Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

TWO WINGS AWARD

Miscellaneous: 2005

Jane Goodall yodels with Hubert von Goisern

Wirtschaftsblatt 16th November 2005 | Text: Erich Gerbl

Award ceremony: World famous chimpanzee research scientist is honoured in the museum

Jane Goodall and Hubert von Goisern

(L-R) Bernd Lötsch, John McGregor, Sarvenas Enayati, Jane Goodall,
Gerhard Schweter and Hubert von Goisern

Vienna. It was the high point of the evening. The world famous primate research scientist Jane Goodall sang a duet with chimpanzee sounds with Hubert von Goisern. A friendship unites the pair. Hubert von Goisern became acquainted with Goodall during a snowstorm in his hometown.

However, it was not the musical interlude with which the Briton filled the Kuppelhalle of the Natural History Museum. The scientist and United Nations ambassador for peace was honoured for her engagement in Tanzania. The project founded by the Briton is called "Takare". It is a training programme for women and adolescents.

The Two Wings Award was given to the most important investigator of apes by the president of the Two Wings Network, Gerhard Schweter. Karl-Heinz Böhm and "Wüstenblume" Waris Dirie, who lives in Vienna, are among previous Two Wings Award prizewinners.

Goodall was in Austria for a prize-giving two years ago. At that time she received the state prize for environmentalism together with Bishop Kräutler. 

Vegetarian buffet

The British ambassador John McGregor outed himself as one of the many fans of the scientist. He called the Briton an "institution" who looks for the connection to the young. According to the motto "animals are my friends and I don't eat my friends" and as a sign of the deference to the charismatic scientist, Two Wings kept the concluding buffet meat-free.

Among the 200 guests were Guido Colard, chairman of the Partner Bank, Renate Csörgits, vice president of the ÖGB, Peter Dusek, president of Freunde der Wiener Staatsoper, Prince Alfred of Liechtenstein, the board of directors of the Partner Bank, Farmarz Ettehadieh with wife Bahia, Imperial Finanzgruppe, Sarvenas Enayati, chief executive of the Two Wings foundation, the Countesses Pia and Gabriele Herberstein, painter Maria Lahr, PR manager Eva Walderdorff, Peter Scheithauer from the M&A Bank and host Bernd Lötsch.

Two Wings Award 2005

Two Wings November 2005 | Photo: www.ebbf.org

Jane Goodall and Hubert von GoisernDr. Gerhard Schweter, President of the Two Wings Network, was able to welcome more than two hundred guests to the impressive ceremonial act in the Museum of Natural History in Vienna. 

After contributions from the Ambassador of Great Britain, John McGregor, and Prof. Dr. Bernd Lötsch (Director of the museum) and a reading by actress Mijou Kovacs, cosmopolitan and musician Hubert von Goisern recalled how he met and came to value Jane Goodall – incidentally, in a snow storm in Goisern.

The climax of the evening was surely the "duet" from Jane Goodall and Hubert von Goisern with chimpanzee sounds.

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

TWO WINGS AWARD

Vermischtes: 2005

Jane Goodall jodelt mit Hubert von Goisern

Wirtschaftsblatt 16. November 2005 | Text: Erich Gerbl

Preisverleihung: Weltbekannte Affenforscherin wird im Museum ausgezeichnet

Jane Goodall und Hubert von Goisern

(L-R) Bernd Lötsch, John McGregor, Sarvenas Enayati, Jane Goodall,
Gerhard Schweter und Hubert von Goisern

Wien. Es war der Höhepunkt des Abends. Die weltbekannte Primatenforscherin Jane Goodall hat mit Hubert von Goisern ein Duett mit Schimpansentönen angestimmt. Die beiden verbindet eine Freundschaft. Hubert von Goisern hat Goodall während eines Schneesturms in seinem Heimatort kennen gelernt.

Doch es war nicht die musikalische Einlage, mit der die Britin die Kuppelhalle des Naturhistorischen Museums füllte. Die Wissenschaftlerin und Friedensbotschafterin der Vereinten Nationen wurde für ihr Engagement in Tansania ausgezeichnet. "Takare" nennt sich das von der Britin gegründete Projekt. Dabei handelt es sich um ein Ausbildungsprogramm für Frauen und Jugendliche.

Der Two Wings Award wurde der bedeutendsten Erforscherin von Menschenaffen vom Präsidenten des Two Wings Networks, Gerhard Schweter, überreicht. Zu den bisherigen Two Wings Award-Preisträger zählen Karl-Heinz Böhm oder die in Wien lebende "Wüstenblume" Waris Dirie.

Schon vor zwei Jahren war Goodall wegen einer Preisverleihung in Österreich. Damals bekam sie zusammen mit Bischof Kräutler den Staatspreis für Umweltschutz. 

Vegetarisches Buffet

Als einer der vielen Fans der Wissenschafterin hat sich der britische Botschafter John McGregor geoutet. Er bezeichnet die Britin "als Institution", die den Draht zur Jugend suche. Gemäss dem Motto "Tiere sind meine Freunde, und ich esse meine Freunde nicht" und als Zeichen der Ehrerbietung für die charismatische Forscherin hat Two Wings das anschliessende Buffet fleischlos gehalten.

Zu den 200 Gästen zählten unter anderen Guido Colard, Vorstandschef der Partner Bank, Renate Csörgits, Vizepräsidentin des ÖGB, Peter Dusek, Präsident der Freunde der Wiener Staatsoper, Prinz Alfred von und zu Liechtenstein, Aufsichtsrat der Partner Bank, Farmarz Ettehadieh mit Gattin Bahia, Imperial Finanzgruppe, Sarvenas Enayati, Vorstandsvorsitzende der Two Wings Stiftung, die Gräfinnen Pia und Gabriele Herberstein, Malerin Maria Lahr, PR-Managerin Eva Walderdorff, Peter Scheithauer von der M&A Bank sowie Hausherr Bernd Lötsch.

Two Wings Award 2005

Two Wings November 2005 | Photo: www.ebbf.org

Jane Goodall und Hubert von GoisernMehr als 200 Gäste konnte Two Wings Network-Präsident Dr. Gerhard Schweter bei dem stimmungsvollen Festakt im Naturhistorischen Museum von Wien begrüßen.

Nach Ansprachen von Großbritanniens Botschafter John McGregor und Dr. Bernd Lötsch (Direktor des Museums) sowie einer Lesung von Mijou Kovacs, schilderte Weltbürger und Musiker Hubert von Goisern, wie er Jane Goodall - übrigens in einem Schneesturm in Goisern - kennen und schätzen lernte.

Höhepunkt des Abends war sicherlich das "Duett" von Jane Goodall und Hubert von Goisern mit Schimpansentönen.