Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

EARTHQUAKE IN NEPAL

Miscellaneous: 2015

Hubert von Goisern sings for quake victims in Nepal

Salzburger Nachrichten 6th June 2015 | Text: Bernhard Flieher

It's often the case that an end is also the opportunity for a new beginning. "But the way it looks over there, you can't imagine how things are going to progress", says Hubert von Goisern. He used a concert-free day to talk about Nepal after the earthquake catastrophe. "What you see over there, what eye witnesses have described to me, is completely unimaginable."

Whole villages were obliterated by the earthquake in May. They were already in remote areas and are now in even more urgent need of help than before. "When a house collapses somewhere, the neighbour helps out", says the Goiserer. But: in many villages, everything has fallen apart. There are no neighbours who can help, because they themselves need help.

Hubert von Goisern has a long and close relationship with the Himalaya region. He travelled through here when he went to Tibet. He also met Tibetan dissidents in Kathmandu. It was – "an unfathomable 32 years ago" as he says - that he spent a few months travelling the country in the Himalayas. Now he is putting his art at the service of reconstruction.

A portion of the profits from his open air concert at the Kapitelplatz in Salzburg (28th June) will be going to EcoHimal. The Association for Alps-Himalaya Cooperation, based in Salzburg and Kathmandu, has been operating in Nepal and Tibet for more than 20 years, building power stations, schools, and hospitals. They support local cooperatives in the remote mountain regions of the Himalayas. "I have known, admired and supported the work of EcoHimal for many years", says Hubert von Goisern. For the finale of the current tour in Hallstatt (30th August), he'll be giving a benefit concert for this NGO.

Hubert von Goisern
DE
EN
 

ERDBEBEN IN NEPAL

Vermischtes: 2015

Hubert von Goisern singt für Bebenopfer in Nepal

Salzburger Nachrichten 6. Juni 2015 | Text: Bernhard Flieher

Oft heißt es, ein Ende sei auch die Chance für einen Neuanfang. "Aber wie es dort ausschaut, kann man sich überhaupt nicht vorstellen, wie das weitergehen soll", sagt Hubert von Goisern. Er nutzt einen konzertfreien Tag, um über Nepal nach der Erdbebenkatastrophe zu sprechen. "Was man da sieht, was mir von Augenzeugen erzählt wurde, ist völlig unvorstellbar."

Ganz Dörfer wurden durch das Erdbeben im Mai ausgelöscht. Sie liegen ohnehin schon in entlegenen Gegenden und sind nun noch dramatischer auf Hilfe angewiesen als schon zuvor. "Wenn irgendwo einmal ein Haus z'sammfällt, hilft halt der Nachbar", sagt der Goiserer. Bloß: Dort ist in manchen Dörfern alles zusammengefallen. Es gibt keinen Nachbarn, der helfen könnte, denn der Nachbar braucht selbst Hilfe.

Hubert von Goisern hat ein langes, recht enges Verhältnis zu der Region am Himalaya. Er kam hier oft durch, wenn er nach Tibet reiste. Er traf sich in Kathmandu auch mit tibetischen Dissidenten. Vor – "schon unfassbaren 32 Jahren", wie er sagt – durchwanderte er einige Monate das Land am Himalaya. Nun stellt er seine Kunst in den Dienst des Wiederaufbaus.

Ein Teil der Einnahmen seines Open-Air-Heimspiels auf dem Salzburger Kapitelplatz (28. Juni) geht an EcoHimal. Diese Gesellschaft für Zusammenarbeit Alpen-Himalaya mit Sitz in Salzburg und Kathmandu ist seit mehr als 20 Jahren in Nepal und Tibet tätig. Es werden Kraftwerke, Schulen, Krankenhäuser gebaut. Man unterstützt lokale Kooperativen in den entlegenen Bergregionen des Himalaya. "Ich kenne, schätze und unterstütze die Arbeit seit vielen Jahren", sagt Hubert von Goisern. In Hallstatt spielt er zum Abschluss der laufenden Tournee für diese NGO ein eigenes Benefizkonzert (30. August).