Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

GRENZENLOS TOUR 2003

GRENZENLOS 2003 >> Mohamed Mounir

Hubert von Goisern and Mohamed Mounir

ÄgyptenFollowing an invitation from the Goethe Institute in Cairo, Hubert von Goisern and his band toured Africa in 2002. In the Egyptian city of Assiut, he played a joint concert with the Nubian pop star Mohamed Mounir in front of an audience of more than 15,000 people. In 2003 the return invitation was made and Mohamed Mounir joined Hubert von Goisern for a three-week tour through Germany. The audience confirmed what the two artists had already discovered: music is a language that helps overcome cultural differences.

Superstar from Egypt on tour with Hubert von Goisern!

Virgin 16th June 2003

Mohamed Mounir is more than the most enigmatic figure of Egyptian pop heaven. He often performs controversial opinions on politics and philosophy with his thought through and therefore inevitably provocative lyrics. The former art student began his career in the Cairo of the 70s and advanced quickly to an outcast artist, but not without rubbing everyone up the wrong way. He became a synonym for a liberal way of thinking and the longing for reform with his music and its contents. And also here [in Germany] Mohamed Mounir has long been a term for a liberal-thinking Muslim and left intellectual, and at the same time a perfect example for the dialogue between cultures.

From 19th June to 6th July, the popular Nubian is touring with Hubert von Goisern. Goisern and Mounir will present their contribution to the subject of "intercultural dialogue" together - in the best sense of the word - and not as usual exclusively "one after the other". The decision to do this joint tour came about a year ago, immediately after a concert from the two, initiated by the Goethe Institute in the former fundamentalist stronghold of Assiut. More than 17,000 people proved what the two artists had already noticed for themselves: music is a language which helps to overcome the cultural differences. Now, more than a year later and more up-to-date than ever, the two international commuters are kick-starting the understanding between the Orient and Occident. Ambitious and more important than ever! - The press sees it the same way and is reacting with massive publicity for the tour and records.

Mohamed Mounir

www.hr-online.de | Photo: Zymner

Mohamed MounirMohamed Mounir was born in Aswan. His pop-oriented music unmistakably has its roots in the various genres of Arabic and African music. And his lyrics are without exception social and political, with which Mounir sees himself as a mouthpiece for the cultural and religious togetherness of the Orient and Occident. His music is also great to dance to: his songs are played with pleasure at weddings or other celebrations, and so Mounir is the darling of the Egyptian, secular-oriented youth.

Mounir, like Hubert von Goisern, has also gathered experiences in film: the film Destiny from Youssef Chahine, a prominent outsider in Egyptian cinema and at the same time its most internationally renowned representative, is a reckoning with the growing fundamentalism of his country. Mounir plays the singer Marwan from the 12th century, who escapes an attempted assassination by stirred up fanatics the first time, but succumbs the second time - a reference the Algerian Rai singer, but also Egyptian literary figures like Nagib Mahlus or Farag Foda.

After the attacks of 11th September, he brought out the album Earth ... Peace. The video to the title song Give Me Strength, O Messenger of God could not be shown on Egyptian television for a long time. Earlier this year (2003) Mohamed Mounir gave a concert in Berlin. "They are sad days for the whole of mankind," he says regarding the Iraq war. "But we are the majority. We are those who love peace, justice and music."

Mohamed Mounir: www.mohamedmounir.me


Discography

Buy online at Amazon.de
Roots & Routes

Roots & Routes
(Madad with HvG)

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

GRENZENLOS TOUR 2003

GRENZENLOS 2003 >> Mohamed Mounir

Hubert von Goisern und Mohamed Mounir

ÄgyptenEiner Einladung des Goethe-Instituts Kairo folgend, tourte Hubert von Goisern 2002 mit Band durch Afrika. Mit dem nubischen Popstar Mohamed Mounir spielte er im mittelägyptischen Assiut ein gemeinsames Konzert vor mehr als 15.000 Zuschauern. 2003 folgte die Gegeneinladung nach Europa und die beiden Musiker tourten drei Wochen gemeinsam durch Deutschland. Das Publikum bestätigte, was die beiden Künstler schon für sich entdeckt hatten: Die Musik ist eine Sprache, die kulturelle Unterschiede überwinden hilft.

Superstar aus Ägypten on Tour mit Hubert von Goisern!

Virgin 16. Juni 2003

Mohamed Mounir ist mehr als die schillerndste Gestalt des ägyptischen Pophimmels. Mit seinen durchdachten und damit zwangsläufig auch provokanten Texten gibt er seine oftmals kontroversen Ansichten zur Politik und Philosophie wieder. Seine Karriere begann der ehemalige Kunststudent im Kairo der 70er und avancierte rasch, doch nicht ohne anzuecken, zum geachteten Künstler. Mit seiner Musik und deren Inhalten wurde er zum Synonym für eine liberale Denkweise und der Sehnsucht nach Reform. Und auch hierzulande ist Mohamed Mounir liberal denkende Muslime und linke Intellektuelle schon längst ein Begriff und zugleich Inbegriff für den Dialog zwischen den Kulturen.

Vom 19. Juni bis 6. Juli tourt der populäre Nubier mit Hubert von Goisern. Gemeinsam - im besten Sinn des Wortes - und nicht wie gemeinhin üblich ausschließlich "nacheinander" - werden Goisern / Mounir ihren Beitrag zum Thema "Interkultureller Dialog" vorstellen. Die Entscheidung zu dieser gemeinsamen Tournee fiel vor rund einem Jahr, unmittelbar nach einem vom Goethe Institut initiierten Konzert der beiden in der ehemaligen Fundamentalisten-Hochburg Assuit. Nun, mehr als ein Jahr später und aktueller denn je, treten die beiden Grenzgänger zur Verständigung zwischen Orient und Okzident an. Anspruchsvoll und wichtiger denn je! - Die Presse sieht's genauso reagiert mit massiver Publicity auf Tournee und Tonträger.

Mohamed Mounir

www.hr-online.de | Foto: Zymner

Mohamed MounirMohamed Mounir ist in Aswan aufgewachsen. Seine poporientierte Musik hat unverkennbar ihre Wurzeln in den verschiedensten Genres arabischer und afrikanischer Musik. Und seine Texte sind durchweg gesellschaftsbezogen und politisch, wobei sich Mounir als Sprachrohr der kulturellen und religiösen Gemeinsamkeiten von Orient und Okzident sieht. Zu seiner Musik lässt es sich auch prima tanzen: Seine Songs werden in Ägypten gern bei Hochzeiten oder zu anderen Feiern eingesetzt, und so ist Mounir der Liebling der ägyptischen, säkulär orientierten Jugend.

Mounir hat, wie Hubert von Goisern, auch Erfahrungen beim Film gesammelt: Der Film Das Schicksal von Youssef Chahine, prominenter Außenseiter des ägyptischen Kinos und zugleich dessen international bekanntester Repräsentant, ist eine Abrechnung mit dem anwachsenden Fundamentalismus seines Landes. Mounir spielt den im 12. Jahrhundert lebenden Sänger Marwan, der einem Mordanschlag verhetzter Fanatiker beim ersten Mal noch entgeht, beim zweiten Mal erliegt - ein Verweis auf das Schicksal algerischer Rai-Sänger, aber auch ägyptischer Literaten wie Nagib Mahlus oder Farag Foda.

Nach dem Anschlag vom 11. September brachte er das Album Earth... Peace heraus. Das Video zu dem Titelsong Give Me Strength, O Messenger of God durfte lange Zeit nicht im ägyptischen Fernsehen übertragen werden. Vor ein paar Tagen gab Mohamed Mounir in Berlin ein Konzert. "Es sind traurige Tage für die gesamte Menschheit", sagte er in bezug auf den Irak-Krieg. "Aber wir sind die Mehrheit. Wir sind diejenigen, die Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und die Musik lieben."

Mohamed Mounir: www.mohamedmounir.me


Diskografie

Bestellen Sie bei Amazon.de
Roots & Routes

Roots & Routes
(Madad mit HvG)