Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

HvG

Paris - Texas - New York

ME Sounds 1994 | Text: Hubert von Goisern | Photos: Karl Forster

An international commuter's travel diary

Hubert von Goisern, the most successful representative of the new yodel rock craze, and his Alpinkatzen fulfilled the dream of all musicians. They played in the States - and earned enthusiastic applause.

Hubert von Goisern

Monday, 14th March 1994

Stress in Munich. Appearance at the Live aus dem Alabama, the first in a big city with the programme of the new record Omunduntn. Goes quite well. Afterwards the presentation of the fourth platinum record from Austria. A good day, a good start to a perhaps mad undertaking.

Alpinkatzen

Tuesday, 15th March 1994

Flight to Paris. Everyone is in a good mood, but a bit nervous too. We are playing for the first time outside the German-speaking area at a festival on the outskirts of Paris. Telephone home. Casino Salzburg has won in the quarter finals of the European Cup.

Hubert von Goisern in Paris

Wednesday, 16th March 1994

Flight over the big pond. Then the collapse. We were travelling for 26 hours, arrived in San Antonio at 20 degrees in the shade. Were at the hotel at 4 o'clock in the morning, unpacked everything and then found that there were no rooms. Wrongly booked. We get packed again, somehow find 13 rooms. Am at the end of my tether.

Thursday, 17th March 1994

Sightseeing in San Antonio. Terrible - I seem like a summer holidaymaker in the Salzkammergut or at the Salzburg Domplatz. It is a type of tourism which I really don't like. Am rather depressed. The terrible food on the aeroplane is still lying in my stomach. But I have perhaps also drunk too much.

Friday, 18th March 1994

Flight to Austin. Here is no better either. Everything is so functional. So rational. Everything is just a façade. Anyway:I'm missing the cosiness, the comfort. Unfortunately I do not visit the country. Texas countryside. I imagine it is beautiful.

Alpinkatzen

Saturday, 19th March 1994

I am dreadfully nervous before the appearance. After all, at the "South by Southwest Festival" several hundred bands play 25 or 30 bars, it changes every hour. Our set is at midnight. The musical level is amazingly high. They all play like world masters and groove like hell. Naturally we are the exotic things. But it is great to feel that we groove just like them. The organisation is miserable. There is a wonderful atmosphere in the club, frighteningly close, not just because four hundred people are inside and another hundred are waiting outside. It suited us, it suited the audience, it was top-class.

Hubert von Goisern in New YorkSunday, 20th March 1994

We fly to New York with a good feeling. We know: it works. Arrival at JFK. We are dog-tired. But you immediately feel the energy of this city, the impulse. This strength positively goes right into us. At one o'clock at night, after we check in at the hotel, we go out onto the street. Walk around and can't close our mouths at the fact that there is something like this. I had imagined New York to be so dangerous, but all the mixed feelings vanish when you see how nicely the people treat each other. I have a deep liking for these people because they still always manage to be in a good mood in such a city.

Monday, 21st March 1994

Afternoon visit to BMG Ariola in the Bertelsmann building, 42nd floor, with Heinz Henn. One of the three bosses. Sing a Gstanzl with a view over Manhattan. We are told how the business works in the big wide world. But do not learn anything new. One of the most important experiences in New York: I didn't meet anybody who would be crazier than we are. We then played a bit of street music with the cow bells, together with a saxophonist on Times Square.

Tuesday, 22nd March 1994

Up on the World Trade Center. Above on a roof, it is like a flight over the city. Like standing up on the peak to, seems to me that this peak is made of people. And in it we played in New York. In a club, "The Cooler". I was hyper nervous because I did not know: will it work in this city, in which there is an insane amount on offer, in which everyone is occupied with themselves, in which everyone has to become egocentric just in order to survive. Yes. We played. In front of about 200 or 300 people. Highly motivated, highly concentrated. We wanted to show them. And we managed it too. The people were in a really good mood, they were in a euphoria like I could never have dreamed of.

Hubert von Goisern

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

HvG

Paris - Texas - New York

ME Sounds 1994 | Text: Hubert von Goisern | Fotos: Karl Forster

Reisetagebuch eines Grenzgängers

Hubert von Goisern, erfolgreichster Vertreter der neuen Jodel-Rock-Welle, und seine Alpinkatzen erfüllten sich den Traum aller Musiker. Sie spielten in den Staaten - und ernteten begeisterten Applaus.

Hubert von Goisern

Montag, 14. März 1994

Streß in München. Auftritt bei Live aus dem Alabama, der erste in einer großen Stadt mit dem Programm der neuen Platte Omunduntn. Lief ziemlich gut. Anschließend die Verleihung der 4. Platinplatte aus Österreich. Ein guter Tag, ein guter Anfang eines vielleicht aberwitzigen Unternehmens.

Alpinkatzen

Dienstag, 15. März 1994

Abflug nach Paris. Alle sind gut drauf, aber auch ein bißchen aufgeregt. Wir spielen zum erstenmal außerhalb des deutschen Sprachraums auf einem Festival am Stadtrand von Paris. Telefonat mit daheim. Casino Salzburg hat, im Viertelfinalspiel um den Europacup, gewonnen.

Hubert von Goisern in ParisMittwoch, 16. März 1994

Flug über den Teich. Dann der Zusammenbruch. Wir waren 26 Stunden unterwegs, kamen bei 20 Grad im Schatten in San Antonio an. Waren um 4 Uhr morgens im Hotel, haben alles ausgepackt und dann erfahren, daß es keine Zimmer gibt. Falsch gebucht. Wir packen wieder zusammen, finden irgendwie 13 Betten. Bin total am Ende.

Donnerstag, 17. März 1994

Sightseeing in San Antonio. Grauenvoll- Komme mir vor wie ein Sonnnerfrischler im Salzkammergut oder auf dem Salzburger Domplatz. Das ist eine Art von Tourismus, auf die ich überhaupt nicht steh. Bin eher depressiv. Das fürchterliche Essen im Flugzeug liegt mir noch im Magen. Hab' aber villeicht auch zuviel getrunken.

Freitag. 18. März 1994

Flug nach Austin. Hier ist es auch nicht besser Alles ist so funktionell. so rational. Alles ist Fassade. Überhaupt: Mir fehlt die Heimeligkeit die Gemütlichkeit. Ich komme leider nicht raus aufs Land. Texas countryside. Das stell' ich mir schön vor.

Alpinkatzen

Samstag, 19. März 1994

Vor dem Auftritt bin ich fürchterlich aufgeregt. Beim "South by Southwest-Festival" spielen schließlich mehrere hundert Bands 25 oder 30 Bars, jede Stunde ist Wechsel. Unser Auftritt ist um Mitternacht. Das Musikalische Niveau ist irrsinnig hoch. Die spielen alle wie die Weltmeister und grooven wie die Hölle. Wir sind natürlich die Exoten. Aber es ist schön zu spüren. daß wir genauso grooven wie die. Die Organisation ist miserabel. Im Club ist eine wunderbare Atmosphäre, unheimlich dicht, nicht nur, weil da vierhundert Leute drin sind und draußen noch hundert warten. Uns hat's getaugt, den Leuten hat's getaugt, es war Klasse.

Hubert von Goisern in New YorkSonntag, 20. März 1994

Wir fliegen mit gutem Gefühl nach New York. Wir wissen: Es funktioniert. Ankunft am JFK. Wir sind hundemüde. Aber Du spürst sofort die Energie dieser Stadt, die Impulse. Diese Kraft ist förmlich in uns hineingefahren. Wir gehen um 1 Uhr nachts nach dem Einchecken im Hotel noch auf die Straße. Spazieren herum und kriegen den Mund nicht mehr zu, daß es sowas gibt. Ich hab mir New York so gefährlich vorgestellt, doch all die gemischen Gefühle sind verschwunden, wenn du siehst, wie nett die Menschen miteinander umgehen. Ich spüre eine tiefe Sympathie für diese Leute, weil sie es in so einer Stadt schaffen, immer noch gut drauf zu sein.

Montag, 21. März 1994

Nachmittags Besuch bei BMG Ariola im Bertelsmanngebäude, 42. Stock, bei Heinz Henn. Einem der drei Bosse. Singen ein Gstanzl mit Blick über Manhattan. Lassen uns erklären, wie das Geschäft funktioniert in der großen, weiten Welt. Erfahren aber nichts Neues. Eine der wichtigsten Erfahrungen von New York: Ich habe niemanden getroffen, der noch verrückter gewesen wäre, als wir es sind. Wir haben dann ein bißchen Straßenmusik gemacht mit den Kuhglocken. zusammen mit einem Saxophonisten am Times Square.

Dienstag, 22. März 1994

Rauf auf das World Trade Center. Oben auf dein Dach. das ist wie ein Flug über die Stadt. Wie auf dem Gipfel stehen, mir. daß dieser Gipfel von Menschen gemacht ist. Und darin haben wir in New York gespielt. In einem Club. "The Cooler". Ich war so etwas von hypernervös, weil ich nicht gewußt habe: Geht das in dieser Stadt. in der das Angebot so irrsinnig groß ist, in der jeder mit sich selbst beschäftigt ist, in der jeder zum Egozentriker werden muß, nur um zu überleben. Ja. Wir haben gespielt. Vor etwa 200 oder 300 Leuten. Hochmnotiviert, hochkonzentriert. Wir wollten es denen zeigen. Und haben das auch geschafft. Die Leute waren total drauf, waren in einer Euphonie, wie ich es mir niemals er träumt hab'.

Hubert von Goisern