Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

KÖNIXXTREFFEN

Miscellaneous: 2002

KöniXXtreffen - 31st August 2002

2002

KöniXXtreffen posterMunich. The German Virgin is celebrating its birthday - and naturally with a super party. The record company - brought into being as independent from the English Virgin in 1982 by Udo Lange - is now looking back on 20 years of successful. There is a big birthday party - the KöniXXtreffen - on Saturday 31st August in the form of an open air concert in the Königsplatz, Munich.

Live: Bryan Ferry, who was famous in the 70s as singer, songwriter and designer of the pop pioneer Roxy Music, and also celebrates success as a solo artist. Reamonn comes from the Black Forest - they stormed the charts with Supergirl. Heyday are also definitely not unknowns in the German rock-biz. The apocalyptic The Ark are coming from Sweden. And also the indie rocker Slut, songwriter Peter Gabriel and last but certainly not least the alpine rocker Hubert von Goisern.

Hubert von Goisern: Live at KöniXXtreffen - 31st August 2002

4th September 2002 | Photos: © Virgin

The virgin turns 20

... The party guests then relaxedly waited for a German-speaking sensation. Hubert von Goisern entered the stage: the revolutionary of folk music. Some people have perhaps already experienced it: the man grows at each of his concerts. He starts shyly, softly and rather restrained. And in the course of the appearance, he then becomes more powerful, exciting and charismatic. The eternal traveller, who has already explored Tibet, Egypt, Africa and several countries for himself, and embeds new ideas into his music again and again, conveys the motto of the 2002 tour: Grenzenlos ...

Hubert von Goisern: Live at KöniXXtreffen - 31st August 2002

2002 | Photo: © Mary Diemer
Hubert von Goisern & Band

Hubert von Goisern: "Hit single strategy is foreign to me"

Tiroler Tageszeitung 1st September 2002

"There is no room on a CD for all the souls which live in my chest" - new album on 16th September

Munich (APA) - In Germany, the musician Hubert von Goisern counts, in comparison in his own country, the Upper Austrian is still mainly associated with one song. Nevertheless, the artist does not want to aim at a repetition of Hiatamadl. "The hit single strategy is foreign to me," von Goisern emphasised at the weekend in front of journalists in Munich. On the 16th September the new album Iwasig (Virgin) comes onto the market.

The production has turned out very bright, the palette reaches from reggae to the obligatory yodelling. "With it I always have the feeling that I restrict myself too much when recording. There is no room on a CD for all the souls which live in my chest," said Goisern. "But it is right that the record has a certain bandwidth. It is also simply like life."

In contrast with an introverted work like Fön, Iwasig sounds more easily accessible. "Fön arose from the silence. That is why the album was subtler. Then we went on tour again after a long break. Through playing in front of the audience, my life became louder again. I wrote the songs during the breaks on tour, to take into account the feeling of how I felt at that moment." It was recorded in Salzburg and Bad Goisern.

In the summer, Hubert gave 23 concerts, only 3 of those in Austria. The event in Vienna was more poorly attended than appearances in Berlin, Hamburg or Cologne. "When you have a greater audience and media interest in Germany than at home, it is hard. But I do not want to develop myself so that like Thomas Bernhard I say: "everything is fucked up". Nevertheless Goisern remains direct as usual: "In Austria they did first concerts with me as they noticed that cash can be made. Not because someone has had a cultural film run before their eyes."

The increasingly failing readiness to deliberately have a good look at songs is leading back to the consumer behaviour: "Music comes from the silence and goes back into silence. We do not have this foundation any more." Music must be played live, argues Goisern: "The present, the non-replaceable - that is music. When you listen to the moment."

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

KÖNIXXTREFFEN

Vermischtes: 2002

KöniXXtreffen - 31. August 2002

2002

KöniXXtreffen-PlakatMünchen. Die deutsche Virgin feiert Geburtstag ‑ und das natürlich mit einer super Fete. Die Plattenfirma ‑ 1982 von Udo Lange als hiesige Dependance der englischen Virgin ins Leben gerufen – blickt nun immerhin auf 2o Jahre erfolgreiches Schaffen zurück. Eine große Birthday‑Party - das KöniXXtreffen - steigt am Samstag, den 31. August in Form eines Open Air‑Konzerts auf dem Münchner Königsplatz.

Live dabei: Bryan Ferry, der in den frühen Siebzigem als Sänger, Songwriter und Designer der Pop‑Pioniere Roxy Music berühmt wurde, und auch als Solist Erfolge feiert. Reamonn kommen aus dem Schwarzwald – sie stürmten mit Supergirl die Charts.

Auch Heyday sind bestimmt keine Unbekannten im deutschen Rock‑Biz. Aus Schweden reisen die Apocalypticer The Ark an. Und auch die Indi‑Rocker Slut, Songwriter Peter Gabriel und last but bestimmt not least der Alpen‑Rocker Hubert von Goisern heizen ein.

Hubert von Goisern: Live beim KöniXXtreffen - 31. August 2002

4. September 2002 | Fotos: © Virgin

Die Jungfrau wird zwanzig

... Relaxed aufgewühlt erwartet den Partygast dann eine deutschsprachige Sensation: Der Revolutionär der Volksmusik Hubert von Goisern betritt die Bühne. Einige haben es vielleicht schon erlebt: Dieser Mann wächst auf jedem seiner Konzerte. Er startet schüchtern, sanft und eher zurückhaltend. Und im Laufe des Auftritts wird er dann machtvoller, mitreißender und charismatischer. Der ewig Reisende, der bereits Tibet, Ägypten, Afrika und mehrere Länder dieser Erde für sich erforscht hat, und immer wieder neue Ideen in seiner Musik verankerte, vermittelt das Motto der Tournee 2002: Grenzenlos ...

Hubert von Goisern: Live beim KöniXXtreffen - 31. August 2002

2002 | Foto: © Mary Diemer
Hubert von Goisern & Band

Hubert von Goisern: "Hit-Single-Strategie ist mir fremd"

Tiroler Tageszeitung 1. September 2002

"Alle Seelen, die in meiner Brust wohnen, haben auf einer CD gar nicht Platz" - Neues Album am 16. September.

München (APA) - In Deutschland zählt der Musiker Hubert von Goisern, im eigenen Land wird der Oberösterreicher dagegen noch immer hauptsächlich mit einem einzigen Song in Verbindung gebracht. Dennoch will der Künstler nicht gezielt auf eine Wiederholung des Hiatamadl hinarbeiten. "Die Hit-Single-Strategie ist mir fremd", betonte Von Goisern am Wochenende vor Journalisten in München. Am 16. September kommt das neue Album Iwasig (Virgin) in den Handel.

Die Produktion ist sehr bunt ausgefallen, die Palette reicht vom Reggae bis zu den obligatorischen Jodlern. "Dabei habe ich immer das Gefühl, ich schränke mich beim Aufnehmen zu sehr ein. Alle Seelen, die in meiner Brust wohnen, haben auf einer CD gar nicht Platz", meinte Goisern. "Aber es stimmt, die Platte hat eine gewisse Bandbreite. So ist das Leben halt auch."

Im Vergleich mit einer introvertierten Arbeit wie Fön klingt Iwasig leichter zugänglich. "Fön ist aus der Stille heraus entstanden. Darum war das Album subtiler. Dann sind wir nach langer Unterbrechung wieder auf Tournee gegangen. Durch das Spielen vor Publikum wurde mein Leben wieder lauter. Ich habe die neuen Lieder während der Pausen auf Tournee geschrieben, um dem Gefühl Rechnung zu tragen, wie ich im Moment drauf bin." Aufgenommen wurde in Salzburg und in Bad Goisern.

Im Sommer hat Hubert 23 Konzerte gegeben - davon nur drei in Österreich. Die Veranstaltung in Wien war schlechter besucht als Auftritte in Berlin, Hamburg oder Köln. "Wenn man in Deutschland mehr Zuschauer und Medieninteresse hat als dahoam, ist das bitter. Ich will mich aber nicht dahin entwickeln, dass ich wie Thomas Bernhard sage: 'Alles Orsch'." Trotzdem bleibt Goisern gewohnt direkt: "In Österreich haben sie ja erst Konzerte mit mir gemacht, wie sie bemerkt haben, dass da Kohle zu holen ist. Nicht, weil da jemand einen kulturellen Film vor Augen rennen gehabt hat."

Die zunehmend fehlende Bereitschaft, sich bewusst mit Liedern auseinander zu setzen, sei auf das Konsumverhalten zurückzuführen: "Musik kommt aus der Stille und geht in die Stille zurück. Dieses Fundament haben wir nicht mehr. Es gilt nur noch der Dauerpegel. Die leisen Stellen gibt es nicht mehr." Musik müsse live gespielt werden, argumentiert Von Goisern: "Das Momentane, das nicht Auswechselbare - das ist Musik. Wenn man den Augenblick hört."