Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

INTERVIEW

Miscellaneous: 2003

A traveller

Tiroler Tageszeitung January 2003 | Text: Liane Pircher | Photo: Parigger

Long celebrated as the innovator of folk music Hubert von Goisern remains the
member of the resistance among Austria's musicians

Hubert von GoisernHubert von Goisern is far-reaching in everything he does. When he lifts his arms, it is as if he would like to hug the person opposite him; when he gestures with his hands, nothing more in the world seems to exist other than these hands; when he looks, his eyes demand full attention from the person opposite. It belongs to people whom one notices straight away. Even if they enter a full room. One could say: wherever he is, there is only Hubert von Goisern. But that would only be half the truth and thus wrong. What is right is: It takes the Bad Goiserer a while until he gives himself openly. Naturally he is shy. At least when he meets journalists. At first he makes a distrustful impression, waits, listens exactly to the questions. Almost as if he would say: I only talk if the question suits me.

Everything remains different

Hubert von Goisern just has his iwasig tour behind him and that's why he is living in his own world: "On tour my ties are severed with the rest of life. There is otherwise nothing else. You only get news when you come home again. It is like on holiday, when you roll over the country border in the car and hear the native radio station for the first time again," explains the musician. Hubert von Goisern likes such conditions. Loves getting mixed up with unfamiliar things, improvising. Standing still is a horror for him. That is why he is also a traveller.

"There are artists, who keep out of politics. I don't think that's good, because as an artist you have the chance to stick your oar in, so that you are heard."

Recently he was in Egypt again, to meet the Arabic superstar Mohamed Mounir - a kindred spirit, as he says. He is planning concerts together with him for 2003. Before that - from the middle of January - he will move back into the mountains again, in order to work on the recording for Trad 2. There will be yodelling. Exclusively. "I wanted to accommodate that on the first Trad CD, but that would have been too much then," he says. With that he will again take a step in the right direction of spiritualisation, after his most recent CD Iwasig, a groovy extroverted number. In the meantime his audience is used to the fact that Hubert von Goisern together with his music is unpredictable and plumbs the depths of new things with pleasure. They also know that there is no more Hiatamadl to be heard at his concerts. That is over: "The end with the Alpinkatzen was certainly a considerable break, above all the CD Fön was something quite different after a long break. For the first time with Iwasig I have brought in a few things from that time. I wanted to once again let it really be in colour and crash at the concerts and for the people to really dance along," says the 50 year old. Hubert von Goisern is a member of the resistance. Always has been. Whether he stirs up the folksiness with the accordion, attacks Ö3 on account of its music, or politicians on account of their refugee politics, it makes no difference. He cannot do anything else: I cannot avoid speaking up. I think that there is barely any artist who does not notice what is happening around them. Just not everybody says anything about it. But as an artist you have the opportunity to stir it up. I do it. Politics cannot just be left to the politicians. For me it is like food and drink - I do not want to refuse it," says the musician. That is why time and time again he always meets people when travelling "who are in the politics", as he says. Perhaps Austria's ambassador.

Tibet and Africa

Hubert von Goisern likes Africa and Tibet. He is interested in Buddhism just as he is in the Arabic cultures. But he stands by native ground with just as much pleasure, in the country called Austria, which often makes it so difficult for him.

Two world person

What concerns two worlds as a whole presses more questions from him than he has answers: "When I come back from a journey, again and again I have a separated culture shock which shows itself in total despair. At first everything seems endless to me," he says. But Hubert von Goisern never loses the courage to carry on - one of the most difficult things, he says. He proved a long time ago with his alpine world music that both things go together.

Hubert von Goisern was born on 17th November 1952 as Hubert Achleitner. At the age of 22, he went to South Africa and worked there as a chemistry laboratory assistant. Later he lived with his first wife, a Canadian, in Toronto, where he studied music (then in Vienna). In Austria he succeeded with a breakthrough with the Alpinkatzen (Koa Hiatamadl). 1994: the end of the Alpinkatzen. 2000: comeback with Fön. Among others followed Trad. HvG won the Amadeus Music Award for the Best National Artist Rock/Pop. His new album is called Iwasig. Hubert von Goisern is now married and has two children. He lives in Salzburg.

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

INTERVIEW

Vermischtes: 1998

Ein Reisender

Tiroler Tageszeitung Januar 2003 | Text: Liane Pircher | Foto: Parigger

Lange als Erneurer der Volksmusik gefeiert, bleibt Hubert von Goisern der
Widerständler unter Österreichs Musikern.

Hubert von GoisernHubert von Goisern ist in allem, was er tut, raumgreifend. Wenn er die Arme hebt, ist es, als würde er sein Gegenüber umarmen wollen; wenn er mit den Händen gestikuliert, scheint auf der Welt nichts mehr zu existieren als diese Hände; wenn er schaut, fordern seine Augen vom Gegenüber volle Aufmerksamkeit. Er gehört zu jenen Menschen, die man sofort bemerkt. Selbst wenn sie einen vollen Raum betreten. Man könnte sagen: Wo er ist, gibt es nur Hubert von Goisern. Aber das wäre nur die halbe Wahrheit und damit falsch. Richtig ist: Bis sich der Bad Goiserer so offen gibt, dauert es eine Weile. Von Haus aus ist er nämlich scheu. Zumindest wenn er auf Journalisten trifft. Da macht er erst einmal einen misstrauischen Eindruck, wartet ab, horcht genau auf die Fragen. Fast so, als ob er sagen würde: Reden tu' ich sowieso nur, wenn mir die Fragen passen.

Alles bleibt anders

Hubert von Goisern hat gerade seine iwasig-Tournee hinter sich und lebt deshalb in einer eigenen Welt: "Auf Tournee bin ich vom Rest des Lebens abgekoppelt. Da gibt es sonst nichts. Neuigkeiten bekommt man erst wieder mit, wenn man heimkommt. Das ist wie im Urlaub, wenn man mit dem Auto über die Landesgrenze rollt und das erste Mal wieder den heimischen Radiosender hört", erklärt der Musiker. Hubert von Goisern mag solche Zustände. Liebt es, sich auf Fremdes einzulassen, zu improvisieren. Stillstehen ist ihm ein Gräuel. Deshalb ist er auch ein Reisender.

"Es gibt Künstler, die sich aus der Politik heraushalten. Das finde ich nicht gut, denn als Künstler hat man die Chance sich so einzumischen, dass einem zugehört wird."

Erst kürzlich war er wieder in Ägypten, um den arabischen Superstar Mohamed Mounir - ein Seelenbruder, wie er sagt - zu treffen. Mit ihm plant er gemeinsame Konzerte für 2003. Vorher - ab Mitte Jänner - wird er sich aber noch daheim in die Berge zurückziehen, um an den Aufnahmen für Trad 2 zu arbeiten. Jodler sollen's werden. Ausschließlich. "Das wollte ich schon auf der ersten Trad-CD unterbringen, aber da wär's dann zuviel geworden", erklärt er. Damit wird er nach der jüngsten CD iwasig, einem groovigen extrovertierten Werk, wieder einen Schritt in Richtung Verinnerlichung setzen. Dass Hubert von Goisern samt seiner Musik unberechenbar ist und gerne Neues auslotet, ist sein Publikum mittlerweile gewöhnt. Es weiß auch, dass es in seinen Konzerten kein Hiatamadl mehr zu hören gibt. Das ist vorbei: "Das Aus mit den Alpinkatzen war bewusst ein ziemlicher Bruch, vor allem die CD Fön war nach der langen Pause etwas ganz anderes. Erst mit der neuen CD iwasig habe ich wieder ein paar Sachen von damals reingeholt. Ich wollte es bei den Konzerten wieder einmal so richtig tuschen und krachen lassen und dass die Leute voll mittanzen", sagt der 50-Jährige. Hubert von Goisern ist ein Widerständler. Immer schon gewesen. Ob er mit der Ziehharmonika die heimische Volkstümelei aufmischt, Ö3 wegen seiner Musik oder Politiker wegen ihrer Flüchtlingspolitik angeht, macht keinen Unterschied. Er kann gar nicht anders: "Ich komm' gar nicht darum herum meinen Mund aufzumachen. Ich glaube, dass es fast keinen Künstler gibt, der nicht bemerkt, was um ihn herum passiert. Es äußern sich nur nicht alle dazu. Als Künstler hat man aber die Chance, sich einzumischen. Ich tu' das eben. Politik kann auch nicht nur den Politikern überlassen werden. Für mich ist das wie Essen und Trinken - ich will das nicht verweigern", sagt der Musiker. Deshalb trifft er sich auf Reisen auch immer wieder mit Leuten, "die in der Politik drin sind", wie er sagt. Etwa Österreichs Botschafter.

Tibet und Afrika

Hubert von Goisern mag Afrika und Tibet. Interessiert sich für den Buddhismus genauso wie für arabische Kulturen. Steht aber genauso gerne auf heimischem Boden, jenem Land namens Österreichs, das es ihm oft so schwer macht.

Zwei-Welten-Mensch

Was beide Welten als Ganzes angeht, drängen ihn mehr Fragen als er Antworten hat: "Wenn ich von Reisen zurückkomme, habe ich immer wieder einen gscheid'n Kulturschock, der sich in totaler Verzweiflung äußert. Da erscheint mir erst einmal alles uferlos", sagt er. Den Mut zum Weitermachen - eine der schwierigsten Sachen, wie er sagt - verliert Hubert von Goisern aber nie. Dass beides zusammengeht, hat er mit seiner alpenländischen Weltmusik längst bewiesen.

Hubert von Goisern wurde am 17. November 1952 als Hubert Achleitner geboren. Mit 22 Jahren ging er nach Südafrika und arbeitete dort als Chemielaborant. Später lebte er mit seiner ersten Frau, einer Kanadierin, in Toronto, wo er Musik studierte (dann in Wien). In Österreich gelang ihm mit den Alpinkatzen (Koa Hiatamadl) der Durchbruch. 1994: Ende der Alpinkatzen. 2000: Comeback mit Fön. Es folgte u.a. Trad. HvG gewann den Amadeus Music Award for Best National Artist Rock/Pop. Iwasig heißt sein neues Album. Hubert von Goisern ist heute verheiratet und hat zwei Kinder. Er lebt in Salzburg.