Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

TRAD II

TRAD II >> Album

TRAD II

Hubert von Goisern - TRAD II

13.10.03 | 82876526402 | Amazon

Trad II

  • 1. kohler
  • 2. de gamserln
  • 3. da insrige
  • 4. in's birig
  • 5. wiederum dahin
  • 6. meraner
  • 7. s'büscherl
  • 8. abend spat
  • 9. halt oder ...
  • 10. hedidi
  • 11. eiszapfen
  • 12. krippensteiner
  • 13. schützenmarsch
  • 14. schönberger
Trad Special Edition

TRAD Special Edition Box Set

with TRAD, TRAD II and Ausland

30.11.12 | 88765418922 | Amazon

this production developed from an affection; an affection for this landscape and its folk music in general, and for the yodel melodies and songs presented here in particular. an affection that is admittedly not without tension. my handling of what has been passed down is therefore not a homage, but always respectful - and above all full of relish.

recorded and mixed between january and march 2003 in the disused krippenstein mountain hotel on the dachstein plateau, at 2100 metres above sea level.
why on krippenstein?
because it's there
because there's a hotel on this mountain.
because it was a challenge to play and produce music in this ethereal, stripped down, isolated and unbelievably impressive natural landscape.
because such a place soothes the senses. the eye, the ear:
everything becomes more sensitive.

and so we came together: musicians from four different countries: italy, germany, switzerland and austria, to play melodies that have their origins in the surrounding valleys. we had a wonderful time. you could become addicted to such situations.
i could certainly.

in the last trad booklet i wrote: "... placing no claim on correctness or being exemplary with my adaptations".
it didn't help. nonetheless there was criticism from the ranks of the 200 per centers. for example it was wrong that the songs were not sung by several voices. because that is an important characteristic of our musical tradition. i admit, in this respect, i don't give a shit.
i simply sing and play the way I enjoy. and I think that lyrics and stories suffer when performed by multiple voices. aside from that, when listening to the songs everyone can and should sing the the voice that they like to it.
caution! in the presence of Mupo's (music police) these recordings can lead to fierce arguments because of their free adaptation.

Hubert von Goisern

Hubert von Goisern: Trad 2 - A studio above the winter mountains

Alpenpost 21st February 2003 | Photos: © Dachstein Tourismus AG

Hubert von Goisern used the temporarily closed rooms of the old Berghotel Krippenstein above 2000m
to record a continuation of his successful CD Trad

Hubert von Goisern and the "Trad 2" team

Unusual music demands special places. Hubert von Goisern fulfilled a special wish when he decided to produce his new CD in the middle of the Salzkammergut mountain world. The Berghotel Krippenstein on the heights of the Dachstein, which is only washed round by the winter ski traffic during the day seemed an ideal place for this. During a few weeks in January and February, he invited his musicians to the snow-covered heights. During the day they use the opportunity to take the necessary inspiration wafting in the deep snow of the high alpine open country. After 17.00, when the Krippenstein train stops its traffic, the quiet (because temporarily closed) Berghotel Krippenstein becomes a sound studio, and in night-long sessions, the new album arises.

Hubert von Goisern is pleased to be producing this music just here, where it belongs and where it has its origins. Because with the project Trad (after "traditionell" or the English genre description "traditional" - songs from the people, tunes without composer and author) it is about the music of his homeland, close friends since the days of his Salzkammergut childhood. That he is working on newly interpreting the old tunes today after a great career and brilliant success probably has its reasons. For a rediscovery and new discovery, the viewpoint needs distance: in order to emboss what is handed down with something of your own, you must stand a little "above" - above all conventions, out of touch with the flats. Seen this way, the Krippenstein seems an ideal standpoint.

Hubert von Goisern and the "Trad 2" team

(L-R) Christian "Balou" Fahrner, Monika Drasch, Hubert von Goisern, Max Lässer, Burgi Höller,
Bernd Bechtloff, Marlene Schuen, Arnulf Lindner, Wolfgang Spannberger

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

TRAD II

TRAD II >> Album

TRAD II

Hubert von Goisern - TRAD II

13.10.03 | 82876526402 | Amazon

Trad II

  • 1. kohler
  • 2. de gamserln
  • 3. da insrige
  • 4. in's birig
  • 5. wiederum dahin
  • 6. meraner
  • 7. s'büscherl
  • 8. abend spat
  • 9. halt oder ...
  • 10. hedidi
  • 11. eiszapfen
  • 12. krippensteiner
  • 13. schützenmarsch
  • 14. schönberger
Trad Special Edition

TRAD Special Edition Box Set

mit TRAD, TRAD II und Ausland

30.11.12 | 88765418922 | Amazon

diese produktion entstand aus einer zuneigung heraus; einer zuneigung zu dieser landschaft und ihrer volksmusik im allgemeinen, und zu den vorliegenden jodler melodien und liedern im besonderen. einer zuneigung die zugegebenermaßen nicht ohne spannungen ist. mein umgang mit dem überlieferten ist daher keine huldigung aber immer respekt- und vor allem lustvoll.

aufgenommen und gemischt zwischen jänner und märz 2003 im stillgelegten berghotel krippenstein am dachsteinplateau, auf 2100 meter.
Warum am krippenstein?
Weil er da ist
Weil es auf diesem berg ein hotel gibt.
Weil es eine herausforderung war, in dieser entrückten, abgehobenen, abgeschiedenen und unglaublich eindrucksvollen natur zu musizieren und zu produzieren.
Weil so ein ort die sinne beruhigt. das auge, das ohr:
alles wird sensibler.

und so kamen wir zusammen. musiker/innen aus vier ländern: italien, deutschland, schweiz und österreich, um gemeinsam melodien zu spielen die ihren ursprung in den umliegenden tälern haben. wir hatten eine wunderschöne zeit. Nach solchen situationen könnte man süchtig werden.
Ich jedenfalls.

Im letzten trad-booklet habe ich geschrieben "...mit meinen bearbeitungen keinen anspruch auf richtig- oder vorbildhaftigkeit zu stellen".
Es hat nichts genützt. Es gab trotzdem kritik aus den reihen der 200%-igen. Es sei zb. falsch, dass die lieder nicht mehrstimmig gesungen sind. Weil mehrstimmigkeit ein wichtiges merkmal unser musikalischen tradition sei. Ich gebe zu in der beziehung scheiss ich mir nichts.
Ich singen und musizieren einfach so wie es mir gefällt. Und, ich finde dass texte und geschichten unter mehrstimmigkeit leiden. Ausserdem kann und soll jede/r beim hören der lieder die stimme dazu singen die er/sie selber mag.
vorsicht! diese einspielungen können ihrer freien bearbeitung wegen in anwesenheit von mupo's (musikpolizisten) zu heftigem streit führen.

Hubert von Goisern

Hubert von Goisern: Trad 2 - Ein Tonstudio über den Winterbergen

Alpenpost 21. Februar 2003 | Fotos: © Dachstein Tourismus AG

Die vorübergehend stillgelegten Räume des alten Berghotels Krippenstein auf über 2.000 m nützte Hubert von Goisern, um mit seiner Band eine Fortsetzung seines CD-Erfolgs "Trad" einzuspielen.

Hubert von Goisern und das "Trad 2"-Team

Außergewöhnliche Musik verlangt nach besonderen Orten. Hubert von Goisern erfüllte sich einen Herzenswunsch, als er sich entschloß, seine neue CD inmitten der Salzkammergut-Bergwelt zu produzieren. Das vom winterlichen Skibetrieb lediglich tagsüber umspülte Berghotel Krippenstein auf den Höhen des Dachstein schien ein idealer Ort hierzu. Während weniger Wochen im Jänner und Februar lud er seine Musiker in die verschneiten Höhen. Tagsüber nutze man die Gelegenheit, sich - im Tiefschnee des hochalpinen Geländes wedelnd - die nötigen Inspirationen zu holen. Nach 17.00 Uhr, wenn die Krippensteinbahn ihren Betrieb einstellte, wurde das stille (weil vorübergehend geschlossene) Berghotel Krippenstein zum Tonstudio, und in nächtelangen Sessions entstand das neue Album.

Hubert von Goisern freut sich, gerade diese Musik dort zu produzieren, wo sie hingehört und wo sie ihren Ursprung hat. Denn bei dem Projekt Trad (nach "traditionell", bzw. der englischen Genrebezeichnung "Traditionals" - Lieder aus dem Volk, Weisen ohne Komponist und Autor) geht es um die Musik seiner Heimat, Vertrautes seit den Tagen seiner Salzkammergut-Kindheit. Daß er sich nach großer Karriere und fulminanten Erfolgen gerade heute daran macht, die alten Weisen neu zu interpretieren, hat wohl seinen Grund. Für eine Wieder- und Neuentdeckung braucht es den Blickwickel der Distanz: Um dem Tradierten Eigenes aufzuprägen, muß man schon ein bißchen "drüber" stehen - über allen Konventionen, abgehoben von den Niederungen. So gesehen erscheint der Krippenstein als idealer Standpunkt.

Hubert von Goisern und das "Trad 2"-Team

(L-R) Christian "Balou" Fahrner, Monika Drasch, Hubert von Goisern, Max Lässer, Burgi Höller, Bernd Bechtloff, Marlene Schuen, Arnulf Lindner, Wolfgang Spannberger