Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

SCALA HUMANA 2016

Miscellaneous: 2016

Hubert von Goisern awarded Scala Humana 2016

5th May 2016 | Photo: Lions Club Linz
Hubert von Goisern - Scala Humana Award 2016

Hubert von Goisern awarded humanitarian prize

With the motto "we serve" at their core, The Lions Club is known internationally for its own fundraising efforts and involvement in community projects. More than 46,000 local branches have been set up worldwide since the organisation's founding in 1917, with more than 250 service clubs working in communities across Austria.

Keen to recognise others who also step forward to offer help, each year the Lions Club in Linz chooses a public figure to whom they award the Scala Humana Award. The prize recognises the recipient for their involvement in social matters and worthy causes. This year, at a gala celebrating the club's 60th anniversary, Hans Rohregger, President of the Lions Club Linz, presented the award to Hubert von Goisern.

"We are delighted to be able to support Hubert von Goisern's commitment to social issues," said Rohregger during the laudation. "His work with the Tibetan Institute of Performing Arts, his concert trips to Africa and not least the Linz Europe Tour are great projects in terms of understanding between people, between nations."

The award brings with it prize money of 9000 Euros, which each award winner is to allocate to the project of their choice. Hubert von Goisern will be donating the prize money to the "Habibi and Hawara" project in Scharnstein, a local integration project designed to bring people together from all walks of life. Similarly to the refugee home project recently begun in Salzburg, of which Hubert is patron, "Habibi and Hawara" will provide housing for asylum seekers and refugees. The project will also be developing affordable housing for young people and accessible accommodation for the elderly and disabled in the area.

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

SCALA HUMANA 2016

Vermischtes: 2016

Hubert von Goisern erhielt Scala Humana 2016

5. Mai 2016 | Foto: Lions Club Linz
Hubert von Goisern - Scala Humana Award 2016

Hubert von Goisern mit humanitären Preis ausgezeichnet

Mit dem Motto "wir dienen" ist der Lions Club in seinem Kern für seine Fundraising-Initiativen und dem Engagement für Gemeinschaftsprojekte weltweit bekannt. Mehr als 46.000 örtliche Zweigstellen wurden weltweit seit Gründung der Organisation im Jahr 1917 eröffnet – mit mehr als 250 Dienstclubs in Österreich, die in Gemeinschaften quer durch das Land tätig sind.

Mit dem Wunsch, andere Leute zu motivieren, ebenfalls ihre Hilfe anzubieten, wählt der Lions Club Linz jedes Jahr eine Persönlichkeit, an die sie den Scala Humana Award verleiht. Mit dem Preis wird der Empfänger für sein Engagement mit sozialen Angelegenheiten und ehrenwerten Dingen anerkannt. Heuer bei einer Gala anlässlich dem 60. Jubiläum des Clubs, überreichte Hans Rohregger, Präsident des Lions Club Linz, den Preis an Hubert von Goisern.

"Es freut uns, dass wir das soziale Engagement von Hubert von Goisern unterstützen können," sagte Rohregger während der Laudatio. "Seine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Tibetischen Institut für darstellende Künste (TIPA), seine Konzertreisen nach Afrika und nicht zuletzt die Linz-Europa-Tour sind tolle Projekte im Sinne der Völkerverständigung."

Zum Preis gehört auch ein Preisgeld von 9000 Euro, das jeder Preisträger dem Wohltätigskeitprojekt seiner Wahl spenden soll. Hubert von Goisern spendet das Preisgeld dem "Habibi und Hawara"-Projekt in Scharnstein, ein völkerverbindendes Integrations-Projekt, das Leute aus allen Gesellschaftsschichten zusammenbringt. Ähnlich dem Flüchtlingshaus-Projekt, das vor kurzem in Salzburg begann – und von dem Hubert Schirmherr ist – werden "Habibi und Hawara" Unterkünfte für Asylbewerber und Flüchtlinge bereitstellen. Das Projekt entwickelt auch leistbare Wohnungen für junge Menschen und betreubare Wohnungen für ältere und/oder behinderte Leute in der Gegend.