Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

HvG

Hubert von Goisern in Mali: Waiting for Timbuktu

June 2005 | Text: Hubert von Goisern | Photos: Bernhard Flieher

Hubert von Goisern in MaliMali had been on the bill back in 2002, together with Senegal, Burkina Faso, the Cape Verde islands and the Ivory Coast. But you don't always get what you want, certainly not in Africa. Apart from that, as the Dalai Lama said, "sometimes it's good when you don't get what you want". Or as it says just as appropriately in a song by the Stones?

"you can't always get what you want,
but if you try some, you get what you need"

So at the end of 2004 I got what I needed: an invitation to the Festival au Desert 2005, northwest of Timbuktu, at the beginning of January 2005. At the same time, I wanted (and want) to withdraw in 2005 and 2006 and release myself from everything one understands as "public". On the other hand, at the end of a 5 years touring and production phase, playing my (?) music in the desert of Essakane one last time was too appealing, and I can just go by the Tibetan calendar, where the new year does not begin until February...

When Africa has you, it doesn't let you go.

Africa - cradle of humanity - beginning of everything;
and the end too, because it is said that the end of the world is in Timbuktu.

Africa - it's like a great love that is often not reciprocated (at least so it seems to me); a test for the fortitude of my ideals and dreams, my Utopia of a global, solid, respectful society.

Always when I wrongly believe myself to be at the end of my capacity for love: gifts. Africa is that too.
But I don't want gifts, I want justice. I am also against the "presents" that go to Africa, in the form of weapons, credits, development aid etc - I am not against gifts in general, but when the relationship is not even, the recipient loses their feeling of self worth - they are ashamed and humbled.

We (?) only need to pay appropriate prices for the resources which are stolen every day from this continent (and other Third World countries).

The colonialism and proselytising is like the Third Reich. One is ashamed of others.

Africa - chosen, exploited and bled to death by adventurers, fraudsters and slave traders. In the name of God, in Allah's as in Christ's. Buddha has not (yet) come to Africa. Or has he?

Europe / Munich. At the airport, Air France are the first to hold out their hands. We are 11 passengers and have about 8kg per person too much. Debating doesn't help, despite original promises of not having to pay excess baggage for instruments and equipment, we must cough up €1400. I float the idea of turning around. Embarrassed faces on my travelling companions. I pay. In Mali I discover from holidaymakers (!), who also flew with Air France, that they only had to pay €10 per kg. Memories of my West Africa tour in 2002 surface. There was no accommodation for musicians back then either - on the contrary. The thought occurs that as a non-Francophone artist, one is not wanted in the sovereign territory of the grand nation. For that is how one views West Africa from Paris. Not a nice thought, so I push it aside, there it waits for the next opportunity.

Once we are finally sitting in the aeroplane, I have an unpleasant feeling. I hope that it isn't an omen, but rather just worry. I conquer it. It is the daily conflict with thoughts of security, with comfort, with lethargy ...

After two glasses of red wine I am resigned to my destiny and can now only feel the anticipation of the adventure that lies ahead of me. What comes will come, inshallah - your will be done!

While we glide over the Iberian peninsula in the setting sun, I see Che Guevara's Motorcycle Diaries on the screen in front of me - here too: despite injustice and adversity, the freedom of travelling prevails. So it should.

As we fly over Marrakech, the western horizon is now only an unending long, dark red line over which the seemingly motionless aeroplane hangs. Weightless like my thoughts.

Next morning - Bamako - din, dust, dirt, heat, endless traffic jams. But everyone seems relaxed. I follow their example, slow my steps and also my thoughts.

The first hurdle is to sort out the transport to Timbuktu and on to the festival. Despite arrangements made by phone and in writing, everything is different. The organiser, Mohamed Ali Ansar, presents a bill which goes into thousands of Euros. The festival has no money, sponsors have backed out, the costs are exploding etc. We are in Africa, everything is negotiable, everybody tries to line their own pockets as well as they can.

"All highwaymen and tramps," asserts a European who has lived in Mali for 25 years. I ask him why he's still there. There would be no going back for him. There isn't for anybody. Time and again we must all summon the courage to look forward and to step forward, and to leave something behind us - sometimes the end itself. There are dishonest people everywhere, in every nation, in every class.

Whoever says that poor people are more honest than rich is lying to himself.

It is not dishonourable to have someone over the barrel. You earn respect through dogged bargaining. But I have only just arrived, the climate change, the malaria prophylaxis, the sleep deprivation ... and apart from that, I don't like haggling, in my eyes it is worthless to demand more than necessary and to pay less than demanded.

I am distracted and exhausted. Tiredness and disinterest envelop me. I feel it and see it in Ali's eyes that he is dropping me in it. He knows I've come too far to want to turn round. What should I do? I want to play. And tomorrow the flight goes to Timbuktu I have to decide quickly and so I persuade myself that everything will even out, that there is also a karmic justice in Africa, or something like it. I pay.

One day later. We should actually already be in the air, but a sandstorm came up in the night. It is 10am. I have dropped the malaria prophylaxis and feel better. We hang around in the hotel lobby with our instruments and everything you need to overnight in the desert; water containers, sleeping bags, warm clothes, torches etc.

It should clear in the afternoon. We go to the airport and check in.

The wind and visibility is only imperceptibly better and the Kirghiz pilot refuses to take off. There is hectic telephoning because a government official who is also on the flight doesn't think it's so bad and tries to put pressure on the pilot via some governmental department. Images of Flight of the Phoenix shoot through my head. The pilot evades further discussions by simply going home. I like him.

---

A new day, a new attempt. This time it works. With us in the 30-seater aeroplane are Habib Koite and his musicians. If we crash over the desert, we could start up a super session in Nirvana. The machine is brimful. Pieces of luggage and instruments tower in the luggage rack and between the seats. The Russian flight attendant nevertheless climbs ably over all obstacles with her tray and serves hot tea and coffee. One of the few Europeans asks, with British politeness, for herbal tea, which of course isn't available. The same person is later seen in the desert camp trying in vain to get something vegetarian to eat.

After a one and half hour flight through a red and yellow sky, over a red and yellow landscape without contours, the undercarriage rumbles over the runway of Timbuktu. After another luggage orgy we continue with jeeps. First of all there are more discussions with the drivers wanting the money for their services that has already been taken from us by festival management in Bamako. The next day, we discover that they were fobbed off too. (It's said that suffering shared is suffering halved - and there's something in that.)

Hubert von Goisern's tentThe 70km journey is an experience in itself, there are no roads, just a track and sometimes not even that. The Landcruiser wallows in shifting sands, jumps over dunes, bangs into holes that suddenly appear, whipped by undergrowth we speed past scattered camels, herds of goats and herdsmen. At 2pm we are at our destination. Among the dunes stands a sand-coloured tent city and a little apart from it, the festival stage. We ask around until someone looks after us and allocates the sleeping places, two tents, which each sleep 4 (comfortably) to 5 (uncomfortably) people. But there are 12 of us! Then the next "slaps": although it is planned for the following day, and is likewise communicated on all advertisements, we are to play in 5 hours at 7pm.

I am too exhausted to put up any resistance. So we go to work and set up. The equipment is so desolate that we can only practise damage limitation. It borders on a miracle that my technicians, Spani, Balou and Hannes get the whole lot to play.
The concert itself lasts an hour. It buzzes, hisses, rattles and bangs away, there's always something missing, cutting out again and again, at times the bass, then the vocals or the accordion, we as good as can't hear each other and I needed all my concentration to hold the band together. With the best will in the world, I couldn't enjoy it. It was enough to make you want to run away.

Later in the night, I lie in the sand and look to the stars. It is the same sky as at home, just another detail, it is the same world just another continent. The question of what I'm doing here doesn't arise. I am there. That's the way it is. That's that!
The next day I use the time look around. People approach me, speak to us, both Tuaregs and Europeans, to thank and congratulate us. They thought the music was wonderful and the sound(!) - incredible, it was apparently the best of the whole festival.

Have I the right to be unhappy?

Yes, just as much as I have the right to bang my head against a wall. Nothing comes from it but a bruise.

Nevertheless, during an interview for Mali TV, I don't hold back with my criticism of the organisation. But I am, thank God, not the only one for whom the festival is suspicious. The American singer Dee Dee Bridgewater, as well as Mali's superstars Ali Farka Toure and Salif Keita have not come, despite being prominently advertised. Their names are nevertheless shamelessly advertised to the very last.
Only Marlene, my violinist, is unreservedly keen. But that's probably down to the fact that wherever she appears, half a dozen Tuaregs lie at her feet, one carries her bag, one her violin, one brings her food ...

The high point of the final evening is Desert Blues, a kind of Mali Allstar band with Habib Koite. Music like the landscape from which it grew - soft, repetitive, and yet always lightly varied, seemingly endless melodic arcs, performed with natural virtuosity and musical passion.

The next morning at sunrise we dismantle the tent and back we go through the disorienting landscape to Timbuktu.

At the airport, Ali Ansar confronts me with an additional demand. €200 still has to be paid for petrol. Now my chain breaks. I get an interpreter and have it repeatedly translated that I consider him a fraudster, dishonest and incompetent, and that he is a disgrace to the festival, his country and his people ... Without contradiction, he forgoes any further money and says he is too exhausted to want to discuss it any further and moves away in a sulk. As we go across the taxiway to the plane a little later, he holds his hand out to me with a smile, thanks me and wishes me a good journey. Astonishingly, a light-footed "au revoir" escapes me. See you again?

---

Bamako - I lie on the bed and listen. Street sounds, sheep bleating, the buzz of the air-conditioning, a train goes past ... disappointment in my heart, exhaustion in my limbs, blankness in my mind. When we entered the air-conditioned airport hall in Bamako, the bassist from the Desert Blues band, a local, said: "back to civilisation, thank God!" I don't share his relief. I would love to have remained up in the desert. But we still have another three days in Mali. This can't be it yet. Annoyed, I turn the air-conditioning off and get up. As I look out of the window at the street traders I have an idea, or rather, I have two. I ring the number of the Austrian consul.

A little later at the bar, over a glass of Pastice, I ask him to organise a club in which we could play the evening after next, without a fee, just for food and drink. And - I want to meet Kele Tigi, the brilliant balaphone player and excellent violinist. He had already attracted my attention at the festival, on the return flight we sat next to each other and exchanged a few words. He lives in Bamako and I want to ask him to play with us.

The next morning, we embark on our search. We ask around until we reach his house. We talk a little about the key and tuning of the instruments. Both, his balaphone and my accordion too, are diatonic. I begin to play a Steirer - he pricks up his ears, listens a while and out of nothing begins to play the craziest things to it, it works like a dream. He agrees to come to "Akwaba" the next evening and asks if there is a fee, he has 40 people to support. I tell him no, we are not getting paid either, but I promise to come up with something.

It was a wonderful evening. Even Mali TV came and recorded the concert. And at the end when we gave Kele a mutton as a present, which he took home with him strapped to his instrument in the open boot of his taxi, the final tension released. Finally something like accord and harmony with the country which we had already been travelling for ten days.

After a very short night it came to packing and departure.

The goodbye meal took place in a restaurant with live music. And there, unexpectedly, what I have always dreamed of happened. We were just paying and making a move when completely unspectacularly and almost incidentally, an unbelievable band began to play. They played a blues like I have never heard before and which was yet at the same time so familiar and expressed exactly what I was feeling. All my worries, hopes, joys and doubts became sounds. Without thinking, I unpacked my accordion one last time, went to the microphone and embraced the whole world singing and dancing.

Au revoir - I'll be coming again!

Hubert von Goisern

P.S. Sand or snow, dunes or glacial ice - Tuaregs or Saamis, camels or reindeer, heat or cold - everything has an opposite and an equal. Everything is rhizomatous - scattered but hanging together, connected to each other.

You find sand from the Sahara in the Dachstein glacier too - accordingly, our music in the desert; like a scattered seed which only briefly shows its bloom in one night.

I want to go back there! I want to go to Mali again. That can't have been it.

I don't know when and under which circumstances - perhaps new seeds were sown, by us or within us - and are just waiting for a few drops of water;

Water of curiosity,
Water of affection,
Water of friendship,
Water of love.

P.P.S.: Warten auf Timbuktu (Waiting for Timbuktu) is also the name of the film of our adventure in Mali. It will be out in the autumn.


Timbuktu

Appendix: Timbuktu - or, as it is written here: Tombouctou, lay not too long ago by the Niger river, which now runs 15km south. Loam-smeared, two-storey houses, built directly onto the sand, which also serves as the floor on the bottom storey. Three mosques, the oldest of which was built in 1325, serve as orientation when exploring the confusing, narrow, crooked alleys, through which motorbikes without number plates meander from time to time, even one car or another rumbles through the sleepy city.

For centuries Timbuktu was the centre of learning and trade, point of departure and terminal for all the caravans through the Sahara, collection point for the goods which came from the far north of the great desert, from the Mediterranean countries, as well as goods from central Africa. In the 11th century, the area was converted by the Almoravides (Islamic reformists) and Muslim dealers.

At the high point of the kingdom of Mali, in 1224, the regent at that time, "Kankan (Mansa) Moussa", went on a pilgrimage, a Hajj to Mecca. With no fewer than 60,000 men, each loaded with a gold bar, he moved northeast. In Cairo he paid the Sultan a visit and spent some much gold that the Egyptian gold market completely fell apart and needed 10 years to recover. So it is no wonder that 150 years ago, the story went that houses in Timbuktu were gilded inside and out. Attracted by such stories, there were time and again attempts by European adventurers and travellers to penetrate Timbuktu.

The first to manage it was a Scot: Major Alexander Gordon Laing. As boldly as arrogantly, he reached the city steeped in legend in 1826, in British uniform, with silk stockings, white breeches and a gold braided jacket, he stayed a few weeks and was killed on his return journey by nomadic Tuaregs, who supposedly felt threatened when he went bird-hunting with his rifle.

In the meantime, the French geographical society promised 10,000 Francs to he who managed to make it to Timbuktu. One who wanted to know it was René Chaillié, he spent 9 months on the Senegal river in order to study the Koran and Arabic and reached his destination - "a depressing city of badly built loam huts" - disguised as a Muslim in 1828. Back in Paris, he was on the one hand showered with honours, but they did not want to believe his achievement, as it did not fit with the romantic world view at that time. Sceptics even alleged that he had never even been in Timbuktu. He died, not yet 40 years old, from the strains of the journey.

Heinrich Barth, a German in the service of the British government, also brought personal tidings from Timbuktu, which he reached in September 1853, in the course of his 5 year crossing of the Sahara. He stayed 8 months, learned Tamashek, the language of the Tuaregs, studied the old Arabic writings that lie in the Koran schools and finally by a miracle escaped an assassination attempt by a group of fighters. When their leader suddenly and mysteriously died just before the assassination, nobody dared question Barth's presence any more. His reputation is untouched to this day and the house in which he lived is now a museum.

HvG

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

HvG

Hubert von Goisern in Mali: Warten auf Timbuktu

Juni 2005 | Text: Hubert von Goisern | Fotos: Bernhard Flieher

Hubert von Goisern in MaliMali stand schon 2002 auf dem Zettel, zusammen mit Senegal, Burkina Faso, den Kapverdischen Inseln und Elfenbeinküste. Aber man kriegt nicht immer alles was man haben möchte, schon gar nicht in Afrika. Ausserdem, wie sagte der Dalai Lama, "manchmal ist es gut wenn man nicht das bekommt was man haben möchte." Oder wie heißt es ebenfalls treffend in einem Lied der Stones?

"you can't always get what you want,
but if you try some, you get what you need."

Ende 2004 habe ich also bekommen was ich gebraucht habe: eine Einladung zum Festival au Desert 2005, nordwestlich von Timbuktu, Anfang Jänner 2005. Dabei wollte (und will) ich mich 2005 und 2006 zurückziehen und ausklinken aus allem was man unter "Öffentlichkeit" versteht. Andererseits, zum Abschluss einer 5 Jahre dauernden Tournee- und Produktionsphase, in der Wüste von Essakane ein letztes mal meine(?) Musik zu spielen war zu reizvoll, und ich kann ja nach dem tibetischen Kalender gehen, wo das neue Jahr erst im Februar beginnt...

Wenn Afrika dich einmal hat lässt es dich nicht mehr los.

Afrika - Wiege der Menschheit - Anfang von allem;
und auch Ende, denn das Ende der Welt so sagt man, sei in Timbuktu.

Afrika - das ist wie eine große Liebe, die oft nicht erwidert wird (jedenfalls scheint es mir so); eine Prüfung für die Standhaftigkeit meiner Ideale und Träume, meiner Utopie von einer globalen, solidarischen, respektvollen Gesellschaft.

Immer dann, wenn ich mich am Ende meiner Liebesfähigkeit wähne: Geschenke. Auch das ist Afrika.

Ich will aber keine Geschenke, ich will Gerechtigkeit. Ich bin auch gegen jene "Geschenke" die nach Afrika gehen, in Form von Waffen, Krediten, Entwicklungshilfen usw. - Ich bin nicht generell gegen Geschenke, aber wenn das Verhältnis nicht ausgeglichen ist, wird der Beschenkte sein Selbstwertgefühl verlieren - er wird beschämt und erniedrigt.

Wir(?) brauchen nur angemessene Preise für jene Ressourcen zahlen, welche diesem Kontinent (und anderen 3. Weltländern) täglich gestohlen werden.

Mit dem Kolonialismus und der Missionierung ist es wie mit dem Dritten Reich. Man schämt sich für andere.

Afrika - von Abenteurern, Betrügern und Menschenhändlern auserwählt, ausgebeutet und ausgeblutet. Im Namen Gottes - Allahs wie Christus'. Buddha kam (noch) nicht bis Afrika. Oder doch?

Europa/München - Am Flughafen, Air-France sind die ersten, die die Hand aufhalten. Wir sind 11 Passagiere und haben etwa 8 kg pro Person zu viel. Alles diskutieren hilft nichts, wir müssen, trotz ursprünglicher Zusage für Instrumente und Equipment kein Übergepäck bezahlen zu müssen, €1400,-- löhnen. Ich stelle die Möglichkeit in den Raum umzukehren. Betretene Gesichter bei meinen Mitreisenden. Ich zahle. In Mali erfahre ich von Urlaubern(!), sie hätten, ebenfalls bei Air France, nur € 10,- pro kg bezahlen müssen. Erinnerungen an meine Westafrika Tournee 2002 kommen hoch. Auch damals kein Entgegenkommen für Musiker - im Gegenteil. Der Gedanke drängt sich auf, man ist als nichtfrankophoner Künstler unerwünscht im Hoheitsgebiet der grande Nation. Denn als solches betrachtet man West Afrika von Paris aus. Kein schöner Gedanke, also schieb ich ihn zur Seite, dort lauert er auf die nächste Gelegenheit.

Als wir endlich im Flieger sitzen hab ich ein ungutes Gefühl. Ich hoffe, dass es keine Ahnung ist sondern nur Angst. Ich überwinde sie. Es ist der tägliche Konflikt mit dem Sicherheitsdenken, der Bequemlichkeit, der Lethargie...

Nach zwei Gläsern Rotwein bin ich schicksalsergeben und spüre nur mehr das Kribbeln des Abenteuers das vor mir liegt. Es mag kommen was kommen muss, inshallah - dein Wille geschehe!

Während wir in der untergehenden Sonne über die Iberische Halbinsel gleiten sehe ich am Bildschirm vor mir Che Guevaras Motorcycle Diaries - auch hier: trotz Unbill und Widrigkeiten überwiegt die Freiheit des Unterwegsseins. So soll es sein.

Als wir über Marakesch fliegen ist der westliche Horizont nur mehr ein unendlich langer, dunkelroter Strich über dem scheinbar bewegungslos das Flugzeug hängt. Schwerelos wie meine Gedanken.

Nächster Morgen - Bamako - Lärm, Staub, Schmutz, Hitze, Verkehrsstaus ohne Ende. Aber alle wirken entspannt. Ich nehme mir ein Beispiel, verlangsame meine Schritte und auch mein Denken.

Als erste Hürde gilt es, den Transport nach Timbuktu und weiter bis zum Festival zu klären. Trotz telefonischer und auch schriftlicher Abmachungen ist alles anders. Der Organisator, Mohamed Ali Ansar, stellt eine Rechnung, die in die tausende Euro geht. Das Festival hat kein Geld, Sponsoren seien abgesprungen, die Kosten explodiert usw. Wir sind in Afrika, alles ist verhandelbar, jeder versucht so gut es geht in seine Tasche zu arbeiten.

"Alles Wegelagerer und Strauchdiebe." Behauptet ein Europäer, der seit 25 Jahren in Mali lebt. Warum er dann noch da sei, frage ich ihn. Es gäbe kein zurück mehr für ihn. Das gibt's für niemand. Wir müssen alle immer wieder den Mut fassen nach vorn zu blicken und nach vorn zu schreiten, und etwas hinter uns lassen - manchmal das Ende selbst.

Unehrliche Menschen gibt es überall, in jedem Volk, in jeder Bevölkerungsschicht. Wer sagt, dass arme Menschen ehrlicher sind als reiche, der belügt sich selbst.

Es ist nicht unehrenhaft, jemanden über den Tisch zu ziehen. Respekt verschafft man sich durch zähes Feilschen. Aber ich bin erst angekommen, der Klimawechsel, die Malariaprofilaxe, der Schlafmangel ... und ausserdem mag ich nicht Handeln, es ist in meinen Augen unwürdig, mehr als notwendig zu verlangen oder weniger als verlangt zu zahlen.

Ich bin fahrig und erschöpft. Müdigkeit und Desinteresse umhüllen mich. Ich spüre und sehe es in den Augen von Ali, dass er mich auflaufen lässt. Er weiß, ich bin zu weit gekommen um jetzt umdrehen zu wollen. Was soll ich machen? Ich will spielen. Und morgen geht der Flug nach Timbuktu. Ich muss mich schnell entscheiden, und so rede ich mir ein, dass schon alles seine Richtigkeit haben wird, dass es auch in Afrika eine karmische Gerechtigkeit gibt, oder so was in der Art. Ich zahle.

---

Einen Tag später. Eigentlich sollten wir schon in der Luft sein, aber in der Nacht kam ein Sandsturm auf. Es ist 10h morgens. Ich habe die Malariaprofilaxe abgesetzt und fühle mich besser. Wir hängen in der Hotellobby herum mit unseren Instrumenten und allem was man zum Übernachten in der Wüste braucht; Wasserbehälter, Schlafsäcke, warme Kleidung, Taschenlampen etc.

Nachmittags soll es aufklaren. Wir fahren zum Airport und checken ein.

Es wird nur unmerklich besser mit dem Wind und Sicht und der kirgisische Pilot weigert sich abzuheben. Es wird hektisch telefoniert, denn irgendein Regierungs-Beamter der auch mitfliegt, findet das alles nicht so schlimm und versucht über irgendein Ministerium Druck auf den Piloten auszuüben. Bilder vom Flug der Phönix schießen durch meinen Kopf. Der Pilot entzieht sich weiterer Diskussionen indem er einfach nach Hause fährt. Ich mag ihn.

Ein neuer Tag, ein neuer Versuch. Diesmal klappts. Mit uns im 30 sitzigen Flugzeug Habib Koite mit seinen Musikern. Sollten wir über der Wüste abstürzen, könnten wir im Nirvana eine super Session anreissen. Die Maschine ist übervoll. In den Ablagen und am Gang zwischen den Sitzen türmen sich Gepäckstücke und Instrumente. Die russische Flugbegleiterin klettert trotzdem geschickt mit ihrem Tablett über alle Hindernisse und serviert heissen Tee und Kaffee. Einer der wenigen Europäer bittet mit britischer Höflichkeit um Kräutertee, den es natürlich nicht gibt. Derselbe wird später im Wüstencamp gesehen wie er sich, ebenfalls vergeblich, um vegetarisches Essen bemüht.

Nach eineinhalb Stunden Flug durch einen rot-gelben Himmel über einer rot-gelben konturlosen Landschaft, rumpelt das Fahrwerk über die Landebahn von Timbuktu.

Nach einer weiteren Pack- und Stapelorgie geht es mit Jeeps weiter. Vorher gibt es noch Diskussionen mit den Fahrern, die das vom Festival-Management bereits in Bamako von uns kassierte Geld für ihre Dienste haben wollen. Am nächsten Tag erfahren wir, dass man auch sie geprellt hatte. (Geteiltes Leid ist halbes Leid heißt es - und da ist was dran)

Hubert von Goiserns ZeltDie 70 km lange Fahrt ist ein Erlebnis für sich, es gibt keine Strasse, nur eine Piste und manchmal nicht einmal das. Der Landcruiser wühlt sich durch Treibsand, springt über Dünen, knallt in plötzlich auftauchende Löcher, gepeitscht von Dornengestrüpp rasen wir vorbei an vereinzelten Kamelen, Ziegenherden und Hirten. Um 14h sind wir am Ziel. Mitten in den Dünen steht eine sandfarbene Zeltstadt und etwas abseits davon die Festivalbühne. Wir fragen uns durch bis sich jemand unserer annimmt und die Schlafplätze zuweist, 2 Zelte in denen je 4 (bequem) bis 5 (unbequem) Personen schlafen können. Wir sind aber 12! Dann die nächste "Watschen", obwohl für den nächsten Tag geplant, und auf allen Ankündigungen ebenso kommuniziert, sollen wir in 5 Stunden spielen, um 19h.

Ich bin zu erschöpft um Widerstand zu leisten. Also gehen wir ans Werk und bauen auf. Die Anlage ist derart desolat, dass wir nur mehr Schadensbegrenzung betreiben können. Es grenzt an ein Wunder, dass meine Techniker, Spani, Balou und Hannes, den Krempel zum Spielen bringen.

Das Konzert selber dauert eine Stunde. Es brummte, zischte, knatterte und krachte in einem fort, irgendwas fehlte immer, setzte zwischendrin immer wieder aus, mal der Bass, dann die Stimme oder die Zieharmonika, wir hörten uns gegenseitig so gut wie überhaupt nicht und ich brauchte alle meine Konzentration um die Band zusammenzuhalten. Ich konnte es beim besten Willen nicht genießen. Es war zum Davonlaufen.

Später in der Nacht liege ich im Sand und blicke zu den Sternen. Es ist derselbe Himmel wie zu Hause, nur ein anderer Ausschnitt, es ist die selbe Welt, nur ein anderer Kontinent. Die Frage, was ich hier soll, stellt sich gar nicht. Ich bin da. So ist es. So soll es sein. Basta!

Am nächsten Tag nütze ich die Zeit mich umzuhören und -zuschauen. Leute kommen auf mich zu, sprechen uns an, Tuaregs wie Europäer, um sich zu bedanken und zu gratulieren. Sie fanden die Musik wunderbar, und auch den Sound(!) - unfassbar, es soll der beste des ganzen Festivals gewesen sein.

Hab ich überhaupt das Recht unzufrieden zu sein?

Ja, genauso wie ich das Recht habe mit meinem Kopf gegen eine Wand zu rennen. Es kommt nur nichts dabei heraus, ausser einer Beule.

Bei einem Interview für Mali-TV halte ich dennoch meine Kritik an der Organisation nicht zurück. Aber ich bin Gott sei Dank nicht der Einzige dem das Festival verdächtig ist. Die amerikanische Sängerin Dee Dee Bridgewater sowie Malis Superstars Ali Farka Toure und Salif Keita sind, obwohl groß angekündigt, gar nicht erst angereist. Dennoch wirbt man schamlos bis zuletzt mit ihren Namen.

Nur Marlene, meine Geigerin, ist vorbehaltlos begeistert. Aber das liegt vielleicht daran, dass wo immer sie auftaucht ihr ein halbes Dutzend Tuaregs zu Füssen liegen, einer trägt ihre Tasche, einer die Geige, einer bringt ihr Essen...

Höhepunkt des letzten Abends ist Desert Blues, eine Art Mali Allstar Band um und mit Habib Koite. Musik, wie die Landschaft aus der sie wuchs - weiche, repetative und doch immer leicht veränderte, endlos scheinende Melodiebögen, mit selbstverständlicher Virtuosität und musikalischer Lust vorgetragen.

Nächsten Morgen, zu Sonnenaufgang brechen wir die Zelte ab und zurück geht's durch die orientierungslose Landschaft nach Timbuktu.

Am Flughafen konfrontiert mich Ali Ansar mit einer zusätzlichen Forderung. €200,- seien noch für Sprit zu zahlen. Jetzt reisst mir der Faden. Ich hol mir einen Dolmetscher und lasse wiederholt übersetzen, dass ich ihn für einen Betrüger halte, für unehrlich und inkompetent, und dass er dem Festival, seinem Land und seinem Volk Schande bereite...

Ohne Widerrede verzichtet er auf weiteres Geld, meint er sei zu erschöpft um weiter diskutieren zu wollen, hat plötzlich Kopfschmerzen und zieht schmollend von dannen.

Als wir wenig später über das Rollfeld zum Flieger gehen, steht er wieder da, streckt mir lächelnd die Hand entgegen, bedankt sich und wünscht mir eine gute Reise. Erstaunlicherweise entkommt mir ein leichtfüssiges "au revoir".
Auf wiedersehen?

---

Bamako - ich liege am Bett und lausche. Strassengeräusche, Schafblöken, das Surren der Klimaanlage, ein Zug fährt vorbei..., in meinem Herzen Enttäuschung, in meinen Gliedern Erschöpfung, in meinem Kopf Verständnislosigkeit. Als wir die klimatisierte Flughafenhalle in Bamako betraten sagte der Bassist der Desert-Blues Band, also ein Hiesiger: "back to civilisation, thank God!" Ich teile seine Erleichterung nicht. Ich wäre gerne noch oben in der Wüste geblieben. Aber wir haben ja noch drei Tage in Mali. Das kann's noch nicht gewesen sein. Genervt schalte ich die Aircondition aus und steh auf. Als ich durchs Fenster auf die Strassenhändler blicke habe ich eine Idee, d.h. eigentlich zwei. Ich rufe die Telefonnummer des österreichischen Konsuls.

Wenig später an der Bar, über einem Glas Pastice, bitte ich ihn, einen Club zu organisieren in dem wir spielen könnten, ohne Gage, nur für Essen und Trinken, übermorgen abend. Und - ich möchte Kele Tigi treffen, den genialen Balafonspieler und ausgezeichneten Geiger. Er war mir schon am Festival aufgefallen, beim Rückflug saßen wir nebeneinander und tauschten ein paar Worte aus. Er lebt in Bamako und ich möchte ihn bitten mitzuspielen.

Am nächsten Morgen begeben wir uns auf die Suche. Wir fragen uns durch bis zu seinem Haus. Wir reden ein bisschen über Tonarten und Stimmungen der Instrumente. Beide, sein Balafon wie auch meine Zieharmonika, sind diatonisch. Ich beginne einen Steirer zu spielen - er spitzt seine Ohren, hört eine Weile zu und fängt dann an, aus dem Nichts die verrücktesten Sachen dazuzuspielen, es klappt wie im Traum. Er erklärt sich bereit am nächsten Abend in's "Akwaba" zu kommen und fragt ob es denn eine Gage gäbe, er hätte 40 Leute zu ernähren. Ich verneine, wir bekämen ja auch nicht bezahlt, versprach aber, mir etwas einfallen zu lassen.

Es wurde ein wunderbarer Abend. Sogar Mali-TV kam vorbei und zeichnete das Konzert auf. Und als wir Kele am Ende einen Hammel als Geschenk überreichten, den er, angebunden an sein Instrument, im offenen Kofferraum seines Taxi mit nach Hause nahm, löste sich die letzte Spannung. Endlich so was wie Einklang und Harmonie mit dem Land, in dem wir bereits seit 10 Tagen unterwegs waren.

Nach einer sehr kurzen Nacht ging es ans Packen und Abschiednehmen.

Das Abschiedsessen fand in einem Restaurant mit Live-Musik statt. Und da passierte unverhofft das, wovon ich immer geträumt hatte. Wir waren gerade am Zahlen und Aufbrechen, als völlig unspektakulär und fast nebenbei eine unglaubliche Band zu spielen begann. Sie spielten einen Blues wie ich ihn noch nie gehört hatte und der doch gleichzeitig so vertraut war und mir aus der Seele sprach. All meine Ängste, Hoffnungen, Freuden und Verzweiflungen wurden zu Tönen. Ohne nachzudenken packte ich noch ein letztesmal meine Zieharmonika aus, stellte mich zum Mikrofon und umarmte singend und tanzend die ganze Welt.

Au revoir - ich komme wieder!

Hubert von Goisern

--

P.S.: Sand oder Schnee, Dünen oder Gletschereis - Tuaregs oder Samen, Kamele oder Rentiere, Hitze oder Kälte - alles hat ein Gegenüber und ein Zugleich. Alles ist rhizomatisch - wirr aber zusammenhängend, einander verbunden.
Auch im Eis des Dachsteingletschers findet man Sand aus der Sahara - dazu entsprechend, unsere Musik in der Wüste; wie ein verwehter Samen, der in nur einer Nacht kurz seine Blüte zeigt.

Ich möchte da nochmal hin! Ich möchte nochmal nach Mali. Das kanns noch nicht gewesen sein.

Weiss noch nicht wann und unter welchen Umständen - vielleicht wurden neue Samen gesät, von uns oder in uns - und warten nur auf ein paar Tropfen Wasser;

Wasser der Neugier,
Wasser der Zuneigung,
Wasser der Freundschaft,
Wasser der Liebe.

P.P.S.: Warten auf Timbuktu heisst auch der Film über unser Abenteuer in Mali. Ab Herbst wird er zu sehen sein.


Timbuktu

Anhang: Timbuktu - oder wie es hier geschrieben wird: Tombouctou - lag vor nicht allzu langer Zeit noch am Fluss Niger, der jetzt 15 km südlich fließt. Lehmverschmierte, zweigeschossige Häuser, direkt in den Sand gebaut, der auch als Boden im Erdgeschoss dient. Drei Moscheen, von denen die älteste 1325 erbaut wurde, dienen als Orientierung beim Erkunden der unübersichtlichen, schmalen, krummen Gässchen, durch die sich von Zeit zu Zeit Motorräder ohne Nummerschilder schlängeln, sogar das eine oder andere Auto rumpelt durch die schläfrige Stadt.

Über Jahrhunderte war Timbuktu Zentrum der Gelehrsamkeit und des Handels, Ausgangs- und Endpunkt aller Karawanen durch die Sahara, Umschlagplatz von Waren, die aus den fernen Norden der grossen Wüste, aus dem Mittelmeerländern kamen, sowie von Gütern aus dem zentralafrikanischen Raum. Im 11. Jahrhundert wurde das Gebiet durch die Almoravieden (islamische Reformisten) und muslimische Händler missioniert.

Am Höhepunkt des alten Königreichs Mali, im Jahr 1224, begab sich der damalige Regent "Kankan (Mansa) Moussa" auf eine Pilgerfahrt, einen Hadj nach Mekka. Mit sage und schreibe 60 000 Mann, ein jeder beladen mit einem Goldbarren, zog er Nordost. In Kairo stattete er dem Sultan einen Besuch ab und gab dabei soviel Gold aus, dass der ägyptische Geldmarkt komplett zusammenbrach und 10 Jahre brauchte, bis man sich davon erholt hatte. Es ist also kein Wunder, dass noch vor 150 Jahren in Europa die Kunde ging, die Häuser in Timbuktu seien aussen und innen vergoldet. Angezogen von derartigen Geschichten gab es immer wieder Versuche europäischer Abenteurer und Reisender, nach Timbuktu vorzudringen.

Der erste, der es schaffte, war ein Schotte: Major Alexander Gordon Laing. Verwegen wie anmaßend erreichte er 1826 in britischer Uniform, mit Seidenstrümpfen, weißen Beinkleidern und goldbetresster Jacke, die sagenumwobene Stadt, verweilte einige Wochen und wurde auf der Rückreise von nomadisierenden Tuaregs getötet. Sie fühlten sich angeblich bedroht, als er mit seinem Gewehr auf Vogeljagd ging.

Inzwischen stellte die französische geographische Gesellschaft 10 000 Franc für denjenigen in Aussicht, der es nach Timbuktu schafft. Einer der es wissen wollte war René Chaillié, er verbrachte 9 Monate am Senegal Fluss, um den Koran und Arabisch zu studieren und erreichte, als Muslim verkleidet, 1828 sein Ziel - "eine deprimierende Stadt aus schlecht gebauten Lehmhütten". Zurück in Paris überhäufte man ihn einerseits mit Auszeichnungen, wollte jedoch seinen Ausführungen keinen Glauben schenken, da sie nicht in das romantische Weltbild jener Zeit passten. Skeptiker unterstellten ihm sogar, nie in Timbuktu gewesen zu sein. Er starb, noch nicht 40 jährig, an den Strapazen der Reise.

Auch Heinrich Barth, ein Deutscher im Dienste der britischen Regierung, brachte persönliche Kunde aus Timbuktu, welches er im Zuge seiner 5 Jahre dauernden Sahara-Durchquerung im September 1853 erreichte. Er bleibt 8 Monate, lernt Tamaschek, die Sprache der Tuareg, studiert die alten arabischen Schriften, die in den Koranschulen lagern, und entgeht letztendlich durch ein Wunder dem Mordanschlag einer Gruppe von Kriegern. Als deren Anführer kurz vor dem Attentat plötzlich und auf mysteriöse Weise stirbt, wagt es niemand mehr, Barths Anwesenheit in Frage zu stellen. Sein Ansehen ist bis zum heutigen Tage ungebrochen und das Haus, in dem er wohnte, inzwischen ein Museum.

HvG