Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

INTERVIEW

Miscellaneous: 1995

"The climate has intensified"

Profil Nr. 11 13th March 1995 | Text: Christian Seiler

Hubert von Goisern on his compatriot Jörg Haider, political responsibility, his new CD
and the retirement from his active career

Hubert von Goisern, 43, celebrated tumultuous success in Austria and Germany with a synthesis of rock and folk music (Hiatamadl). After detailed concert tours, in autumn 94, he declared his retirement from active pop music and coupled this with the release of a new live double CD, which will be delivered next Monday (Wia die Zeit Vergeht, BMG Ariola). Goisern launched a rustic-elegant fashion collection and is currently working on Josef Vilsmaier's filming of Robert Schneider's novel, Schlafes Bruder. In the past week, Goisern gave his opinion via the Austrian Press Agency about the remarks from Jörg Haider who had spitefully commented on Austria's most famous rock musician's benefit event for the victims of Oberwart. Haider on the "state artist": "Hollow beliefs in democracy". Goisern on Haider: "Tasteless".

Must Austrian artists engage themselves politically?

An artist is responsible for everything like anyone. Also for the rights of fellow human beings. The climate has dramatically intensified in the whole of Europe - not just Austria, I have already commented on it in my concerts.

You have taken care of sharpening your political profile with growing popularity - criticism against Waldheim and Haider. Why?

As a folk musician I must take a good look at the unhealthy regionalism. I have antagonised many people by doing this. With the first sold out tour I have, let us say, insulted 20% of the audience. They wanted to hear my music, but not my opinion on social politics. But I have never let myself be ordered to be quiet and half the 20% certainly started to think. The other half left during the interval.

On the first album Aufgeigen stått Niederschiassen, you recorded a song against the Federal President at that time, Kurt Waldheim. How did that go down?

In my narrow homeland, I am often addressed in the local papers, there are critical readers' letters and cynical articles.

You have also picked an argument with your fellow Goiserer Jörg Haider.

A few people at home say that I should shut my mouth and make music. Jörg is, after all, a son of Goisern and is admired there because he has brought it to something.

War of the great Goiserers?

A bit.

You are almost exactly the same age as Jörg Haider. Do you know him from your childhood?

No, I only know his father, who was often with my grandfather. He is still firmly convinced that everything was right in the Third Reich.

In the country, folk music was always synchronised with conservative homeland ideology. As a child, could you listen to folk music neutrally?

Yes, I grew up musically in brass music, which was completely unpolitical for me. I played the bourgeois music as a child from a working-class family, there was no problem as long as the music worked. First when I suddenly wore my hair shoulder-length, I began to rub people up the wrong way.

Holy world in Bad Goisern?

Totally. A highly violent situation like we have in Austria now was unthinkable in our lonely village. There was no crime, we still locked neither our houses nor our cars. Everything evil only came through the TV.

Why did you decide to make folk music?

I left Bad Goisern, went to Africa for four years, to Canada for two and a half years, studied music in Toronto and went to the Philippines for six months. There I came on the folk music trip.

Do you first have to listen to world music before you can value your own folk music?

Yes. I lived in the Philippines for four months with natives in a stilt house settlement, where there was neither electricity nor radio. There folk music had a liveliness like I had never experienced before. Then the thought came to me: our music must once have been like this too.

Bad Goisern is a centre of this folk music.

Yes, but the true folk musicians operate rather underground. They outwardly convey the feeling of total intolerance. Music sounded played as though it had always been played. That was the aura.

With what approval was your pop-like processed folk music met with by the conventional folk musicians of your region?

Nobody thought it was negative. The big debate happened when Goisern became a phenomenon. Fault was never found with my music, but with my criticism of society. The people were not pleased that I had no problem with gays and pulled Haider to pieces, they immediately did not like my music any more.

You were not the first person to make folk music in a broader sense, but you were the first folk musician to reach a mass audience. Have you never worried about your own effect when full beer tent gangs bawl Hiatamadl in chorus?

I have never been in a beer tent (laughs). As soon as you have written a song, you lose influence over it. People do what they want with it, whether they understand it as a great attack on intolerance, or as a pure entertainment for beer drinking.

But you wanted exactly that, to leave people to their own devices, otherwise you would not have given interpretation instructions in concerts and on the record covers.

That's right. Naturally you can be furious about what happens but you cannot change anything.

Did you feel what a difficult potential your biggest hit possesses?

When recording the title, I was not certain whether or not it would backfire, painting incredibly, but also letting me stand there in rags.

Why?

The lyrics (Koa Hiatamadl mog i net, mog kane dicken Wadeln net) came to me very quickly, just a funny little song. But: if you don't listen to anything else from me - which has practically happened with the incredible airplay of something of Hiatamadl on the radio - you can get a very wrong impression of what I actually do.

Hiatamadl hits the mark between pop music and Musikantenstadl.

My manager wanted me to appear on Musikantenstadl. He thought it would be a subversive affair.

Did you have to justify your success to yourself?

No. But I felt that very many people came to my concerts and expected something completely different of me because they only knew Hiatamadl. At first it made me uncertain. Then I began to enjoy it because I recognised the chance to reach people I would never have been able to reach.

Beer tent music, Musikantenstadl for the youth etc. How did you cope with these reproaches?

Naturally they rankled me. The argument of the general public, whom I was trying to please, also did not help. I wanted to reach them, to make them listeners and critics. When the Salzburger Nachrichten once slated me, I descended upon the department head conference and played the accordion for them. After a slating, I invited Franz Endler to a TV discussion, he was vain enough to come, thank God.

Has the Goisern message for tolerance and against stick-in-the-muds come over in the meantime?

It is something which has gone on. There are things which are still to be said which I must first formulate musically. For that I need the break which I have announced.

How definite is this departure?

I am still doing promotion for my live CD, a few interviews and one or other TV appearance. I still have no intentions for afterwards.

So how long will the break be?

No longer than six months. My priority is abstinence from the stage. Then I want to wait until something itches me so much that I have to scratch.

Do you use your popularity in order to advance something political?

I do not want to be a politician. I am firstly concerned with human rights, then with the ecology of reason. I believe that we work too much. I do not think it should be a disgrace to have little money.

Easy for you to say.

I already said that when I had no money at all.

What could you concretely do for paradigms change?

Inform better. We are involved in establishing an artist platform which comments on the events of the day, how advertising, industry or politics are doing now.

For years you have whirled around recognition: how do you feel when suddenly your opinion on world events is of public interest?

Good. But it is also a lot of responsibility. If something happens like in Oberwart, I have to give my opinion on it, and I have to do it so that it reaches who it should. That it does not sound like me is really difficult. To express myself about music and poetry pleases me more easily.

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

INTERVIEW

Vermischtes: 1995

"Das Klima hat sich verschärft..."

Profil Nr. 11 13th März 1995 | Text: Christian Seiler

Hubert von Goisern über seinen Landsmann Jörg Haider, politische Verantwortung,
seine neue CD und den Rücktritt von der aktiven Karriere.

Hubert von Goisern, 43, feierte mit einer Synthese von Rock und Volksmusik (Hiatamadl) stürmische Erfolge in Österreich und Deutschland. Nach ausführlichen Konzerttourneen erklärte er im Herbst '94 seinen Rücktritt von der aktiven Popmusik und koppelte diesen mit dem Erscheinen einer neuen LiveDoppelCD, die am kommenden Montag ausgeliefert wird (Wia die Zeit vergeht, BMG Ariola). Goisern lancierte eine rustikalelegante Modelinie und arbeitet zur Zeit an der Filmmusik zur Josef Vilsmaier Verfilmung von Robert Schneiders Roman Schlafes Bruder. Goisern äußerte sich vergangene Woche via APA zu den Ausführungen Jörg Haiders, der eine Benefizveranstaltung Österreichs bekanntester Rockmusiker für die Opfer von Oberwart hämisch kommentiert hatte. Haider über die "Staatskünstler": "Hohle Demokratiebekenntnisse." Goisern über Haider: "Geschmacklos."

Müssen sich Österreichs Künstler politisch engagieren?

Ein Künstler ist wie je der Mensch für alles verantwortlich. Auch für die Rechte seiner Mitmenschen. Das Klima hat sich in ganz Europa nicht nur in Österreich drastisch verschärft, dazu habe ich bereits in meinen Konzerten Stellung genommen.

Sie haben mit steigender Popularität darauf achtgegeben, Ihr politisches Profil kritisch gegen Waldheim und Haider zu schärfen. Warum?

Ich muß mich als Volksmusikant mit dem ungesunden Regionalismus auseinandersetzen. Damit habe ich sehr viele Leute vor den Kopf gestoßen. Bei der ersten ausverkauften Tournee habe ich, sagen wir, 20 Prozent der Zuschauer beleidigt. Die wollten meine Musik hören, nicht aber meine Meinung zur Gesellschaftspolitik. Ich habe mir den Mund aber nie verbieten lassen, und die Hälfte der 20 Prozent hat bestimmt zum Nachdenken angefangen. Die andere Hälfte ist in der Pause gegangen.

Sie haben auf dem ersten Album Aufgeigen statt niederschiaßen einen Song gegen den damaligen Bundespräsidenten Kurt Waldheim aufgenommen. Wie ist das angekommen?

In meiner engeren Heimat bin ich oft angeredet worden, in den Lokalzeitungen erschienen kritische Leserbriefe und zynische Artikel.

Auch mit Ihrem Goiserer Landsmann Jörg Haider haben Sie sich angelegt.

Da hieß es von ein paar Leuten daheim, ich soll den Mund halten und Musik machen. Der Jörg ist schließlich ein Sohn Goiserns und wird dort bewundert, weil er's zu was gebracht hat.

Titanenkampf der großen Goiserer?

Ein bißchen schon.

Sie sind fast gleich alt wie Jörg Haider. Kennen Sie ihn aus Ihrer Kindheit?

Nein, ich kenne nur seinen Vater, der mit meinem Großvater oft beinander war. Der ist noch immer felsenfest davon überzeugt, daß im Dritten Reich alles richtig war.

Auf dem Land war die Volksmusik imner mit konservativer Heimatideologie synchronisiert. Konnten Sie als Bub Volksmusik wertfrei hören?

Ja. Ich wuchs musikalisch in der Blasmusik auf, die war für mich ganz unpolitisch. Ich spielte als Arbeiterkind bei der Bürgermusik, das gab nie Probleme, solang's um die Musik ging. Erst als ich die Haare plötzlich schulterlang trug, begann ich anzuecken.

Heile Welt in Bad Goisern?

Total. Eine gewaltschwangere Situation, wie wir sie jetzt in Österreich haben, war in unserem verlassenen Dorf undenkbar. Da gab's keine Verbrechen, wir sperrten weder Häuser noch Autos zu. Alles Böse kam nur über den Fernseher herein.

Wieso beschlossen Sie, selbst Volksmusik zu machen?

Ich verließ Bad Goisern, ging vier Jahre nach Afrika, zweieinhalb Jahre nach Kanada, studierte in Toronto Musik, ging noch ein halbes Jahr auf die Philippinen. Dort kam ich auf den Trip der Volksmusik.

Mußten Sie zuerst Weltmusik hören, bevor Sie die eigene Volksmusik schätzen konnten?

Ja. Ich lebte auf den Philippinen vier Monate mit Eingeborenen in einer Pfahlbausiedlung, wo's weder Strom noch Radio gab. Dort hatte die Volksmusik eine Lebendigkeit, wie ich sie noch nie vorher erlebt hatte. Da kam mir der Gedanke: So müsste die Musik auch bei uns irgendwann einmal gewesen sein.

Bad Goisern ist ein Zentrum dieser Volksmusik.

Ja, aber die wahren Volksmusiker agieren eher im Untergrund. Sie vermitteln nach außen das Gefühl der totalen Intoleranz. Musik gehört so gespielt, wie sie immer gespielt wurde. Das war die Aura.

Welchen Anklang fand Ihre popmäßig aufbereitete Volksmusik bei den konventionellen Volksmusikanten Ihrer Region?

Niemand fand's negativ. Die große Auseinandersetzung fand ja erst statt, als Goisern zum Phänomen wurde. Bemäkelt wurde dabei nie meine Musik, sondern meine Kritik an der Gesellschaft. Es gefiel den Leuten nicht, daß ich keine Probleme mit Schwulen hatte und über den Haider herzog, da fanden sie auch gleich meine Musik nicht mehr gut.

Sie waren nicht der erste, der Volksmusik im weiteren Sinn machte, aber Sie drangen als erster Volksmusikant zu einem Massenpublikum vor. Haben Sie nie Angst vor der eigenen Wirkung gekriegt, wenn volle Bierzeltbelegschaften im Chor das Hiatamadl grölten?

Ich war im Bierzelt nie dabei (lacht). Sobald du ein Lied geschrieben hast, verlierst du den Einfluß drauf. Die Leute machen damit, was sie wollen, ob sie's als den großen Angriff auf die Intoleranz verstehen oder als pure Unterhaltung zum Biertrinken.

Aber genau das wollten Sie den Leuten nicht selber überlassen, sonst hätten Sie in Konzerten und auf dem Plattencover nicht Interpretationsanleitungen gegeben.

Stimmt. Du kannst dich natürlich grün und blau ärgern über das, was passiert, aber ändern kann sich nichts mehr daran.

Haben Sie gespürt, was für ein heikles Potential Ihr größter Hit besitzt?

Beim Aufnehmen des Titels war ich mir nicht sicher, ob er nicht ein Rohrkrepierer wird, der mordsmäßig tuscht, aber mich selbst auch in Fetzen dastehen läßt.

Warum?

Der Text ("Koa Hiatamadl mog i riet, mog kane dicken Wadeln net") ist mir ganz geschwind eingefallen, ein lustiges Liedl halt. Nur: Wenn man nichts anderes von mir hört was durch den ungeheuren Radioeinsatz vom Hiatamadl ja praktisch passiert ist kann man schon einen sehr schiefen Eindruck von dem gewinnen, was ich eigentlich mach'.

Das Hiatamadl schlägt den Bogen von der Popmusik zum Musikantenstadl.

Mein Manager wollte eh, daß ich im Musikantenstadl auftrete. Er dachte, das sei eine subversive Gschicht.

Mußten Sie sich vor sich selbst für Ihren Erfolg rechtfertigen?

Nein. Aber ich spürte, daß sehr viele Leute in meine Konzerte kamen und sich etwas völlig anderes von mir erwarteten, weil sie nur das Hiatamadl kannten. Zuerst verunsicherte mich das. Dann begann es mich zu freuen, weil ich die Chance erkannte, Leute zu erreichen, die ich sonst nie erreicht hätte.

Bierzeltmusik, Musikantenstadl für junge etc. Wie sind Sie mit diesen Vorwürfen zurechtgekommen?

Sie haben mich natürlich gewurmt. Da half auch das Argument des breiten Publikums nicht, dem ich gefalle. Ich wollte die erreichen, die zumachen, Zuhörer und Kritiker. Als mich die" Salzburger Nachrichten" einmal verrissen, platzte ich in die Ressortleiterkonferenz und spielte ihnen mit der Ziehharmonika eins auf. Den Franz Endler lud ich nach einem Verriß zu einer Fernsehdiskussion ein, Gott sei Dank war er eitel genug zu kommen.

Ist die GoisernBotschaft für Toleranz und gegen Ewiggestrige inzwischen rübergekommen?

Es ist was weitergegangen. Es bleiben Dinge zu sagen, die ich musikalisch erst formulieren muß. Dazu brauche ich die Denkpause, die ich angekündigt habe.

Wie endgültig ist dieser Abschied?

Ich mache noch Promotion für meine Live CD, ein paar Interviews, den einen oder anderen Fernsehauftritt. Für nachher hab' ich mir noch nichts vorgenommen.

Wie lange wird die Pause also sein?

Nicht länger als ein halbes Jahr. In erster Linie geht's mir um Bühnenabstinenz. Dann will ich warten, bis mich irgend etwas so juckt, daß ich kratzen muß.

Nützen Sie Ihre Popularität, um politisch etwas weiterzubringen?

Ich will kein Politiker werden. Mir geht's in erster Linie um Menschenrechte, dann um eine Ökologie der Vernunft. Ich glaub', daß wir zuviel arbeiten. Ich finde, es sollte keine Schande sein, wenig Geld zu haben.

Leicht gesagt für Sie.

Das hab' ich schon gesagt, als ich überhaupt kein Geld hatte.

Was können Sie konkret für den Paradigmenwechsel tun?

Besser informieren. Wir sind dabei, eine Künstlerplattforrn zu errichten, die das Zeitgeschehen kommentiert, wie es jetzt Werbung, Industrie oder Politik tun.

Jahrelang haben Sie um Anerkennung gestrudelt: Wie fühlen Sie sich, wenn plötzlich Ihre Meinung zum Weltgeschehen von öffentlichem Interesse ist?

Gut. Aber viel Verantwortung ist's auch. Wenn so was wie in Oberwart passiert, muß ich dazu Stellung nehmen, und ich muß es so tun, daß es die erreicht, die es erreichen soll. Daß es außerdem nach mir selber klingt, ist sauschwer. Mich über Musik und Poesie auszudrücken, fällt mir leichter.