Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

INTERVIEW

Miscellaneous: 2012

"I've freed myself"

Myself  4/2012 | Text: Tobias Haberl | Photo: Manfred Klimek
Hubert von Goisern

Hubert von Goisern’s music leaves nobody cold. He invented alpine rock, loves adventure
- and now even family life.

Of course we don't meet him at home in Salzburg, Hubert von Goisern is on the road again, this time on a ski trip with a few friends in Grindelwald. We have agreed to meet in a hotel with a view of the almost 4000 metre high Eiger. Von Goisern is an intense person, melancholy, but curious, thoughtful, but full of drive. He often thinks for a long time before he answers, he reminds one a little of the mountain outside: massive, secretive, challenging. You can conquer him or fail, but can you can also just find him fascinating.

You've lived in South Africa, Canada and in the Philippines, toured through West Africa with your band, met the Dalai Lama a number of times. What has been the biggest adventure of your life thus far?

It's always been whatever I'm in the middle of. But if you need an answer, then it is the adventure of family.

What's so adventurous about it?

Three months in Tibet are exciting, but 28 years at the side of the same woman are more exciting. To watch the children growing up, to give them values to take with them, and to see that people hit boundaries – and indeed their own.

What boundaries are these?

Children are merciless reflections. I think I used to be a good bit more egocentric than I am today. The fact that I was often away is one thing, I often didn't even have any understanding for the wrench my children or my wife felt when I left. I didn't let this feeling in at all, perhaps because I was afraid that I wouldn't be able to travel any more.

That sounds like a guilty conscience.

My son never judged me, he didn't know any different, but when my daughter was born I suspended my nomadic lifestyle in order to be with her. When I then went back on tour, I had to better explain to her why I was suddenly away for months at a time. I hadn't faced up to this conversation and that was cowardly.

How many days in the year are you away?

Often this year. There are 100 concerts on the books and I'll be going to Greenland twice. I was invited to explore the identity-affirming power of music with young Inuits. Greenland is at the end of the world. There are no trees, no bushes, only rock, water and ice. Nonetheless people live there, who have their own language and traditions. Faced with the changes that our world undergoes, this way of living has no future. The young people there are desperate, the suicide rate is horrifyingly high. So I'll be organising workshops, playing music with them and talking about the meaning and nonsense of traditions with them.

A tour is tiring enough, why are you doing this?

Can you say no when you are asked to get involved in such a situation? I live in an insulated, energy-efficient house in Salzburg and am completely urbanised. But perhaps because I spent the first 20 years of my life growing up in the mountains, I like going to people who live on the boundaries of civilisation. I want to preserve the closeness to one's origins and the feeling of humility.

Greenland's not the only place you can get that.

Sure, I could also go up to the Dachstein glacier, but that's different. I don't go looking for the extreme situations in a bivouac. I look for people who live at the intersection of nature and civilisation.

Have you never had beach holidays with your children?

Yeah, when they were younger, but that's not my cup of tea. I don't like crowds, I don't like joining the queue of cars heading south and I don't like lying about with other people on the beach. These holidays were the critical phase of our relationship each year. Now the kids are out of the house and we do other trips, to Lappland for example, where we travel an isolated river with a canoe.

You swing constantly between nature and culture, being on your own and family, adventure and security. It's an enviable model of living, because you avoid the monotony of everyday life.

It was certainly courageous to form a family, particularly on the part of my wife. She got involved with me, although she knew that I lead a non-peaceful life. It took me a long time to find such a wonderful woman who accepts me the way I am and gives me my time away. My first two marriages didn't last long, because I acted like a classic family guy.

Do you call your wife every day when you're away?

At first, sure, but after a few days I find my own rhythm, then I'm really away and we drift apart and often don't have any contact for a long time. But it's not a problem, when I return we quickly find our way back to one another.

In an interview you once said: "I don't want to always know what I'm doing." What did you mean by that?

A lot of what I do, composing, singing, travelling, has only partly to do with a rational plan. If I start to justify to myself, why I'm doing this or that, I'll have lost.

You're very intuitive.

Absolutely, not just in music, but in travelling too. I leave the path in the mountains, I follow my instinct, but I can't explain why I'm going left or right, I'm simply pulled in a certain direction. If someone's accompanying me, they need to follow me, I don't like to ask them to do so, so I prefer to go alone.

Do you still meet up with old friends from Goisern?

Yes. But in earlier times I got on with only a few people, most people thought I was aloof and wanted to manipulate me and tell me what to think. But I was a dreamer who liked staring out of the window. There were only a few people I really liked. Some of them still live in Goisern and I'm still friends with them.

You've seen the world, the others stayed in Goisern – do you not become strangers to one another?

Of course I have a head start on experience. But on the other hand my friends have one over me in other things, such as the continuity with which they live their lives. Their calmness is good for me.

How often do you go to Goisern?

When I'm at home in Salzburg, I go there often, it's only 70km away. I have a little house there, right up at the edge of the forest. If it's not raining, I make a fire in the courtyard, look up at the stars, think and feel within me. I need this kind of cloister from time to time.

Does it fill you with pride to be considered the founder of alpine rock?

I'm proud to have written a few songs that have touched many people. I was in the right place at the right time and have certainly contributed to breaking up the encrusted alpine music feeling, out of a kind of anger. I wanted to tear apart and destroy the kind of chauvinistic folk music I knew.

And then you wrote your huge hit Hiatamadl

… about which interestingly only men talk to me.

Why's that?

Perhaps because women are not as objective as men. The song is after all loud and in your face.

You play guitar, accordion, trumpet, flugelhorn, piano and a few more instruments. How do you compose your songs?

I've written pieces where I fished a bit of paper out of the bin on the underground in order to write down a few notes. With the last record it was even the case that whole album developed over a year in my head. I didn't touch an instrument out of the fear that the ideas could crumble as soon as they sounded out loud. I've also composed songs on a flute that only has five notes. With creative things it's sometimes helpful to constrain yourself. If you can only play five notes, you need to come up with the others yourself.

You're going to be 60 in the autumn. Do you want to do anything different after this birthday?

Actually this date isn't significant, but since I'm continually asked about it, it's involuntarily become a subject. I'll have to think of something. Perhaps I won't give any more interviews. Or I won't go on stage any more.

Could you actually exist without shows?

Composing and producing, no – but I don't necessarily need the stage. I wouldn't get bored.

It seems as though change is one of your life principles.

I've always shed my skin and need a certain sense of risk, otherwise I'd get dull. When I expose myself situations that are incalculable, I wake up and am highly concentrated. That's why I've always looked for the stage, I have such great fear of making a mistake, of letting down my defences, that I'm completely there. That's not always been a good feeling. I realise now that I've freed myself.

Can you explain?

The risk of the stage has played its part, it's become routine. I would never have dreamed it, but I can feel how I melt together my family, my friends, my home and the settledness to a warm, glowing point, which draws me to it me ever warmer.

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

INTERVIEW

Vermischtes: 2012

"Ich habe mich freigespielt"

Myself  4/2012 | Text: Tobias Haberl | Foto: Manfred Klimek
Hubert von Goisern

Hubert von Goiserns Musik lässt niemanden kalt. Er erfand den Alpenrock, liebt Abenteuer
– und inzwischen sogar das Familienleben.

Natürlich treffen wir ihn nicht zu Hause in Salzburg, Hubert von Goisern ist wieder unterwegs, diesmal mit ein paar Freunden in Grindelwald zum Skifahren. Verabredet sind wir in einem Hotel mit Blick auf den fast 4000 Meter hohen Eiger. Von Goisern ist ein intensiver Mensch, melancholisch, aber neugierig, nachdenklich, aber voller Tatendrang. Oft überlegt er lange, bevor er antwortet, ein bisschen erinnert er an diesen Berg da draußen: massiv, geheimnisvoll, herausfordernd. Man kann ihn bezwingen oder an ihm scheitern, man kann ihn aber einfach nur faszinierend finden.

Sie haben in Südafrika, Kanada und auf den Philippinen gelebt, sind mit Ihrer Band durch Westafrika getourt, haben mehrmals den Dalai Lama getroffen. Was war bisher das größte Abenteuer Ihres Lebens?

Immer das, in dem ich gerade drin war, aber wenn Sie auf einer Antwort bestehen, dann das Abenteuer Familie.

Was ist so abenteuerlich daran?

Drei Monate in Tibet sind spannend, aber 28 Jahre an der Seite derselben Frau sind spannender. Die Kinder aufwachsen zu sehen, ihnen Werte mitzugeben, und zu merken, dass man dabei an Grenzen stößt – und zwar an die eigenen.

Welche Grenzen waren das?

Kinder sind gnadenloses Spiegelbild. Ich glaube, dass ich früher um einiges egozentrischer war als heute. Dass ich oft weg war, ist das eine, oft habe ich aber nicht mal Verständnis für den Abschiedsschmerz meiner Kinder oder meiner Frau aufgebracht, wenn ich losgezogen bin. Ich habe mich auf dieses Gefühl gar nicht eingelassen, vielleicht weil ich Angst hatte, dann nicht mehr abreisen zu können.

Klingt nach schlechtem Gewissen.

Mein Sohn hat mir nie Vorwürfe gemacht, der kannte es auch nicht anders, aber als meine Tochter geboren wurde, habe ich mein nomadisches Treiben für ein paar Jahre ausgesetzt, um bei ihr sein zu können. Als ich dann wieder auf Tournee gegangen bin, hätte ich ihr besser erklären müssen, warum ich plötzlich monatelang weg bin. Diesem Gespräch habe ich mich nicht gestellt, das war feige.

Wie viele Tage im Jahr sind Sie unterwegs?

In diesem Jahr oft. Es stehen an für 100 Konzerte an und ich werde zweimal nach Grönland reisen. Ich wurde eingeladen, mit jugendlichen Inuit die identitätsstiftende Kraft von Musik auszuloten. Grönland ist am Ende der Welt. Da gibt es keinen Baum, keinen Strauch, nur Fels, Wasser und Eis. Trotzdem leben dort Menschen, die ihre eigene Sprache und Traditionen haben. Angesichts der Veränderungen, die unsere Welt durchmacht, hat diese Lebensweise keine Zukunft. Die Jugendlichen dort sind verzweifelt, die Suizidrate ist erschreckend hoch. Ich werde also Workshops veranstalten, Musik machen und mit ihnen über Sinn und Unsinn von Traditionen diskutieren.

Eine Tournee ist anstrengend genug, warum tun Sie sich das an?

Kann man Nein sagen, wenn man gebeten wird, sich in so einem Fall zu engagieren? Ich lebe in einem wärmegedämmten, energieeffizienten Einfamilienhaus in Salzburg und bin komplett urbanisiert. Aber vielleicht weil ich die ersten 20 Jahre meines Lebens in den Bergen aufgewachsen bin, reise ich gern zu Menschen, die an der Grenze der Zivilisation wohnen. Ich will mir die Nähe zu den Ursprüngen und das Gefühl der Demut bewahren.

Das geht nicht nur in Grönland.

Stimmt, ich könnte auch den Dachsteingletscher raufgehen, aber das ist was anderes. Ich suche nicht die Extremsituation im Biwak. Ich suche Menschen, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen Natur und Zivilisation leben.

Noch nie Strandurlaub mit den Kindern gemacht?

Doch, als sie noch jünger waren, aber das ist nicht meins. Ich mag keine Menschenmassen, ich mag mich nicht in den Autostrom Richtung Süden einklinken und ich mag nicht mit anderen am Strand herumliegen. Diese Urlaube waren jedes Jahr die kritische Phase unserer Beziehung. Inzwischen sind die Kinder aus dem Haus und wir machen andere Reisen, etwa nach Lappland, wo wir mit dem Kanu einen einsamen Fluss runterfahren.

Sie pendeln ständig  zwischen Natur und Kultur, Einsamkeit und Familie, Abenteuer und Sicherheit. Ein beneidenswertes Lebensmodell, weil Sie so der Eintönigkeit des Alltags entkommen.

Es war sicher mutig, eine Familie zu gründen, vor allem von meiner Frau. Sie hat sich auf mich eingelassen, obwohl sie wusste, dass ich ein unruhiges Leben führe. Ich habe lange gebraucht, eine so wunderbare Frau zu finden, die mich akzeptiert, wie ich bin, und mir meine Auszeiten lässt. Meine beiden ersten Ehen haben nicht lange gehalten, weil ich so getan habe, als wäre ich ein klassischer Familienmensch.

Rufen Sie Ihre Frau von unterwegs jeden Tag an?

Anfangs schon, aber nach ein paar Tagen habe ich einen eigenen Rhythmus gefunden, ich bin dann wirklich weg, wir driften auseinander und haben oft lange keinen Kontakt. Das ist aber kein Problem, nach meiner Rückkehr finden wir schnell wieder zusammen.

Sie haben in einem Interview mal gesagt: "Ich will nicht immer wissen, was ich tue." Was meinen Sie damit?

Vieles, was ich mache, also Komponieren, Singen, Reisen, hat nur zum Teil mit einem rationalen Plan zu tun. Wenn ich anfange, mich vor mir selber zu rechtfertigen, warum ich dies oder jenes tue, habe ich schon verloren.

Sie sind sehr intuitiv.

Absolut, sowohl in der Musik als auch beim Unterwegssein. In Bergen gehe ich abseits der Pfade, ich folge meinem Instinkt, kann aber nicht erklären, warum ich links oder rechts gehe, mich zieht es einfach in eine bestimmte Richtung. Wenn mich jemand begleitet, müsste er mir folgen, das mag ich nicht verlangen, deswegen gehe ich am liebsten allein.

Treffen Sie noch alte Freunde aus Goisern?

Ja. Aber ich bin schon früher mit den wenigsten Leuten zurechtgekommen, die meisten fanden mich abgehoben, dabei wollten sie mich manipulieren und mir sagen, was ich zu denken habe. Ich war aber ein Träumer, der gern aus dem Fenster geschaut hat. Es gab nur wenige Menschen, die ich wirklich mochte. Einige von ihnen leben noch in Goisern und mit denen bin ich noch befreundet.

Sie haben die Welt gesehen, die anderen sind in Goisern geblieben – wird man sich da nicht fremd?

Natürlich habe ich einen Erlebnisvorsprung. Dafür sind mir meine Freunde in anderen Dingen überlegen, zum Beispiel in der Kontinuität, mit der sie ihr Leben leben. Ihre Gelassenheit tut mir gut.

Wie oft sind Sie noch in Goisern?

Wenn ich zu Hause in Salzburg bin, fahre ich oft hin, das sind ja nur 70 Kilometer. Ich habe noch ein Häuschen dort, ganz oben am Waldrand. Wenn es nicht regnet, mache ich ein Feuer im Hof, schaue rauf zu den Sternen, denke nach und spüre in mich hinein. Diese Art Klausur brauche ich gelegentlich.

Erfüllt es Sie mit Stolz, dass Sie als Erfinder des Alpenrock gelten?

Ich bin stolz darauf, ein paar Lieder geschrieben zu haben, die viele Menschen berührt haben. Ich war zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort und habe sicher dazu beigetragen, das verkrustete alpine Musikgefühl aufzubrechen, aus einer Wut heraus. Ich wollte die Art von chauvinistischer Volksmusik, wie ich sie kannte, diese engstirnige Szene, zerstören, zerreißen.

Und dann haben Sie Ihren Riesenhit Hiatamadl geschrieben ...

... auf den ich interessanterweise nur von Männern angesprochen werde.

Woran liegt das?

Vielleicht daran, dass Frauen nicht so distanzlos sind wie Männer. Das Lied ist nun mal laut und vordergründig.

Sie spielen Gitarre, Ziehharmonika, Trompete, Flügelhorn, Klavier und noch ein paar andere Instrumente. Wie komponieren Sie Ihre Lieder?

Ich habe Stücke geschrieben, indem ich in der U-Bahn ein Stück Papier aus dem Abfallkorb gefischt und ein paar Noten draufgeschrieben habe. Bei der letzten Platte war es sogar so, dass das gesamte Album über ein Jahr lang ausschließlich in meinem Kopf entstanden ist. Ich habe kein Instrument angefasst, aus Angst, dass die Ideen zerbröseln könnten, sobald sie erklingen. Ich habe auch schon Lieder auf einer Flöte komponiert, die nur fünf Töne hat. Bei kreativen Dingen ist es manchmal hilfreich, sich zu beschränken. Wenn du nur fünf Töne spielen kannst, musst du dir die anderen dazudenken.

Sie werden im Herbst 60 Jahre alt. Wollen Sie nach diesem Geburtstag ein paar Dinge anders machen?

Eigentlich ist dieses Datum nicht bedeutsam, aber da ich ständig darauf angesprochen werde, ist es unfreiwillig zu einem Thema geworden. Ich werde mir wohl etwas einfallen lassen müssen. Vielleicht gebe ich dann keine Interviews mehr. Oder gehe nicht mehr auf die Bühne.

Könnten Sie ohne Auftritte überhaupt existieren?

Komponieren und produzieren – ja, aber die Bühne brauche ich nicht unbedingt. Mir wird schon nicht langweilig.

Es scheint, als wäre Abwechslung ein Lebenzprinzip von Ihnen.

Ich habe mich immer wieder gehäutet und brauche ein gewisses Risiko, sonst werde ich träge. Wenn ich mich Situationen aussetze, die unberechenbar sind, werde ich wach, bin hochkonzentriert. Deshalb habe ich auch immer die Bühne gesucht. Ich habe so große Angst, einen Fehler zu machen, mir eine Blöße zu geben, dass ich voll da bin. Das war nicht immer ein tolles Gefühl. Jetzt merke ich, dass ich mich freigespielt habe..

Das müssen Sie uns erklären.

Das Risiko Bühne hat seine Schuldigkeit getan, es ist Routine geworden. Ich hätte mir das nie träumen lassen, aber ich spüre, wie ich meine Familie, meine Freunde, mein Heim und die Sesshaftigkeit zu einem warm strahlenden Punkt verschmelzen, der mich immer stärker anzieht.