Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

LINZ EUROPE TOUR 2007 - 2009

LINZ EUROPE TOUR >> Mission Statement

Linz Europe Tour 2007 - 2009

HvGIn 2007 Hubert von Goisern began his hitherto biggest and boldest project: the "Linz Europe Tour 2007 - 2009". With a cargo ship converted to a stage, a tug boat and a barracks ship, he sailed from the Danube downstream from Linz to the Black Sea and the next year sailed west to the North Sea.
On his journey the Goiserer moored in numerous places in order to give concerts on board his ship with popular local musicians - free of charge for the audience on the river banks. The tour celebrated its finale in July 2009 with the "Linz Europe Harbour Festival".

Mission Statement

After the expansion of the EU from 25 to 27 members, Bulgaria and Romania are now two more European countries to have become full members of the community of states. Politically and economically, the enlarged EU is on a solid foundation. Nevertheless, there are many sceptics among the 490 million EU citizens. We all feel that something is still missing, that it is not just about the gross domestic product, the rate of unemployment or the rate of productivity.

Parallel to the economic and political advancement, with the Linz Europe Tour 2007–2009 the "cultural eastward enlargement" takes place, the merging of the culturally significant Danube region. The Project will encourage and consolidate the partnership of the regions along the 2889 kilometre long river, the longest in Europe. It stands for the exchange between the cultural protagonists and the people in the neighbouring countries along the Danube.

The project is a production for Linz 2009 European Capital of Culture and will be carried by the Austrian musician Hubert von Goisern. The Austrian is readying a ship in order to make the river sound. Music has always been a uniting element that knows no bounds. In this project the differences and similarities of a music which has founded our culture will be explored and performed.

Linz Europe Tour 2007–2009 would like to put into motion a European discourse, making it possible for us to experience the continent. Variety is a mark of European culture. It is a "rag rug", composed of regional peculiarities and characteristics. And when we retrace the history of Europe, we find that it is exactly this variety that has allowed it to grow so large. It is necessary to discover each other once more. That perhaps succeeds most simply via music, whose "language" we all speak and which knows no barriers.

Goisern wyvern

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

LINZ EUROPA TOUR 2007-2009

LINZ EUROPA TOUR >> Mission Statement

Linz Europa Tour 2007 - 2009

HvG2007 startete Hubert von Goisern sein bisher größtes und kühnstes Projekt: die "Linz Europa Tour 2007 - 2009". Mit einem zur Bühne umgebauten Lastschiff samt Schubschiff und Wohnschiff, Band und Crew, schipperte er von Linz aus die Donau stromabwärts bis zum Schwarzen Meer und danach gen Westen bis zur Nordsee. Auf seiner Reise legte der Goiserer vielerorts an, um mit lokal bekannten Künstlern Konzerte an Bord zu spielen - Konzerte bei freiem Eintritt für ein begeistertes Publikum an Land. Ihren Abschluss fand die Tour im Juli 2009 beim "Linz Europa Hafenfest".

Mission Statement

 

Nach der Erweiterung der EU von 25 auf 27 Mitglieder sind mit Bulgarien und Rumänien nun zwei weitere Länder Europas als vollwertige Mitglieder in die Staatengemeinschaft aufgenommen worden. Politisch und wirtschaftlich steht die vergrößerte EU auf einem soliden Fundament. Dennoch gibt es unter den mittlerweile 490 Mio. EU-Bürgern viele Zweifler. Wir alle spüren, dass da noch etwas fehlt, dass es nicht nur um das Bruttoinlandsprodukt, die Arbeitslosenquote oder die Produktivitätsrate geht.

Mit der Linz Europa Tour 2007-2009 erfolgt parallel zur wirtschaftlichen und politischen Weiterentwicklung die "kulturelle Osterweiterung", das Zusammenwachsen der kulturell bedeutenden Donauregion. Das Schiffsprojekt wird die Partnerschaft der Regionen am mit 2889 Kilometer längsten Strom Europas fördern und festigen. Es steht für den Austausch zwischen den Kulturakteuren und den Menschen in den Nachbarländern entlang der Donau.

Das Projekt ist eine Produktion für Linz 2009 Kulturhauptstadt Europas und wird vom Musiker Hubert von Goisern getragen. Der Österreicher macht ein Schiff klar, um den Strom zum Klingen zu bringen. Die Musik war schon immer ein einendes Element, das keine Grenzen kennt. In diesem Projekt werden die Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten einer Musik erforscht und vorgeführt, die unsere Kultur begründet hat.

Die Linz Europa Tour 2007–2009 möchte einen europäischen Diskurs in Gang bringen, der uns den Kontinent erfahrbar macht. Vielfalt zeichnet die europäische Kultur aus. Sie ist ein "Fleckerlteppich", zusammengesetzt aus regionalen Ausprägungen und Besonderheiten. Und wenn wir die Geschichte Europas zurückverfolgen, stellen wir fest, dass gerade diese Vielfalt Europa hat groß werden lassen. Es gilt, einander wieder zu entdecken. Am einfachsten gelingt das vielleicht über die Musik, deren "Sprache" wir alle sprechen, die keine Barrieren kennt.

Goiserer Lindwurm