Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

HUBERT VON GOISERN: BIOGRAPHY

Hubert von Goisern

  • 1952-72

    Hubert von GoisernHubert von Goisern was born as Hubert Achleitner on 17th November 1952 in Bad Goisern in the Austrian Salzkammergut region. At the age of 5 he told his parents that he wanted to be a conductor. When he was 12 he joined the local brass band and was loaned his first instrument - a trumpet - and received free music lessons. At the age of 16 Hubert was playing first trumpet in the orchestra, but differences of opinion with the bandleader over the repertoire and Hubert's shoulder-length hair led to him being thrown out three years later. Now without the loaned trumpet, he next turned to the electric guitar, teaching himself to play. The formation of his first band followed, along with his first compositions. Taj Mahal, Alexis Korner, Jimmy Hendrix, Ravi Shankar, John McLaughlin and Miles Davis all provided inspiration for the young musician.
  • 1972-83

    Reaching his twenties, Hubert emigrated to South Africa, where he lived for 4 years and worked as a chemistry laboratory assistant. The next stop was Canada, where he lived for 3 years and studied flamenco guitar in Toronto. On his way home to Austria, Hubert spent six months in the Philippines, where he learned their songs and how to play their instruments, such as the noseflute. In return he taught the Kalingas Austrian folk songs and yodels and was inspired to look for a new approach to his own native music on his return home.
  • 1983-91

    In Vienna Hubert studied electroacoustic experimental music at the University of Music and made a living as a freelance musician and composer. In 1986 he took up the diatonic accordion for the first time. His grandfather had given him the instrument many years before. For Hubert however it was the epitome of the eternal past. In a schnapps-fuelled destructive mania he grabbed the instrument and in trying to rip it apart discovered a new way of playing. The same year Hubert met musician Wolfgang Staribacher and the pair performed together as the Alpinkatzen. While playing street music on Kärntnerstrasse in Vienna, Hubert was approached by a manager from CBS and offered a contract. In 1998 Wolfgang and Hubert released their first record: Alpine Lawine. The duo split in 1991 and Hubert looked for a new band.
  • 1991-94

    Having followed his heart to Salzburg, it was there that Hubert found his new band: keyboarder Stefan Engel, drummer Wolfgang Maier and guitarist Reinhard Stranzinger. The Alpinkatzen were complete with the addition of Sabine Kapfinger, the 18 year old singer and yodeller from whom Hubert learned to yodel. In 1992 the album Aufgeigen statt niederschiassen was released. The songs Heast as nit, Weit, weit weg and in particular Koa Hiatamadl caught the attention of radio stations and suddenly Hubert and his Alpinkatzen were in the charts and on everyone's lips. In 1994 Omunduntn was released. The band toured extensively and even abroad there were standing ovations and encores at shows in Paris, Texas and New York. On 1st November, Hubert von Goisern and the Alpinkatzen played their last concert together.
  • 1994-95

    The final concert in Munich's Circus Krone was filmed by Dana Vávrová and Joseph Vilsmaier and released as Wia die Zeit vergeht. A live double album of the same name was also released. Together with designer Klaus Höller Hubert produced a number of fashion collections. In 1995 he made his acting debut opposite Martina Gedeck in the TV film Hölleisengretl. The same year he also composed the soundtrack to Joseph Vilsmaier's major film Schlafes Bruder together with Norbert Schneider.
  • 1996-98

    In March 1996 Hubert von Goisern presented an Austrian tour by the Tibetan Institute of Performing Arts (TIPA). His interest in the Tibetan situation was peaked and just two months later he travelled Tibet with exiled Tibetan Tseten Peldon Zöchbauer. They spent six weeks in the country and Hubert returned to Europe, shocked by the Tibetans' lack of freedom and the arbitrariness of the Chinese occupation, with the wish to give musical expression to what he had experienced. At an audience with His Holiness the Dalai Lama he received the blessing and permission to bring this vision to life with artists from the TIPA. The result was the album Inexil, released in 1998. In 1996 Hubert also travelled to East Africa at the invitation of primatologist Jane Goodall. Impressed by her character and work, he produced the documentary Von Goisern nach Gombe the following year. The soundtrack to the film, Gombe, was released in 1998.
  • 2000-01

    November 2000 saw the release of Hubert von Goisern's comeback album Fön. The following year he toured the German-speaking countries for the first time in seven years with a new band and in the spring a second album, a collection of Austrian folk songs, was released under the title Trad. Both works were awarded the Austrian Amadeus music prize.
  • 2002-03

    At the invitation of the Goethe Institute, HvG gave a joint concert with Nubian superstar Mohamed Mounir to an audience of 15,000 in Assiut, Egypt in 2002. A three-week tour through Burkina Faso, Cape Verde and Senegal followed with Hubert and his band giving both solo and joint concerts with local artists. The studio album Iwasig was released in September. In the winter Hubert recorded a second album of Austrian folk songs, Trad II, in an empty hotel on the Krippenstein mountain. The 2003 tour included stops in Sarajevo and Cape Verde, as well as a three week joint tour with Mohamed Mounir through Germany, Austria and Switzerland.
  • 2004-06

    In 2004 Hubert's live programme consisted of purely folk songs. The finale of the tour took place in January 2005 at the Festival au Désert in Mali. The double album Ausland with a live CD and the documentary Warten auf Timbuktu were released in September. During his break from the stage, Hubert also produced a sound installation for the Dachstein ice caves and composed the new club anthem for the Red Bull Salzburg football team. In 2006 HvG published an open letter to head of the Austrian Freedom Party, HC Strache, requesting that he refrain from using his music at FPÖ events. In the summer the two-disc greatest hits album Derweil was released.
  • 2007-10

    Hubert von Goisern's hitherto grandest project, the Linz Europe Tour, began in the summer of 2007 when he sailed with a barge converted to a stage ship from Linz to the Black Sea. Along the way he stopped in harbours to give joint concerts with local musicians to audiences on the river banks. The documentary series Goisern goes East chronicles the tour. The studio album S'Nix was released in spring 2008. The second leg of the Linz Europe Tour then proceeded from Linz to the North Sea, the series Goisern goes West documenting the journey and concerts with artists such as Xavier Naidoo and BAP. The live double album Haut und Haar was released in June 2009. The grand finale to the tour took place in Linz harbour in July with a three day festival reuniting many of the artists who had joined the tour. In 2010 the book Stromlinien - ein Logbuch was published, Hubert von Goisern's résumé of the last four years and his debut as an author.
  • 2011-13

    In spring 2011 Hubert von Goisern set off on tour with a small band and a programme of unreleased material. The tour included a series of concerts in Austrian taverns, as well as a two-day festival with a number of guest artists at the Kaltenberg Arena. The album Entwederundoder was released in September and performed well in both the Austrian and German charts, being awarded double platinum in January 2012. The accompanying single Brenna Tuats Guat spent 5 weeks at the top of the Austrian single charts and was awarded platinum in January. In May HvG was awarded 2 Amadeus Austrian Music Awards in the categories "Album of the Year" und "Pop/Rock". In 2012 HvG and band played 101 concerts on the Brenna Tuats tour through Austria, Germany and Switzerland. In 2013 Hubert von Goisern received an honorary Amadeus Award for music that combines genres and brings people together and Im Jahr des Drachen, the live album of the tour was released in June.
  • 2014-16

    Work on a new studio album and an autumn tour were not the only projects occupying HvG in 2014. The Alpenliebe exhibition, which opened on Großglockner in June, features a musical journey through the Alps by Wurlitzer, created by Hubert himself. A selection of this music was released on Steilklänge in October. The soundtrack to Joseph Vilsmaier's epic film Österreich: Oben und Unten, composed by Hubert von Goisern was released in the same month on the album Filmmusik. HvG himself hit the big screen in April 2015 with the release of the biographical documentary Brenna tuat's schon lang. The new studio album Federn, with tastes of country and bluegrass, was released in May 2015 and Hubert von Goisern and band set off on tour soon thereafter. The tour continued in 2016, starting in America with concerts in New York, Washington D.C. and Austin, Texas. The double album Federn Live 2014-2016 is released on 21st April 2017 - a souvenir of this time on tour.

DE
EN
Hubert von Goisern
 

HUBERT VON GOISERN: BIOGRAFIE

Hubert von Goisern

Hubert von Goisern

  • Hubert von Goisern

    1952-72

    Hubert von Goisern wurde am 17. November 1952 in Bad Goisern im österreichischen Salzkammergut als Hubert Achleitner geboren. Mit 5 Jahren erklärte er seinen Eltern, er wolle Dirigent werden. Mit 12 Jahren trat er bei der örtlichen Blaskapelle ein. Dort bekam er als Leihgabe sein erstes Instrument - eine Trompete - und kostenlosen Unterricht. Mit 16 Jahren spielte er bereits die erste Trompete im Orchester. Meinungsverschiedenheiten mit dem Kapellmeister bezüglich des redundanten Repertoires und Huberts damals schulterlangen Haaren, führten 3 Jahre später zum Hinauswurf. Ohne die Leihtrompete griff er als nächstes zur Gitarre und brachte sich das Spielen selbst bei. Es folgten die Gründung einer Band und erste Eigenkompositionen. Taj Mahal, Alexis Korner, Jimmy Hendrix, Ravi Shankar, John McLaughlin und Miles Davis waren unter anderem Inspirationsquellen für den jungen Musiker.
  • 1972-83

    Anfang seiner zwanziger Jahre wanderte Hubert nach Südafrika aus, wo er 4 Jahre lang lebte und als Chemielaborant arbeitete. Er zog nach Kanada, wo er 3 Jahre blieb und Flamencogitarre in Toronto studierte. Auf dem Heimweg nach Österreich verbrachte Hubert sechs Monate bei Kopfjägern auf den Philippinen, lernte ihre Lieder und Instrumente, z.B. die Nasenflöte, zu spielen. Seinerseits lehrte er den Kalingas österreichische Volkslieder und Jodler und wurde dadurch inspiriert, einen neuen Zugang zu seiner eigenen Volksmusik zu suchen.
  • 1983-91

    In Wien studierte Hubert Elektroakustik experimentelle Musik auf der Wiener Musikhochschule und verdiente sich sein Geld als freier Musiker und Komponist. 1986 griff er zum ersten Mal zur diatonischen Ziehharmonika. Sein Großvater hatte sie ihm vor vielen Jahren geschenkt. Für Hubert war sie jedoch der Inbegriff des ewig Gestrigen. In einem, durch einen Schnapsrausch ausgelösten Anfall von Zerstörungswut packte Hubert das Instrument und entdeckte beim Versuch es zu zerreißen eine neue Spielweise. Im selben Jahr lernte er den Musiker Wolfgang Staribacher kennen, gemeinsam musizierten sie als die Alpinkatzen. Während eines Straßenmusikauftritts von Hubert in der Wiener Innenstadt wurde er von einem Manager der Plattenfirma CBS angesprochen, der ihm auf der Stelle einen Vertrag anbot. Wolfgang und Hubert veröffentlichten 1988 ihre erste Schallplatte: Alpine Lawine. Das Duo ging 1991 getrennte Wege und Hubert suchte eine neue Band.
  • 1991-94

    Seinem Herzen folgend zog Hubert nach Salzburg und fand dort seine neue Band: Keyboarder Stefan Engel, Schlagzeuger Wolfgang Maier und Gitarrist Reinhard Stranzinger. Mit Sängerin und Jodlerin Sabine Kapfinger, von der Hubert Jodeln lernte, war die Alpinkatzen-Band dann komplett. Das Album Aufgeigen stått niederschiassen wurde 1992 veröffentlicht. Mit den Liedern: Heast as nit, Weit, weit weg und vor allem Koa Hiatamadl wurde die Aufmerksamkeit der Rundfunksender geweckt und plötzlich war Hubert mit seinen Alpinkatzen in der Hitparade und in aller Munde. 1994 wurde das Album Omunduntn veröffentlicht. Die Band tourte ausgiebig und auch im Ausland – Paris, Texas, New York – gab es Standing Ovations und Zugaben. Am 1. November spielten Hubert von Goisern und die Alpinkatzen ihr letztes Konzert.
  • 1994-5

    Das letzte Konzerte im Münchner Circus Krone wurde von Dana Vavrova und Joseph Vilsmaier gefilmt und als Wia die Zeit vergeht veröffentlicht. Ein gleichnamiges Live-Doppelalbum wurde ebenfalls veröffentlicht. Gemeinsam mit Mode-Designern entwarf Hubert einige Mode-Kollektionen. 1995 machte er sein Schauspieldebüt an der Seite von Martina Gedeck im TV-Film Hölleisengretl. Im selben Jahr komponierte er zusammen mit Norbert Schneider die Filmmusik für Joseph Vilsmaiers großem Kinofilm Schlafes Bruder.
  • 1996-98

    Im März 1996 präsentierte Hubert von Goisern eine Österreichtournee des Tibetischen Instituts für darstellende Künste (TIPA). Diese Begegnung weckte sein Interesse für die Situation des tibetischen Volkes und nur 2 Monate später, bereiste er Tibet zusammen mit der Exil-Tibeterin Tseten Peldon Zöchbauer. Sie verbrachten dort sechs Wochen und Hubert kehrte erschüttert von der Unfreiheit der Tibeter und der Willkür der chinesischen Besatzung nach Europa zurück, mit dem Wunsch, dem Erlebten einen musikalischen Ausdruck zu verleihen. Bei einer Audienz mit Seiner Heiligkeit dem Dalai Lama bekam er den Segen und die Erlaubnis, dieses Vorhaben mit Künstlern des TIPA zusammen umzusetzen. Das Resultat war das 1998er Album Inexil. 1996 reiste Hubert einer Einladung von Schimpansenforscherin Jane Goodall folgend nach Gombe National Park, Ostafrika. Beeindruckt von ihrer Person und Arbeit, produzierte er ein Jahr später die Dokumentation Von Goisern nach Gombe. Der Soundtrack des Films Gombe erschien ebenfalls 1998.
  • 2000-01

    Im November 2000 folgte die Veröffentlichung von Hubert von Goiserns Comeback-Album Fön. Im Jahr darauf tourte er mit neuer Band zum ersten Mal seit sieben Jahren durch den deutschsprachigen Raum. Im Frühling wurde ein zweites Album, eine Sammlung von österreichischen Volksliedern, unter dem Namen Trad veröffentlicht. Beide Werke wurden mit dem österreichischen Amadeus Musikpreis ausgezeichnet.
  • 2002-03

    Auf Einladung des Goethe Institut gab HvG 2002 ein gemeinsames Konzert mit dem nubischen Superstar Mohamed Mounir vor 15.000 Leute in Assiut/Ägypten. Es folgte eine dreiwöchige Tour durch Burkina Faso, Kap Verde und Senegal. Hubert und Band spielten Konzerte solo und gemeinsam mit einheimischen MusikerInnen. Das Studio-Album Iwasig wurde im September veröffentlicht. Im Winter nahm Hubert ein zweites Album mit österreichischen Volksliedern (Trad II) in einem leerstehenden Berghotel auf dem Krippenstein auf. 2003 wurde unter anderem Konzerte in Sarajewo und Kap Verde gespielt, sowie eine dreiwöchige gemeinsame Tournee mit Mohamed Mounir durch Deutschland, Österreich und die Schweiz.
  • 2004-06

    In 2004 beinhaltete Huberts Live-Programm ausschließlich Volkslieder. Das Finale der Tour fand im Januar 2005 beim Festival au Désert in Mali statt. Das Doppelalbum Ausland mit Live-CD und Dokumentation Warten auf Timbuktu wurden im September veröffentlicht. Während seiner Bühnenpause gestaltete Hubert eine Klanginstallation für die Dachsteineishöhle und komponierte die neue Vereinshymne für die Red Bull Salzburg Fußballmannschaft. 2006 schrieb HvG einen offenen Brief an FPÖ-Obmann HC Strache mit der Forderung, dass seine Musik nicht mehr bei FPÖ-Veranstaltungen gespielt wird. Im Sommer wurde das größte Hits Doppelalbum Derweil veröffentlicht.
  • 2007-10

    Im Sommer 2007 begann Hubert von Goiserns bis dahin größtes Projekt: die Linz Europa Tour. Mit einem zur Bühne umgebauten Frachtschiff segelte er von Linz bis zum Schwarzen Meer. Auf der Reise legte er in Häfen an, um mit lokalen Musikern Konzerte für die Leute am Ufer zu spielen. Die Doku Goisern goes East gibt Erlebnis und Eindrücke der Reise wider. Das Studio-Album S'Nix wurde im Frühling 2008 veröffentlicht. Die zweite Etappe der Linz Europa Tour ging dann in die andere Richtung von Linz bis zur Nordsee. Goisern goes West dokumentiert die Reise und Konzerte mit Künstlern wie Xavier Naidoo und BAP. Das Live-Doppelalbum Haut und Haar wurde im Juni 2009 veröffentlicht. Das Finale der Tour fand im Linzer Hafen statt: Ein dreitägiges Festival, bei dem viele der teilnehmenden Künstler wieder zusammengebracht wurden. 2010 wurde das Buch Stromlinien - ein Logbuch veröffentlicht, Hubert von Goiserns Resümee der letzten vier Jahre und sein Debüt als Autor.
  • 2011-13

    Mit einer kleinen Band und unveröffentlichten Liedern im Gepäck tourte Hubert von Goisern wieder ab Frühling 2011. Auf der Tournee spielte er eine Reihe von Konzerten in kleinen österreichischen Wirtshäusern, sowie ein zweitägiges Festival mit etlichen Gastmusikern in der Kaltenberg Arena. Im September wurde das Album Entwederundoder veröffentlicht, das in den österreichischen und deutschen Albumcharts ganz oben platziert war und im Januar 2012 mit Doppelplatin ausgezeichnet wurde. Die Single Brenna tuats guat war 5 Wochen an der Spitze der österreichischen Single-Charts und wurde im Januar mit Platin ausgezeichnet. Im Mai wurde HvG mit 2 Amadeus Austrian Music Awards in den Kategorien "Album des Jahres" und "Pop/Rock" ausgezeichnet. 2012 spielten HvG und Band 101 Konzerte auf der Brenna Tuats Tournee durch Österreich, Deutschland und die Schweiz. 2013 bekam Hubert von Goisern einen Ehren-Amadeus-Award für genre- und völkerverbindende Musik und Im Jahr des Drachen, das Live-Doppelalbum der Tour, wurde im Juni veröffentlicht.