Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

ARTISTS REVOLT AGAINST Ö3

Miscellaneous: 1997

Artists revolt against Ö3

News 21/1997
Artists

Peter Paul Skrepek, Hubert von Goisern, Christian Kolonovits, Andy Baum and Robbie Musenbichler

At first glance, one could assume that as a consequence of the rage of the national broadcasting corporation the artists were dependent on singing on the street. But it's not like that: the elite of native pop artists and musicians, all equipped with instruments, moved on a demonstration through the city.

In other places there are marches against abortion and for jobs, here it is the pop broadcaster Ö3, which has shifted sensitive artistic souls into a rhythmic surge.

Demo in Vienna. In the middle of June thousands of musical creators from all across Austria are brought to Vienna on special trains. They deploy on Europaplatz in front of the Westbahnhof and then move on a course of demonstration down Mariahilfer Straße to the Innenstadt. There they will protest in a certainly melodious demonstration against being methodically boycotted by the pop broadcaster. Peter Paul Skrepek, chairman of the Musician, Composer, Author Guild, on the unique Europe-wide action: "It's about the existence of native musicians. From Ambros, Danzer, Arik Brauer and Kolonovits to Hubert von Goisern, all are supporting our protest action."

Skrepek further, putting the gravity of the situation in numbers: The musical percentage of native artists on Ö3 is on average 7.5%. That is deadly!" Hubert von Goisern, who has sold more than one million records: "Ö3 treats Austrian music badly. It's time to become active." Legends like Georg Danzer and Wolfgang Ambros speak of "politico-cultural dishonour", song contest participant George Nußbaumer demands to "finally be treated as equal partners by the and not as court jesters".

"No copies of foreign music!" And Boris Bukowski: "Playing as good as no German-language rock and pop music any more, that can't be the official opinion of the most important music broadcaster in Austria. It's idiotic that native musicians are stopped from copying abroad."

The demonstration, including a press conference, in which literates, film producers and representatives of the arts are to participate (Skrepek: "I would like to win over everybody from Christian Ludwig Attersee to Niki List"), will be the conclusion of a large-scale offensive by the culturally-creative against Ö3, which began last week in parliament. A delegation of artists with Goisern, Andy Baum and Christian Kolonovits presented a petition to national council president Fischer. The catalogue of demands:

The end of the Ö3 boycott:

  • Employment of Austrian artists in the broadcast programme to the same extent as other European countries allow their own music scene. Skrepek: "We are not demanding a fixed ratio, but rather an adjustment to international standards."
  • And change of the broadcast law, including annual monitoring of the adherence to these requirements. A gross offence shall have the maximum penalty of the withdrawal of the transmission license.
Hubert von Goisern, Andy Baum and Heinz Fischer

Hubert von Goisern, Andy Baum and Heinz Fischer

Now the parliamentary committee on petitions must first be concerned with the demand, and consequently constitution committee too. Musicians' representative Skrepek: "We will get on their nerves until the Federal Chancellor says: "Now do something finally!"

Rear light in Europe. Elsewhere between 25% (Sweden) and 90% (Great Britain) of what is played is from their own country, here in this country one hears only 7.5% - nowhere else plays a little (source: MusikerGilde). The consequence: ever fewer native record companies bet on newcomers. An Artist & Repertoire manager: "Ö3 doesn't play it - so you can't sell any CDs."

ORF Radio spokesman Wolfgang Fischer (he strongly denies ever having called Austrian pop music "crap", as Hubert von Goisern alleged in last week's NEWS): "ORF Radio consists of 13 broadcasters and in the nine regional stations, the Austrian quota lies between 30-40%. There can be no human right to airplay! And we can't practise a terror of taste - we therefore reject any quota rules."

Ö3 boss Bogdan Roscic refers to music title research ("All songs are tested, the only deciding factor is what the audience wants"), but considers himself otherwise sympathetic: "The goal they have in mind is right and important, but the path is wrong. Ö3 can't become an Austropop Indian reservation. The problem soon corrects itself anyway if a dozen private radio stations come onto the market."

Music companies leave Austria. It could already be too late, the artists fear. The native record companies are visibly dependant for distribution on American and German companies. The renowned music publishing house Warner/Chappell closes its Austrian enterprise country in September. The country will be cared for in the future care from Hamburg. Others will follow. Musician chairman Skrepek: "A billion Schillings are escaping from the country billion."

According to a study by the economic university in Vienna, in 1989 the music industry was twice as productive for the domestic economy as the steel industry and equivalent to the food industry.

HvG: "Ö3 is killing the music industry"

News 21/1997

On Thursday, rock star Hubert von Goisern, whose CDs have passed one million sales, together with other native pop musicians handed over a protest against the Ö3 boycott of native music to the National Council President Heinz Fischer. Thus began a grand offensive of Austrian artists against the ORF's pop broadcaster.

Why are you engaging yourself against Ö3?

Ö3 is treating Austrian music badly. When an ORF spokesman called Fischer then says: "If they manage it, then we'll have to play all the Austrian rubbish!", it's time to get active. Of course there's a heap of rubbish in Austrian music - but we're not fighting for that. There are also good Ambros, Heller or Falco numbers. What Ö3 plays for foreign rubbish, where the most translated lyrics are on the Hansi Hinterseer level. That's why I don't turn on Ö3 any more.

Is what Ö3 is doing a cultural-political disgrace, as stars like Ambros or Danzer say?

You could say that. An industry which brings in millions is being destroyed by this course. According to documents from the Musikgilde, in 1989 alone the music industry in Austria was twice as productive as the steel industry - today its being killed. I see what a hard time many musicians are having, just to make a living. You can at best make advertising singles here - that's degrading.

How will you protest?

A number of actions are planned, politicians are also becoming increasingly interested in us. Ö3 will soon no longer be able to make excuses on some rotation computer.

"Ö3 is dull and faint-hearted!"

Rennbahn-Express 4/97

The fight between native musicians and Ö3 becomes ever more ferocious. Now Hubert von Goisern comments too.

Since Hubert von Goisern withdrew from the native music scene barely three years ago, things have been relatively quiet around him. Now he comments on the discussion about Ö3. "To give me as an example of someone who was played by Ö3, is strange. What did they play: Hiatamadl only after massive pressure from the listeners, who wanted it and then Heast as net. Nothing else. But I have brought out four CDs, that would mean that the rest was just rubbish."

Today Goisern, who wants to record new songs again and is currently working on a project with Tibetan musicians, can't really get on with Ö3: "Ö3 is dull.. The station has no identity. I would call the programming faint-hearted, uncreative and not innovative. Private radio stations can only revive the native music scene, because it can't get any worse for us than it is now."

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

AUFSTAND GEGEN Ö3

Vermischtes: 1997

Der Aufstand der Künstler

News 21 / 1997
Künstler

Peter Paul Skrepek, Hubert von Goisern, Christian Kolonovits, Andy Baum und Robbie Musenbichler

Auf den ersten Blick könnte man vermuten, die Künstler seien in Folge des Wütens der staatlichen Rundfunkanstalt auf den Straßengesang angewiesen. Doch so ist das nicht: Die Elite heimischer Popkünstler und Musiker, allesamt mit Instrumenten versehen, zieht demonstrierend durch die Stadt.

Marschiert man anderswo gegen Fristenlösung und für Arbeitsplätze, so ist es hierzulande der Pop-Sender Ö3, der sensible Künstlerseelen in rhythmische Wallung versetzt.

Demo in Wien. Tausende Musikschaffende aus ganz Österreich werden Mitte Juni in Sonderzügen nach Wien gebracht. Auf dem Europaplatz vor dem Westbahnhof formieren sie sich und ziehen dann im Demonstrationszug über die Mariahilfer Straße bis zur Innenstadt. Dort werden sie im Rahmen einer gewiß melodiösen Kundgebung dagegen protestieren, daß sie vom Pop-Sender methodisch boykottiert werden. Peter Paul Skrepek, Obmann der Musiker, Komponisten-Autoren-Gilde, zur europaweiten einzigartigen Aktion: "Es geht um die Existenz der heimischen Musiker. Von Ambros, Danzer, Arik Brauer und Kolonovits bis Hubert von Goisern unterstützen alle unsere Protestaktion."

Skrepek weiter, den Ernst der Situation in Zahlen fassend: Der Musikanteil der heimischen Künstler auf Ö3 liegt bei durchschnittlich 7,5 Prozent. Das ist tödlich!"

Hubert von Goisern, der mehr als eine Million Tonträger verkaufte: "Ö3 behandelt die österreichische Musik schlecht. Es ist an der Zeit, aktiv zu werden." Legenden wie Georg Danzer und Wolfgang Ambros sprechen von "kulturpolitischer Schande", Song-Contester George Nußbaumer fordert, "endlich vom Radio als gleichberechtigte Partner und nicht als Hofnarren behandelt" zu werden.

"Keine Auslands-Musikkopie!" Und Boris Bukowski: "So gut wie keine deutschsprachige Rock- und Popmusik mehr zu spielen, das darf nicht die offizielle Meinung des wichtigsten Musiksenders in Österreich sein. Idiotisch, daß heimische Musiker angehalten werden, das Ausland zu kopieren."

Die Demonstration samt Pressekonferenz, an der auch Literaten, Filmemacher und bildende Künstler teilnehmen sollen (Skrepek: "Ich möchte von Christian Ludwig Attersee bis Niki List alle gewinnen"), wird der Abschluß einer großangelegten Offensive der Kulturschaffenden gegen Ö3, die in der Vorwoche im Parlament begann. Eine Künstler-Abordnung mit Goisern, Andy Baum und Christian Kolonovits wurde per Petition bei Nationalratspräsident Fischer vorstellig. Der Forderungskatalog:

Ende des Ö3-Österreicher-Boykotts:

  • Einsatz österreichischer Künstler im Rundfunkprogramm in jenem Ausmaß, in dem auch andere europäische Länder ihre Musikszene berücksichtigen. Skrepek: "Wir fordern keine Fixquote, sondern eine Anpassung an internationale Standards."
  • Und Änderung des Rundfunkgesetzes samt jährlicher Kontrolle der Einhaltung dieser Auflagen. Ein grober Verstoß soll bis zum Entzug der Sendelizenz führen können.
Hubert von Goisern, Andy Baum und Heinz Fischer

Hubert von Goisern, Andy Baum und Heinz Fischer

Nun muß sich zuerst der Petitionsausschuß des Parlaments mit der Forderung befassen, in der Folge auch der Verfassungsausschuß. Musikervertreter Skrepek: "Wir gehen ihnen so lange auf die Nerven, bis der Bundeskanzler sagt: "Jetzt machts endlich was!...

In Europa Schlußlicht. Spielt man anderswo zwischen 25 (Schweden) und 90 Prozent (Großbritannien) eigenes, so hört man hierzulande nur 7,5 Prozent - so wenig wie nirgendwo sonst (Quelle: MusikerGilde). Die Folge: Immer weniger heimische Plattenfirmen wagen sich an Newcomer. Ein Artist-&-Repertoire-Manager: "Ö3 spielt es sowieso nicht - also kannst du keine CDs verkaufen."

ORF-Radio-Pressesprecher Wolfgang Fischer (er dementiert heftig, österreichische Popmusik je als "Schas" bezeichnet zu haben, wie ihm Hubert von Goisern im vorwöchigen NEWS vorwarf): "Die ORF-Radios bestehen aus 13 Sendern, und bei den neun Regionalprogrammen liegt der Österreicher-Anteil bei 30 bis 40 Prozent. Es kann kein Menschenrecht auf Airplay geben! Und wir können keinen Geschmacksterror ausüben - deshalb lehnen wir jede Quotenregelung ab."

Ö3-Chef Bogdan Roscic beruft sich auf Musiktitelforschung ("Alle Lieder werden abgetestet, entscheidend ist nur, was das Publikum will"), gibt sich aber sonst verständnisvoll: "Das Ziel, das sie verfolgen, ist richtig und wichtig, aber der Weg ist falsch. Ö3 kann kein Austropop-Indianerreservat werden. Das Problem erledigt sich sowieso bald von selbst, wenn Dutzende Privatradios in den Markt eintreten werden."

Musikkonzerne verlassen Österreich. Da kann es schon zu spät sein, fürchten die Künstler. Die heimischen Plattenfirmen werden zusehends Vertriebsdependancen amerikanischer und deutscher Konzerne. Schon schließt der renommierte Musikverlag Warner/Chappell mit September sein österreichisches Unternehmen Land wird künftig das Land von Hamburg aus betreuen. Andere werden folgen. Musiker-Obmann Skrepek: "Dem Land entgehen Milliarden Schilling."

Nach einer Studie der Wirtschaftsuni Wien war 1989 die Musikindustrie für die heimische Wirtschaft doppelt so ertragreich wie die Stahlindustrie und gleichbedeutend mit der Nahrungsmittelindustrie.

HvG: "Ö3 killt die Musikindustrie"

News 21 / 1997

Mit anderen heimischen Popkünstlern überreicht Rock-Star Hubert von Goisern, dessen CDs sich öfter als eine Million Mal verkauften, am Donnerstag eine Protesterklärung gegen den Ö3 Boykott heimischer Musik an Nationalratspräsident Heinz Fischer. Damit begann eine Großoffensive österreichischer Künstler gegen den Popsender des ORF.

Warum engagieren Sie sich gegen Ö3?

Ö3 behandelt die österreichische Musik schlecht. Wenn dann noch ein ORF Sprecher namens Fischer sagt: "Wenn die das durchbringen, müssen wir den ganzen österreichischen Mist spielen!", ist es an der Zeit, aktiv zu werden. Natürlich gibt es eine Menge Schrott an österreichischer Musik - aber für den kämpfen wir ja nicht. Es gibt auch gute Ambros, Heller oder Falco Nummern. Was spielt Ö3 für ausländischen Schrott, wo die meisten übersetzten Texte auf Hansi Hinterseer Niveau sind. Ich dreh Ö3 aus diesem Grund auch nicht mehr auf.

Ist das, was Ö3 macht, eine kulturpolitische Schande, wie Stars wie Ambros oder Danzer behaupten?

Goisern: Das kann man sagen. Man zerstört mit diesem Kurs einen Wirtschaftszweig, der Milliarden bringt. Laut Unterlagen der Musikergilde war allein 1989 die Musikindustrie in Österreich doppelt so ertragreich wie die Stahlindustrie - heute killt man sie. Ich seh bei vielen Musikern, wie hart die sich tun, um überhaupt leben zu können. Du kannst hier bestenfalls Werbesingles machen - das ist entwürdigend.

Wie werden Sie protestieren?

Goisern: Es sind etliche Aktionen geplant, die Politik interessiert sich auch immer mehr für uns. Ö3 wird sich bald nicht mehr auf irgendwelche Rotationscomputer rausreden können.

"Ö3 is fad und feige!"

Rennbahn-Express 4/97

Der Streit zwischen heimischen Musikern und Ö3 wird immer heftiger.
Jetzt nimmt auch Hubert von Goisern Stellung.

Seit sich Hubert von Goisern vor knapp drei Jahren aus der heimischen Musikszene zurückgezogen hattet, war es relativ still um ihn. Jetzt meldet sich auch er in der Diskussion um Ö3 zu Wort. "Mich als Beispiel hinzustellen, daß ich von Ö3 gespielt wurde, ist eigenartig. Was haben sie denn gespielt: Hiatamadl erst auf massiven Druck der Hörer, die sich das gewunschen haben, und dann Heast as net. Sonst nix. Aber ich habe vier CDs herausgebracht, das würde bedeuten, daß der Rest nur Schrott war."

Mit Ö3 heute kann Goisern, der wieder neue Songs aufnehmen will und zur Zeit an einem Projekt mit tibetanischen Musikern arbeitet, wenig anfangen: "Ö3 ist fad. Der Sender hat keine Identität. Die Programmgestaltung würde ich als feig, unkreativ und nicht innovativ nennen. Privatradios können die heimische Szene nur beleben, denn schlimmer, als es um uns jetzt steht, kann es nicht mehr werden."