musician with the management worlds of the business and the classical music world were put to the test.

Open Minds 10: ENTWEDERundODER

WUtv 16th October 2012 | Photo: Andreas Kowacsik
Hubert von Goisern at Open Minds

Watch the panel discussion : Part 1 | Part 2

Hubert von Goisern on the meaning of money

WUtv 12th October 2012

Doing not just watching: Hubert von Goisern at the WU

Kurier 13th October 2012 | Text: Andrea Hlinka

"Everyone knows that money doesn't grow on trees and you can't eat it either, but it burns well" - Wilfried Stadler, financial economist, reads these lines as if a kindergarten class is sitting on a rug in front of him. "Does have that something to do with the financial crisis?", he asks. Hubert von Goisern answers after a medium-length pause for thought: "Less that and more the deplorable fact that food is being processed into fuel while every minute people are starving. Machines are being put above people. It's inconceivable to me and fills me with anger, that's where the refrain came from."

[...] Hubert von Goisern is not a loud man when he's not singing. He prefers to consider for a long time before he answers, listens, answers and is, as far as can been judged, honest. Stadler asks about his journeys to Tibet and Africa and Jane Goodall. All these things came to him, says Hubert von Goisern, who was born in 1952 as Hubert Achleitner. "I'm not a fatalist, but I have the feeling that the essential things come to you." Anyone not living in the here and now would miss a lot. He nearly missed out on Tibet because back then in 1995 he hadn't read his post. And although there were then still problems with the visa, the journey happened, not least thanks to his naïveté: "I said to my companion: nothing can happen. You have a Swiss passport. I'm famous." Hearty laughter in the hall.

On this evening it wasn't about the university and not about financial markets either. But rather about experiences and letting things happen. Far too seldom a subject at the university.

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

OPEN MINDS

Vermischtes: 2012

Hubert von Goisern bei Open Minds

9. Oktober 2012 | Foto: Andreas Kowacsik

Hubert von Goisern im Gespräch über Weltmusik und Management-Welten

Hubert von Goisern bei Open Minds

Mehr Fotos unter www.flickr.com

Hubert von Goisern hat sich mit einem Lied über die Finanzkrise an die Spitze der Charts gesungen. Mitten in seiner erfolgreichen Tournee nahm er sich einen Abend lang Zeit für Open Minds bei der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien.

Seine Gesprächspartner waren Edeltraud Hanappi-Egger, Leiterin des Departements für "Gender and Diversity in Organizations" an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien und Markus Hinterhäuser, Pianist, Kulturmanager und zukünftiger Intendant der Wiener Festwochen. Moderiert wurde der Abend von WU-Honorarprofessor Wilfried Stadler.

In den Texten zu den Liedern von Hubert von Goisern brodelt es. Wer genau hinhört, dem wird bewusst, dass die Krise der Banken und des Euro ihre Ursache nicht nur in Konstruktionsschwächen des Finanz- und Währungssystem hat – sondern auch in den unseligen Auswüchsen eines auf rastlose Maximierung ausgerichteten Zeitgeistes. Und dennoch verzichtet der erfolgreiche Liedermacher, Alpin-Rocker und Komponist von Filmmusik auf allzu einfache Antworten.

Immer wieder hat Hubert von Goisern für seine konsequente Eigenständigkeit einen hohen Preis bezahlt, bevor sie letztlich zum unverkennbaren "Markenzeichen" wurde, unter dem er gerade die erfolgreichste aller bisherigen Tourneen absolviert. In der Open Minds Diskussion am 8. Oktober wurden seine Erfahrungen als Weltmusiker mit den Management-Welten der Unternehmen und der klassischen Musikwelt erprobt.

Open Minds 10: ENTWEDERundODER

WUtv 16. Oktober 2012 | Foto: Andreas Kowacsik
Hubert von Goisern bei Open Minds

Podiumsdiskussion anschauen: Teil 1 | Teil 2

Hubert von Goisern über die Bedeutung von Geld

WUtv 12. Oktober 2012

Mittendrinstattnurdabei: Hubert von Goisern an der WU

Kurier 13. Oktober 2012| Text: Andrea Hlinka

"A jeder woaß, dass des Geld net auf der Wiesen wåchst und essen kå ma's a net, åber brennna tat's guat" - Wilfried Stadler, Finanzökonom, liest diese Zeilen vor, als würde eine Kindergartengruppe auf einem Teppich vor ihm sitzen. "Hat das was mit der Finanzkrise zu tun?", fragt er. Hubert von Goisern antwortet nach einer halblangen Denkpause: "Weniger das, als mit der Unsitte, dass Lebensmittel zu Treibstoff verarbeitet werden, wo jede Minute Menschen verhungern. Man stellt die Maschine über den Menschen. Das finde ich unfassbar, das erfüllt mich mit Zorn, deswegen ist der Refrain rausgekommen."

[...] Hubert von Goisern ist kein lauter Mann, wenn er nicht singt. Er überlegt lieber länger, bevor er spricht, hört zu, antwortet, soweit das zu beurteilen ist, ist ehrlich. Stadler fragt nach seinen Reisen nach Tibet und Afrika und Jane Goodall. Zugefallen sei ihm all das, erklärt Hubert von Goisern, der 1952 als Hubert Achleitner geboren wurde. "Ich bin kein Fatalist, aber ich habe das Gefühl, dass einem all das Wesentliche zufällt." Wer nicht im Hier und Jetzt lebt, würde viel übersehen. So hätte er fast Tibet verabsäumt, weil er seine Post, damals 1995, nicht gelesen hatte. Und obwohl es dann auch noch Probleme mit dem Visum gab, fand die Reise, nicht zuletzt wegen seiner Naivität, statt: "Ich habe zu meiner Begleitung gesagt: Da kann nichts passieren. Du hast einen Schweizer Pass. Ich bin berühmt." Herzhaftes Gelächter im Saal.

An dem Abend ging es nicht um die Uni und auch nicht um Finanzmärkte. Sondern um Erfahrungen und ums Sich-treiben-lassen. An der WU viel zu selten Thema.