Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

RELIGIOUS COOPERATION

Miscellaneous: 2006

Religions: Austria looks for a consensus

Kurier 22nd March 2006 | Photo: APA

Hubert von GoisernVienna - The controversy over the cartoons, with its violent consequences, has now resulted in the establishment of a platform of cooperation in Austria. Representatives of the Christian churches and the Islamic religious community united to promote tolerance and rapidly intervene in fields of conflict with religious elements, as Paul Schulmeister, co-initiator, journalist and representative of Katholische Aktion (Catholic Aid) put it at the presentation of the project on Wednesday morning. The "initiative for a joint future in Austria" also wants to assess pre-existing mechanisms, which have prescribed the coexistence of the different religions.

Austria as a positive example

Anas Schakfeh, chairperson of the Islamic religious community, expressly welcomed the fact that the initiative for the platform had come from Katholische Aktion. It is a good sign for Austria, when a large organisation of the majority religion concerns itself with corresponding coexistence in the country. There have hitherto been good experiences in this area anyway, abroad one can refer to Austria as a positive example in all arising problems.

Life without borders

For Carla Amina Baghajati from the Islamic religious community, the special quality of the new initiative is the fact that intellectual debates, as well as personal meetings, are fostered here. Singer Hubert von Goisern, himself not a member of any church, on the one hand promotes faith in oneself and, on the other hand, thinking and living without borders - which he means not only regionally, but also religiously. The journalist Barbara Coudenhove-Kalergi spoke out for making Muslims in Austrian society more visible, for example - similar to the French - as presenters of big TV programmes.

Solidarity with immigrants

The director of the Evangelical deaconry, Michael Chalupka, called above all for solidarity with immigrants, who are brought to the country as manpower and, now in this state of emergency of unemployment, are threatened with deportation by politicians. Right-wing populist tendencies were refused by the initiators. Here it is guaranteed that the voice will be raised accordingly. However, this would also apply should radical Muslims spread corresponding messages: "We are not blind to any side", "Furche" publisher Heinz Nußbaumer asserted.

Tolerance and respect are not enough

A joint explanation was submitted by the initiators, in which it was stressed that tolerance and respect in treatment of others are indeed important and irreplaceable, but they are not enough: "Christians and Muslims are called upon to understand one another better, to know about and learn more from one another, to respect one another more and to live together more." The explanation can be supported online (www.christenundmuslime.at). Conductor Franz Welster-Möst, actor Klaus Maria Brandauer, author Barbara Frischmuth, former politicians Erhard Busek and Hannes Androsch, Rapid striker Muhammet Akagündüz and archbishop Michael Staikos are among the first signatories.

The fact that the Catholic bishops' conference was not present at the presentation and, with Viennese auxiliary bishop Helmut Krätzl, also only had one representative on the list of initial signatories, means no distance from the project, according to initiator Schulmeister. Cardinal Christoph Schönborn is informed and supports the dialogue, he said when asked.

Dialogue encourages social peace in Austria

KAÖ 23rd March 2006

[...] Hubert von Goisern - himself no longer a member of the church - told of a concert in an otherwise avoided "Fundamentalist stronghold", which turned into a great party. As someone who is widely travelled, he knows the fear of strangers well, but has always experienced the overcoming of that fear as a positive thing.

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

RELIGIÖSES MITEINANDER

Vermischtes: 2006

Religionen: Österreich sucht Konsens

Kurier 22. März 2006 | Foto: APA

Hubert von GoisernWien - Der Karikaturen-Streit mit seinen gewalttätigen Folgen hat in Österreich jetzt die Etablierung einer Plattform des Miteinanders zur Folge. Vertreter der christlichen Kirchen und der islamischen Glaubensgemeinschaft haben sich zusammengeschlossen, um für Toleranz zu werben und bei Konfliktfeldern mit religiösen Komponenten rasch einzugreifen, wie Paul Schulmeister, Mit-Initiator, Journalist und Vertreter der Katholischen Aktion bei der Präsentation des Projekts Mittwoch Vormittag formulierte. Ansetzen will die "Initiative für eine gemeinsame Zukunft in Österreich" durchaus auch bei schon bestehenden Einrichtungen, die sich dem Zusammenleben der verschiedenen Religionen verschrieben haben.

Österreich als positives Beispiel

Anas Schakfeh, Vorsitzender der Islamischen Glaubensgemeinschaft, begrüßte ausdrücklich, dass die Initiative für die Plattform von der Katholischen Aktion ausgegangen war. Es sei ein gutes Zeichen für Österreich, wenn sich eine große Organisation der Mehrheits-Religion für ein entsprechendes Zusammenleben im Land einsetze. Ohnehin habe man bis jetzt auf diesem Gebiet gute Erfahrungen gemacht, bei allen auftretenden Problemen könne man im Ausland durchaus auf Österreich als positives Beispiel verweisen.

Leben ohne Grenzen

Die besondere Qualität der neuen Initiative besteht für Carla Amina Baghajati von der islamischen Glaubensgemeinschaft darin, dass hier sowohl intellektuelle Auseinandersetzung als auch persönliche Begegnung gepflegt werde. Sänger Hubert von Goisern, selbst Mitglied keiner Kirche, warb einerseits für den Glauben an sich, andererseits für ein Denken und Leben ohne Grenzen - wobei von ihm nicht nur regionale sondern auch religiöse gemeint sind. Die Journalistin Barbara Coudenhove-Kalergi sprach sich dafür aus, Muslime in der österreichischen Gesellschaft sichtbarer zu machen, zum Beispiel - ähnlich Frankreich - als Moderatoren großer TV-Sendungen.

Solidarität mit Zuwanderern

Der Direktor der evangelischen Diakonie Michael Chalupka forderte vor allem Solidarität mit Zuwanderern ein, die als Arbeitskräfte ins Land geholt worden seien und nun in der Notlage der Job-Losigkeit von Politikern mit Abschiebung bedroht würden. Rechts-populistischen Tendenzen wurde von den Initiatoren eine Absage erteilt. Hier werde man die Stimme entsprechend erheben, wurde garantiert. Allerdings gelte dies auch, wenn radikale Moslems entsprechende Botschaften verbreiten würden: "Wir sind auf keinem Auge blind", versicherte "Furche"-Herausgeber Heinz Nußbaumer.

Toleranz und Respekt nicht genug

Vorgelegt wurde von den Initiatoren eine gemeinsame Erklärung, in der betont wird, dass Toleranz und Respekt im Umgang zwar wichtig und unersetzlich, aber nicht genug seien: "Christen und Muslime sind aufgerufen, einander besser zu verstehen, mehr voneinander zu wissen und zu lernen, mehr aufeinander zu achten und mehr miteinander zu leben." Die Erklärung kann im Internet (www.christenundmuslime.at) unterstützt werden. Unter den Erstunterzeichnern finden sich unter anderen Dirigent Franz Welster-Möst, Schauspieler Klaus Maria Brandauer, Autorin Barbara Frischmuth, die Ex-Politiker Erhard Busek und Hannes Androsch, Rapid-Stürmer Muhammet Akagündüz sowie Metropolitit Michael Staikos.

Dass die katholische Bischofskonferenz bei der Präsentation nicht anwesend war und sich mit dem Wiener Weihbischof Helmut Krätzl auch nur einer ihrer Vertreter auf der Erstunterzeichner-Liste fand, bedeutet laut Initiator Schulmeister keine Distanz zu dem Projekt. Kardinal Christoph Schönborn sei informiert und unterstütze den Dialog, meinte er auf eine entsprechende Nachfrage.

Dialog fördert sozialen Frieden in Österreich

KAÖ 23. März 2006

[...] Hubert von Goisern - selbst aus der Kirche ausgetreten - erzählte von einem Konzert in einer sonst gemiedenen ägyptischen "Fundamentalisten-Hochburg", das zu einem großen Fest geriet. Er selbst kenne als Vielgereister die Angst vor Fremdem gut, habe deren Überwindung jedoch stets als positiv erlebt.