Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

NANGA PARBAT

Nanga Parbat

16th December 2009

Nanga Parbat Two brothers. One mountain. Their fate. Even as children brothers Günther and Reinhold Messner shared the ambition of one day climbing the 8000 metre high "naked mountain", Nanga Parbat, in the Himalaya. Under the leadership of expedition head Dr. Karl Maria Herrligkoffer (Karl Markovics) they get their chance in 1970. At this point Reinhold Messner is 25 years old, his brother just 23. An international mountain-climbing elite is to conquer to the mountain on the legendary Rupal face.

After a warning of adverse weather Reinhold Messner (Florian Stetter) makes the decision to reach the peak of the mountain alone. The younger brother, who has less experience, follows Reinhold Messner. During the descent begins their fight for survival, Günther succumbing to altitude sickness. Only Reinhold returns to the valley alive ...

In cinemas from 14th January 2010.

From Salzburg to Los Angeles

16th December 2009 | Text & Photo: Hubert von Goisern
Hubert von Goisern, Anibal Kerpel and Gustavo Santaolalla

Hubert von Goisern with Anibal Kerpel and Gustavo Santaolalla in LA

it was the 24th october when the call from hollywood came.

sepp vilsmaier was in L.a. and had just commissioned the film music for his new film nanga parbat. he originally wanted me to compose it, but i was still on tour and had to turn him down due to lack of time. the soundtrack had now been produced by the 2-time oscar winner gustavo santaolalla and was as good as finished. only the music for the credits remained. and i was to create this with gustavo. i needed no persuasion.

4 days later i was sitting on the aeroplane, 4 days after that i was back home again. aside from my fingerprints, i also left a vocal print on a hard disk. the latter can be heard when you watch the film. like i said, the song comes during the final credits, but the wait is entertaining. it is an impressive film, with excellent acting and equally great mountain photography. it is a piece of mountain climbing history - the overcoming of the impossible and failure in triumph.

go see it!!!

hubert von goisern

The Soundtrack

The Nanga Parbat soundtrack by Gustavo Santaolalla - with song Where the Mountain Meets The Sky by Hubert von Goisern - will be released on 15th January 2010.
[Order at Amazon]

"The film music accompanies the images, alternately hard and tender, coming very close to sound design here, a soul drama of great dramatic impact. Vilsmaier wanted none of the muzak that many mountain films have, but no Nepalese folk music either. He got everything, even spirited music for the credits from alpine rocker Hubert von Goisern. It doesn't get any better."
Sven Ahnert, NDR 9th January 2010

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

NANGA PARBAT

Nanga Parbat

16. Dezember 2009

Nanga ParbatNANGA PARBAT: Zwei Brüder. Ein Berg. Ihr Schicksal. Schon als Kinder setzen sich die Brüder Günther und Reinhold Messner das Ziel, irgendwann den über 8.000 Meter hohen "nackten Berg", Nanga Parbat, im Himalaya, zu besteigen. Unter der Führung des Expeditionsleiters Dr. Karl Maria Herrligkoffer (Karl Markovics) bekommen sie 1970 die Chance. Reinhold Messner ist zu diesem Zeitpunkt 25 Jahre alt, sein Bruder erst 23. Auf der legendären Rupalwand will eine internationale Bergsteiger-Elite den Berg erobern.

Reinhold Messner (Florian Stetter) fasst nach einer Schlechtwetterwarnung den Entschluss die Bergspitze alleine zu erreichen. Der jüngere Bruder, Günther (Andreas Tobias), der über weniger Erfahrung verfügt, folgt Reinhold Messner. Beim Abstieg beginnt der Kampf ums überleben, Günther wird höhenkrank. Nur Reinhold kehrt lebend ins Tal zurück...

Kinostart ist am 14. Januar 2010.

Von Salzburg nach Los Angeles

16. Dezember 2009 | Text & Foto: Hubert von Goisern
Hubert von Goisern, Anibal Kerpel und Gustavo Santaolalla

Hubert von Goisern mit Anibal Kerpel und Gustavo Santaolalla in LA

es war am 24. oktober als der berüchtigte anruf aus hollywood kam.

sepp vilsmaier war gerade in L.A. er hatte dort die filmmusik zu seinem neuen film nanga parbat in auftrag gegeben. ursprünglich wollte er mich dafür gewinnen die musik zu gestalten aber ich war noch auf tour und musste aus zeitmangel ablehnen. der soundtrack war nun vom 2-fachen oscar preisträger gustavo santaolalla produziert worden und so gut wie fertig. es fehlte nur mehr die abspannmusik. diese sollte ich zusammen mit gustavo gestalte. es brauchte keine überredungskünste.

4 tage später saß ich im flieger, weitere 4 tage später war ich wieder zu hause. ausser meine fingerabdrücke, habe ich auf einer festplatte noch einen stimmabdruck hinterlassen. letzteren kann man hören wenn man sich den film anschaut. das lied kommt wie gesagt erst zum abspann, aber das warten ist kurzweilig. es ist ein eindrucksvoller film geworden, mit grossartigen schauspielleistungen und ebenso tollen bergaufnahmen. es ist ein stück bergersteigergeschichte - die überwindung des unmöglichen und das scheitern im triumph.

anschaun!!!

hubert von goisern

Der Soundtrack

Der Nanga Parbat-Soundtrack von Gustavo Santaolalla - mit dem Lied Where the Mountain Meets The Sky von Hubert von Goisern - erscheint am 15. Januar 2010.
[Bei Amazon bestellen]

"Im Wechsel von hart und zart begleitet die Filmmusik, die hier dem Sounddesign sehr nahe kommt, ein Seelendrama von dramatischer Wucht. Kein Gedudel wie bei vielen Bergfilmen wünschte sich Vilsmaier, aber auch keine nepalesische Folklore. Er bekam alles, am Ende auch eine schmissige Abspannmusik vom Alpenrocker Hubert von Goisern. Besser geht es nicht."
Sven Ahnert, NDR 9. Januar 2010